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Therefore The Division and Utah Mortgage Commis-
sion have decided to require a Utah specific course 
as part of mortgage licensees’ continuing education 
requirement each year.  The length of this course will 
vary from year to year depending upon the volume of 
regulatory changes in the preceding year. 

The Utah specific CE course for 2014 will be a two 
hour course and will cover the following content 
areas: 30 minutes of statutory/rule updates, 75 min-
utes of case studies involving real life examples that 
have come before the Commission, and 15 minutes of 
Lending Manager responsibilities.  

Since 2010, when it became mandatory for mortgage 
licensees to be on the NMLS database,  licensees have 
been required to complete 8 hours of NMLS approved 
continuing education every year following their initial 
license issuance. The NMLS CE requirement includes  
3 hours of federal law and regulations, 2 hours of eth-
ics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage loans, and 1 
elective hour.   This is the minimum continuing educa-
tion requirement based on the SAFE Act.  Most states 
accept this basic 8-hour CE package and licensees that 
are licensed in several states generally only have to 
meet the 8 hour NMLS requirement and then complete 
whatever additional state specific continuing education 
that may be required.  In Utah, the Division has ac-
cepted whatever 8 hour NMLS education the licensee 
provided (as long as it met the 3,2,2,1 course content 
hour specification described above), even if the elec-
tive hour was state specific for another state (a state 
other than Utah).  This is about to change.   

A growing concern of both The Division and The 
Utah Mortgage Regulatory Commission has been that 
after a licensee completes their initial licensing re-
quirements (including the 20-hour NMLS prelicense 
education) and passes the NMLS General and Utah 
state exam,  licensees have only limited exposure to 
Utah’s statutes and rules including ongoing changes to 
Utah regulations and requirements.  The Utah Mort-
gage Statute and Administrative Rules are subject to 
change. There has been no method of communicating 
Utah problems, issues, or concerns to our licensees to 
assist them in  avoiding improper practices or conduct. 

MORTGAGE CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 2014 ARE CHANGING

Jan Buchi, Mortgage Education Coordinator

continued on page 4
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DIRECTOR’S MESSAGE
JANUARY 

2014: RADON 
ACTION 
MONTH

On April 1, 2013, Governor Gary R. Herbert signed 
the First Substitute of Senate Concurrent Resolution 
11: Concurrent Resolution on Radon Gas.  This reso-
lution states: “This concurrent resolution of the Leg-
islature and the Governor designates January 2014, as 
Utah State Radon Action Month in the state of Utah 
and urges citizens to prevent radon exposure.”

In addition to urging citizens to prevent radon ex-
posure, the resolution also asks “business owners 
and managers, landlords, real estate licensees, home 
inspectors, home builders, mortgage lenders, real 
estate appraisers, trade organizations, government 
agencies at the local and state level, community 
groups, schools, colleges, universities, the medical 
establishments, and outlets in print media, television, 
and radio to educate the citizens of the state in pro-
tecting themselves from the dangers of elevated radon 
gas levels; and urges the citizens of the state of Utah 
to take steps to protect themselves from the dangers 
of radon exposure.”    

All three of the industries the Division of Real Estate 
regulates are mentioned in this Resolution: real estate 
licensees, mortgage lenders, and real estate apprais-
ers.  I encourage all licensees to take the time to read 
First Substitute S.C.R. 11 (http://le.utah.gov/~2013/
bills/sbillhtm/SCR011S01.htm) in preparation for 
Utah State Radon Action Month.   

Utah Department of Environmental Quality

There are additional resources available from the 
Utah Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
and the Division of Radiation Control.  Their website 
(http://www.radon.utah.gov/realest.htm#guide) con-
tains a lot of valuable information for licensees.     

The website begins by asking “Why Do Real Estate 
Professionals Need to Know About Radon?”  They go 
on to explain that by: 

…learning about radon, real estate professionals can 
properly answer questions during real estate transac-
tions, and avoid potential liability problems.  Radon 
can be resolved and should not stand in the way of 
any real estate transaction being seen through to 
completion.  By being knowledgeable and provid-
ing information, real estate agents can minimize the 
potential for delaying or derailing closings because of 
radon. 

The more educated a real estate licensee is, the better 
able to serve their client whether representing a buyer 
or a seller.  With this in mind, DEQ recommends two 
basic rules to all real estate professionals: 

1.	 “The best role for agents and brokers to take 
is that of a resource.  Provide booklets and materials 
to customers and clients to help them make informed 
decisions.  Avoid advising clients and customers about 
the specifics of radon testing, interpreting, or remedi-
ating.”   
2.	 “Early disclosure to both buyers and sellers 
will give everyone ample time to learn about radon 
and act accordingly.  Early disclosure builds an atmo-
sphere of trust and encourages an honest exchange 
among all parties.  Problems are much more likely 
to arise if radon becomes an issue late in a real estate 
transaction.”    

Continuing Education

According to DEQ, their website states that: 

…[r]adon’s classification as a cancer causing agent 
has led many home buyers, as well as financial institu-
tions, to desire that radon be less than the U.S. EPA’s 
action level of 4.0 pCi/L. 

There are currently several different real estate cours-
es that have been approved by the Division for con-
tinuing education credit that pertain to radon.  These 
courses cover important topics including the causes, 
hazards, testing, and remediation of radon.  In ad-
dition to the meaningful material presented in these 
courses, helpful information on 

Jonathan Stewart

continued on next page

http://le.utah.gov/~2013/bills/sbillhtm/SCR011S01.htm
http://le.utah.gov/~2013/bills/sbillhtm/SCR011S01.htm
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how to best work with clients and customers while 
not jeopardizing a sale, would be considered and 
discussed. These courses can be found on the Division 
website at http://realestate.utah.gov/education.html. 

I support Governor Herbert and the Legislature in the 
Concurrent Resolution on Radon Gas, and I encourage 
all licensees to educate themselves about radon.  I also 
urge licensees, once educated, to educate their clients 
so that they can make informed decisions in their real 
estate transactions.  
  
The Division of Real Estate enjoys working with each 
of you and we hope that the coming year brings you 
success in your personal and professional goals.    

Kris Coleman-Nicholl was recently appointed to the 
Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board. Kris is 
currently Chief Appraiser at Republic Mortgage Home 
Loans. As Chief appraiser she reviews appraisals for 
adherence to Uniform Standards of Professional Ap-
praisal Practice, individual State Code and most im-
portantly quality. She monitors over 200 Residential 
Appraisers in 12 States. She formulates and enacts 
internal policy that facilitates enactment of evolving 
regulatory compliance relative to real estate appraisals 
and monitors and reports on all activities that include 
a valuation. Before accepting the position of Chief 
Appraiser, she founded Coleman Appraisal in 1994. 

Kris serves and has served on numerous civic and 
industry boards and commissions including the Utah 
Association of Appraisers and United Appraisers of 
Utah. Many years of service gives her a vast amount 
of knowledge, experience and expertise. She has a 
firm grasp on industry issues and the real life experi-
ences residential appraisers go through every day.  

Kris honorably serves as a Councilwoman for Sandy 
City. She’s also a former Planning Commissioner 
for Sandy. She is active in her community and was 
recognized by the Sandy Chamber of Commerce 
with the Peak Award Volunteer of the Year in 2012.

Kris Coleman-Nicholl stated, “I believe the only way 
to make a difference in whatever you feel is important 
is to get involved! I believe in the Appraisal Profession 
and am grateful and humbled by my appointment to the 
State Appraisal Board. The board is tasked with many 
daunting issues but I’m confident that I, along with 
(other members of) the Board, can work through any 
issue with professionalism, fairness, and compassion.

				  

continued from page 2

STAFF SPOTLIGHT: 
JOHN BICKMORE

Real Estate Investigator

The Division of Real Estate would like to welcome 
John Bickmore as a new real estate investigator.  John 
has an extensive background in law enforcement 
working as a training officer and patrol.  John earned 
a bachelor’s degree from Weber State University in 
Criminal Justice with a minor in Sociology. As a real 
estate investigator John investigates complaints to 
determine if a licensee violated a statute or adminis-
trative rule. 

Outside of work, John has many interests, which 
include hiking, fishing, hunting, and camping.  He 
likes going to the movies and is an avid reader.  John 
prefers historical fiction and enjoyed the series Master 
and Commander.  

http://realestate.utah.gov/education.html
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RULE DEVELOPMENTS 
SINCE

 SEPTEMBER 30, 2013
To view and comment on any proposed or amended 

rules, please visit the Utah State Bulletin at 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bulletin.htm 

Appraisal Management

	 -No amendments for the Fourth Quarter 

Appraisal 

Rule 162-2g-306a: 

	 -This rule was amended on October 23, 2014. 	
	 The amendment allows a licensee to request 		
	 that his or her continuing education requirments 	
	 for renewal be deferred due to active military 	
	 service or due to hardship under a state or fed	
	 erally declared natural disaster. 

Mortgage

Rule 162-2c-204. This rule was amended on November 
20, 2013 and includes the following changes: 

	 -Licensees are required to complete a Division 	
	 approved course on Utah law each year 		
	 (in addition to the eight hours of continuing 		
	 education approved through the NMLS) begin	
	 ning in the 2014 renewal period.

	 -For the renewal period beginning November 1, 	
	 2015, licensees filing to renew a license are
 	 required to submit a fingerprint background 		
	 report and a credit report. The amendment also 	
	 requires all renewing licensees to submit a
	 fingerprint background report and a credit 		
	 report every fifth year after 2015.

This course will be required by all Utah mortgage 
licensees to renew their license in 2014 for the 2015 
year.  In 2014, when you seek your license renewal, 
you will be required to submit directly to the Division 
the Certificate of Completion for this course as part of 
your renewal requirement. So, please note, in 2014, 
in addition to the 8-hour NMLS CE package you will 
also need to complete the Utah approved 2-hour Utah 
specific course.  

Once individual Utah CE course providers are ap-
proved by the Division, the courses will be posted on 
our website, with provider contact information, so that 
you can be prepared for your renewal in 2014.

We believe that mortgage licensees will gain important 
information regarding statutory and administrative 
rule changes, learn current enforcement issues that are 
occurring, and recognize supervisory issues and chal-
lenges presented in this new CE course.

continued from page 1 Mortgage Continuing Education
				  

Real Estate

Rule 162-2f-401a and 401f

	 -The Division is beginning the process to 		
	 amend the administrative rule for state appro-	
	 ved standard forms.  The previously approved
 	 standard form for properties without a cer-
	 tificate of occupancy, including new con-
	 struction, is the Real Estate Purchase Con-		
	 tract for Residential Construction.  If the pro-
	 posed rule amendment is adopted, this outdat-	
	 ed form will be eliminated as an approved
 	 standard form.  Rather than using an ap
	 proved standard form, licensees negotiating a 	
	 transaction for a property without a certificate
 	 of occupancy will use a purchase contract 		
	 prepared by the attorney of either the buyer
  	 or seller or by an attorney employed by a 		
            business that sells blank legal forms.  Public 		
	 comment at the rules website of the Utah 		
	 State Bulletin at http://www.rules.utah.gov/		
	 publicat/bulletin.htm is expected to begin on 	
	 January 15, 2014 and run through February 		
	 14, 2014.

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bulletin.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-02g.htm#T10
http://realestate.utah.gov/mortgage/R162-2c-204_eff20130809.pdf
http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/R162_2f_401a.pdf
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Unintentionally, my basic answer around the office to 
an appraisal question often begins with “it depends.” 
It seems to me that in order to answer most appraisal 
questions, I need to begin my answer with this state-
ment. As an appraiser, real estate agent, or loan officer, 
I am positive each of you has had to qualify an answer 
fairly regularly in your career with “it depends.” 

It has gotten to the point that one investigator in the 
office prior to asking a question, now starts with, “I 
know ‘it depends,’ but here is my question.” 

One reason I need to use this qualifier to answer a 
question is because of unknown variables that are not 
presented in the question.  There are often too many 
factors involved in the appraisal process to be able to 
make a blanket statement. 

In looking at whether an appraisal violation has oc-
curred, it depends on the scope of the appraisal assign-
ment, the intended use, the intended user(s), the quali-
ty, quantity and source(s) of information available, etc.  

Differences in appraised values for the same property 
become more understandable once it is recognized that 
two nearly identical properties could sell on the same 
day for different prices. The reason why this is possible 
goes back to “it depends” on the circumstances of the 
buyers/sellers, market conditions, supply and demand, 
etc. So if two nearly identical properties can be sold on 
the same date for different prices, we then have to look 
at the variables to determine why the sale prices differ. 

In discussing “best practices” for appraisers, a few 
things have been on my mind. Some of these come 
from some recent training provided by AARO (Asso-
ciation of Appraiser Regulatory Officials) for appraisal 
investigators and regulators. Some have come from 
calls to the office and some have come from reviewing 
appraisal complaints. 

From a recent AARO training, I learned from the 
instructor, Dennis Badger, “to be the source of the 
source.” When Dennis first made this statement, I did
not understand what he meant. In later conversations, 
I learned that as an investigator, I should have a source 

to back up any conclusion I come to, and not have my 
conclusions based primarily upon my opinion. This is 
also good advice to appraisers; “to be the source of the 
source” in your reports. (If you’re not familiar with 
who Dennis is, then open your USPAP to page U-iii. 
He is a great instructor, investigator, appraiser, and 
source of information.)

Often, a source appraisers rely on is the MLS. By in-
cluding MLS information in your report, you are being 
the source of a source. Best practice would call for you 
as an appraiser to verify your source(s) and make sure 
the source (information) you are using is not mislead-
ing but is accurate.  

This leads to a concern that some appraisers have 
expressed to me about some of the comparables being 
included on the MLS or that they have seen in other 
appraisals. The concern is the use of builders’ sales 
that are placed on the MLS (for comparable purposes) 
or those noted as verified by HUD statements. 

A question often asked is: “Are these builders’ sales 
noted on the MLS for comp purposes” or “comp use 
only” appropriate to use as comparables in an apprais-
al? Another question often asked is: “Can or should I 
use a builder’s sale verified by a HUD statement as a 
comparable?” 

As an Investigator I cannot make a blanket state-
ment on behalf of the State of Utah to answer these 
questions. I look at “sources” for answers in order to 
determine if using a builder’s sale is appropriate for a 
particular assignment. As an appraiser, you can do the 
same.

Does USPAP or State Law specifically prohibit the use 
of a builder’s sale? I cannot find where it is specifically 
prohibited. But USPAP does require an appraiser to 
provide a credible report that is not misleading. 

Does the lender’s scope of work allow or prohibit the 
use of Builder’s sales? Do the Intended User(s) or does 
the Use allow or prohibit using these sales as compa-
rables?

Under what “Definition of Value” is the subject being 
appraised?

IT DEPENDS....
Theron Case, Appraisal Investigator

continued on page 9
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APPRAISAL

GRANT S. JONES, licensed appraiser.  In a stipulated 
order dated November 27, 2013, Mr. Jones agreed to 
withdraw his request to become a certified residential 
appraiser.  He also agreed to complete specific continu-
ing education classes within one year and complete 500 
additional hours of experience with the first 125 hours of 
appraisal reports to be co-signed by a certified appraiser 
before he will be eligible to resubmit an application to 
become a certified residential appraiser.  Case number 
AP-12-60244

PETERSON, MARK D., licensed appraiser.  In a Sep-
tember 3, 2013 order and after a hearing of the Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Board, Mr. Peterson’s ap-
plication for renewal to practice as a licensed appraiser 
was granted.  In granting the license renewal, the Board 
ordered that Mr. Peterson may not apply for an appraiser 
certification for one year and that he pay a civil penalty 
of $3,750.  The civil penalty is for false statements in his 
application, failing to keep his address updated with the 
Division, and failing to respond to the Division’s request 
for information and records in an investigation.  Case 
number AP-11-54996

WEST, DANIELLE, appraiser trainee. In a September 3, 
2013 order, Ms. West was granted conditional registra-
tion as an appraiser trainee.  The conditional registration 
is based upon Ms. West’s probation in a criminal case.  
Case number AP-13-66948
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Please note that Utah law allows 30 days for appeal 
of an order. Some of the actions below might be sub-
ject to this appeal right or currently under appeal. 

To view entire stipulations and/or orders search 
here: http://realestate.utah.gov/actions/index.html

http://realestate.utah.gov/actions/index.html
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NO LICENSEE LEFT 
BEHIND

Over the last couple of months, some of the Division’s 
investigators and I have noticed an interesting trend while 
working cases or speaking with licensees. Here is an ex-
ample of a common trend:   

Ms. Broker received commissions from transactions com-
pleted by her and her agents. When reviewing the trust 
accounts, the Division discovers the commission funds 
are regularly being deposited into the real estate trust ac-
count before moving the funds to an operating account, 
prior to paying the agent’s portion of the commission. The 
issue: Ms. Broker believed she was supposed to do this 
because of a Division rule stating as much. Ms. Broker 
had a copy of the rule, which was current at the time Ms. 
Broker made a copy of the rule in 200?. The specific rule 
Ms. Broker was relying on is no longer on the books, and 
current language is actually in conflict with this practice. 
If you review the current rules for real estate trust ac-
counts [R162-2f-403a and R162-2f-403b], it is actually 
a violation for brokers to have more than $500 of their 
own funds in the real estate trust account. Commissions 
are the broker’s funds, and I am sure, more often than not, 
the commission is more than $500. This essentially means 
each time a commission is deposited into trust, the rules 
have been violated.

In the above mentioned example, the licensee used and 
relied on statutes or administrative rules that are outdated, 
no longer exist, or have been significantly changed in the 
last few years.

Each year, the Division decides if new language is needed 
in statute. Statutory changes only occur once a year, and 
those changes usually become effective each May. On the 
other hand, all three of the industries the Division regulates 
have had numerous administrative rule changes since I 
have been with the Division. Amending an administrative 
rule is a much different process from amending a statute, 
and can occur on a more frequent basis.

My word of caution is to make sure your current activi-
ties comply with the current statutes and administrative 
rules.

Jeff Nielsen, Chief Investigator

One of the reasons problems or questions occur is due 
to licensees using out dated hard copies of the statutes 
and rules. Referencing hard copies is fine, but it might 
be a good idea to ensure that the hard copies contain 
the same language as the current version of statutes 
and administrative rules.  

Since changes can and do happen fairly often, how 
can a licensee stay up to date? All potential statute 
and administrative rule changes are discussed with the 
respective Commissions or Board in open meetings 
where the public can understand a change and express 
their opinions before actual changes occur. Attending 
the Commission or Board meetings is a great way to 
learn about issues up front, and also allows for partici-
pation in discussions about statutes and administrative 
rules as well as proposed changes.

Another forum for learning about statutory and rule 
changes is through attendance of the Division’s annual 
CARAVAN. Each year, the Division travels the state to 
discuss statute and administrative rule changes, among 
other things. As with attending Commission or Board 
meetings, CARAVAN is another way to get updated in-
formation. Also, by doing both, you can fulfill some of 
the required CE hours needed for each renewal cycle 
(mortgage licensees will now receive CE for the state 
specific course). 

If you decide to not participate in either of the above 
options, you can learn of statutory and rule changes 
through the Division’s newsletters and website. Each 
quarter, the Division provides public notice of changes 
to come. Newsletters are sent to each licensee at the 
email provided to the Division.  Newsletters can also 
be accessed from our website. In addition to the news-
letters, the Division’s website has links to the statutes 
and administrative rules for all of the industries. I 
personally reference these sources every day, as it 
makes things easier to find and I know the most current 
language will be available to me.

As with anything, if you have questions feel free to 
contact the Division.
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Division staff started off our IDW with their block of 
presentations. Jonathan Stewart, Division Director, 
spoke on many different topics, including: industry 
specific legislative updates, surrender of a license, 
and customer service. Mark Fagergren, Director of 
Licensing and Education spoke on licensing updates 
in the appraisal, real estate, and mortgage industries. 
Lastly, Jeff Nielsen, Chief Investigator, presented 
information about advertising violations, unlicensed 
activity, and many other enforcement issues. 

After Division staff presentations, a panel discussion 
of experts, including members of our Real Estate 
Commission (Lori Chapman), Mortgage Commission 
Vice Chair (Lance Miller), and Appraiser Board Vice 
Chair (Paul Throndsen), Jonathan Stewart, Division 
Director, and Jeff Nielsen, Chief Investigator. They 
responded to questions from attendees regarding their 
specific industries. 

Len Elder, J.D., B.A., DREI, kicked off his 
presentation the afternoon of the first day with his 
eager and friendly personality. His presentation was 
once again powerful and informative on how to best 
engage students. Sessions of the workshop included: 
Putting power into PowerPoint presentations, Getting 
Them to Jump - Student Engagement, The Art & 
Science of Student Assessment, and Understanding 
Copyright & Intellectual Property. Instructors came 
away with new and innovative ideas on how to be 
better instructors. 

Attendees for the 2013 IDW made the following 
comments on their evaluations:

“Excellent motivation clips. Great Attitude! I will be 
back next year. Excellent class to learn and gain CE 
Core credits”. 

“First class course & Instruction!”

“You make all of us better instructors”

“Len Elder is a master of teaching other teachers how 
to improve their teaching”

“Very wise and great, great speaker. I learned so 
much my head is going to explode!”

“Instructor enthusiastic and informative. Helped me 
generate good ideas for instruction.”

“Excellent and pertinent! Beautiful example of how 
to teach!”

“I found this very informative, I am leaving with 
many things to implement in my teaching both in and 
outside our industry.”

We would like to thank the attendees of the 2013 
IDW for helping to make this event such a success. 
We are lucky to have so many educators in the state 
of Utah that take such a sincere interest in the well-
being of our licensees. 

ANNUAL INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT 
WORKSHOP HIGHLIGHTS

FAREWELL XANNA!
Since our last newsletter, the Division had to bid 
farewell to one of our valuable team members. Xanna 
(Hardman) DeGooyer, an Assistant Attorney General 
representing the Division of Real Estate, recently 
accepted an offer to work for the local law firm Kirton 
McConkie. Xanna was the Division’s AG representative 
for about three years. Xanna is very  knowledgeable in 
the real estate, mortgage, and appraisal industries and 
will be sorely missed here at the Division. We wish her 
well in her future endeavors. 
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What specific certifications are included in the report 
and do these certifications limit the use of builders’ 
sales?

All of these unanswered questions result in an “it de-
pends” answer.

Why are appraisers asking questions about the use of 
builders’ sales by other appraisers? The best answer I 
can find is that appraisers that are using these sales as 
comparables have values that typically come in higher 
than those appraisers that will not use them.  

What is the problem or potential problems with using a 
builder’s sale as a comparable? The following is a list 
of potential issues to consider:

•	 Market value definition: (3) a reasonable time is 
allowed for exposure in the open market;
•	 Certification #8 on a Fannie Mae 1004 form: I 
have not used comparable sales that were the result of 
combining a land sale with the contract purchase price 
of a home that has been built or will be built on the 
land;
•	 Certification #10 on a Fannie Mae 1004 form: 
I verified, from a disinterested source, all information 
in this report that was provided by parties who have a 
financial interest in the sale or financing of the subject 
property;
•	 Certification #13 on a Fannie Mae 1004 form: I 
obtained the information, estimates, and opinions fur-
nished by other parties and expressed in this appraisal 
report from reliable sources that I believe to be true and 
correct;
•	 A HUD-1 statement gives no information about 
the property other than it’s address; and,
•	 Do builder sales provide a market value or a 
cost to build value? Can they be the same?

These are just a few of the potential issues that need to 
be addressed when using builders’ sales as compara-
bles. You can check various appraisal forums and view 
different arguments presented by your peers as to why 
or why you would not want to use builders’ sales. Re-
member back to Dennis Badger’s advice, “be the source 
of the source.”  He also put it another way; “Have a 
source to point to in support of how an assignment was 
completed.” Then when I am asked “which appraiser is 
right,” I can respond “It depends on their source(s).”

By the time you receive this newsletter, all mortgage 
licensees should have completed their 8 hours of con-
tinuing education for 2013 and requested and paid for 
their renewal through their NMLS account.  Hopefully 
each licensee has now received a confirmation email 
from the NMLS that informs them that their renewal 
has been approved.  In addition, you will receive an 
e-mail from “State of Utah Commerce Licensing” 
notifying you of your license renewal.  If you have 
submitted an on-time application and have not yet 
received a confirmation e-mail,  your application may 
still be being processed.  Since all licensees have to be 
renewed during the short two month renewal window, 
we may still be in the processing,  reviewing, and ap-
proving phase.  

Please be aware, if you submitted a timely license 
renewal request with the NMLS before January 1, 
2014,  your license status will remain as it was prior 
to requesting renewal.  In other words, if you submit-
ted your renewal request before the end of 2013, and 
your license status at the time of your renewal request 
was an approved status, you may continue to work as 
a mortgage loan originator or a lending entity while 
the Division processes licensing applications that were 
submitted in the last few days of the year.  In addition 
to receiving a confirmation email from the NMLS stat-
ing that your renewal has been approved, you will also 
receive an email from the Division of Real Estate with 
your Mortgage license attached.  You can print your 
license from the email at your convenience. 

There are some cases where we are not able to approve 
a renewal due to a pending deficiency on the license.  
To determine if your license renewal is “on hold” until 
a license deficiency is resolved, log in to your NMLS 
account and under “composite view” click on “license/
registration status”.  You can click on “license items” 
to explore the reason for the licensing hold.  Gener-
ally, these holds are to make corrections or additions to 
your NMLS license filing.  These items generally can 
be resolved relatively quickly.  

MORTGAGE 2013 
RENEWAL AND 

REINSTATEMENT

continued on next page

continued from page 5
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If you find that you are in the unfortunate position that 
you have not requested renewal prior to the end of the 
year your license has now expired.  Discontinue any 
mortgage licensing activity that requires a license un-
til/unless your license is reinstated.  If you still wish to 
maintain your mortgage license, you can reinstate the 
license until February 28, 2014.  

In order to reinstate your expired license you will still 
need to complete the continuing education require-
ment which is now the 2013 Late CE, and request your 
renewal through NMLS and pay the renewal fee and 
the late fee.  There is an additional $50 late fee for this 
reinstatement.  If you completed your CE prior to the 
end of the year, but did not request renewal, you will 
not need additional CE, you will just need to request 
and pay the renewal and late fee through NMLS prior 
to February 28, 2014.

Note the importance of the February 28, 2014 dead-
line. After that date, licensees who wish to reinstate 
their license will have significant additional licensing 
requirements and additional fees.

				  

KAGIE’S KORNER
What happens to a listing when an agent decides to 
move from one brokerage to another?  In order for an 
agent to transfer a listing from their old brokerage to 
a new brokerage when the agent leaves a company a 
number of things have to occur. 

First, every listing agreement is a contract between 
the seller and the Principal Broker.  Since the agree-
ment is not between the seller and the agent, only 
the seller and Principal Broker can decide whether to 
terminate a listing agreement.  Listing agreements are 
personal service contracts and may not be assigned. 
Therefore, agents cannot “take a listing” with them to 
a new brokerage.

This leads to the next step, which is the seller receiv-
ing written authorization from the broker to terminate 
the listing.  If the seller and broker agree to terminate 
the listing agreement, the seller has multiple options.  
The seller can list with the transferring agent’s new 
brokerage (or any other licensed brokerage), at-
tempt to sell the property themselves, or decide they 
no longer wish to sell their property. If the original 
broker  agrees to the release, then a new listing agree-
ment between the seller and any other broker needs to 
be agreed to in writing. If no new listing agreement 
is signed by the client, the agent and new broker do 
not have the necessary written permission to market 
the seller’s property and would be in violation of the 
Division’s statues and rules. Also, the agent in this 
situation cannot require or force the client to continue 
using their services as there is no longer an agency re-
lationship between the original broker and the seller.

The Division is aware of several instances where 
brokers and agents have used a form to in an attempt 
to “transfer” listings from one brokerage to another. 
This “transfer form” does not give the two brokerages 
the right or the ability to transfer a listing without the 
seller’s written authorization. 

Rather than “transferring” a listing, an existing list-
ing agreementwould need to be terminated with an 
unconditional withdrawal, followed by a new listing 
agreement between a new broker and the seller.

DIVISION LOSES 
VALUED 

EMPLOYEE JILL 
CHILDS

The Division loses experienced licensing technician 
Jill Childs.  Ms. Childs worked for the Division for 
over six years.  Recently Jill and her family relocated 
to the Dallas Texas area.  By the way, Jill has long 
been a rabid Dallas Cowboy football fan, so moving 
to the site of her favorite team made her move a logi-
cal choice.  Real estate licensees interacting with our 
office will miss her pleasant demeanor and her profes-
sional skills.  We sincerely thank Jill for her dedication 
and wish her well in her new adventure.
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STAFF 
SPOTLIGHT:

KADEE WRIGHT
Real Estate Investigator

The Division of Real Estate welcomes Kadee Wright.  
Kadee comes to the Division with 9 years working in 
residential sales.  Kadee earned an associate’s degree 
from Salt Lake Community College as a paralegal and 
has worked as an investigator for UTA and the Depart-
ment of Workforce Services.  Kadee loves everything 
about the real estate industry.

When she is not in the office Kadee enjoys spending 
time in the outdoors with her family and cooking.  Ka-
dee loves to travel and says she has been everywhere.  
If you are fortunate enough to talk with Kadee feel 
free to ask where she has been.   

Each month, the Division receives a large number of real 
estate complaints. Over the last year, somewhere be-
tween 33% to a little over 40% of the complaints received 
each month have been advertising complaints. Specifi-
cally, advertising complaints have been for violations of 
the rule against blind ads or violations of the brokerage 
name not being at least one-half the size of either the li-
censee’s name or the largest text on the advertisement.

The large number of advertising complaints places a 
strain on the Division’s resources and limits the Divi-
sion from focusing on more important complaints.  In 
response to this drain of its resources, the Division has 
worked with the Real Estate Commission on how to 
best handle advertising violations. Together the Divi-
sion and the Real Estate Commission have determined 
new guidelines for sanctions of licensees commit-
ting advertising violations. These guidelines will be-
come effective for complaints of advertising violations 
where conduct occurs on or after January 15, 2014.

For a first-time advertising violation by a licensee, the 
Division will look to obtain a $150 fine from the licens-
ee through a stipulation. As with any stipulation ne-
gotiated with the Division, the misconduct will appear 
in the disciplinary section of the Division’s quarterly 
newsletter. In addition to a potential fine, the Division 
will provide the licensee and the licensee’s broker with 
a written letter outlining the violation, and will warn 
that further violations will result in additional sanc-
tions. The letter will also explain some of the common 
reasons the Division has seen complaints in the past, 
and ideas on how to correct the problems in the future.

For a second advertising violation by a licensee, the 
Division will look to obtain a $500 fine from the licens-
ee through a stipulation. If the licensee’s broker was 
warned about previous violations and failed to take ad-
equate measures to avoid further advertising violations 
by their licensee(s), the Division will seek to obtain a 
$150 fine through stipulation with the broker as well.  

Further violations by the licensee could result in fur-
ther sanctions against both the licensee and the broker.

As with any complaint, the Division will seek to 
obtain all facts before deciding whether a fine or other 
sanction would be appropriate. As with any alleged 
violation made by the Division, the licensee will 
always be able to have a hearing with the Commission 
if the licensee disagrees with any proposed stipulation 
offered by the Division.

NOTICE: NEW 
SANCTIONS FOR 

ADVERTISING 
VIOLATIONS
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DIVISION QUESTIONS & 
SUGGESTIONS

Do you have a questions you have been wanting to ask an investigator but 
have not had the time to call? Do you have questions about your license? We 
want to hear about your ideas and suggestions. All questions and suggestions 
will be anonymous. Selected questions will be answered in the next newsletter. 

Submit questions to:  DREnewsletter@utah.gov 

Question:
How should a buyer’s agent and a seller’s agent negotiate repairs?  Do the initial request and the 
negotiation have to be done on addenda or can the back and forth be done on memos instead?

Answer:  
There is no one right way to negotiate repairs.  The buyer could initiate the conversation by a written 
memo and await a response from the seller by memo as well.  The important thing to remember is 
that the resolution, what the buyer and seller contractually agree to do must be included in the REPC.

Question:
If I am representing a seller and I receive an email from the buyer’s agent telling me that the buyer 
wants the seller to agree to multiple repairs and my seller wants to counter the buyer’s request, do we 
have to respond in an addendum or can we respond with an email?

Answer:  
It would be permissible to respond via email, but once the buyer and seller agree to a deal on the 
repairs, the final resolution must be put into the REPC.  No information about what the buyer and 
seller agree to do can be hidden from the buyer’s lender.

Question:
What’s the proper way for a licensee to negotiate repairs between a buyer and a seller?  

Answer:
How the buyer and seller representatives choose to negotiate the possible repairs is up to the buyer 
and seller and their agents, whether it is via memos, email, face to face conversations, or any other 
method of communication.  Once the buyer and seller have reached a solution they must then put the 
solution in the REPC through an addendum which outlines exactly the terms agreed to by both par-
ties.

mailto:DREnewsletter@utah.gov
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containing value conclusions relating to real estate or 
real property solely for the company’s use. 

Under the circumstances described above, licensed 
real estate brokers and agents can render opinions 
regarding the value of real estate as well as bank/
AMC employees who state a value or prepare a report 
containing value conclusions relating to real estate or 
real property solely for the company’s use.  However 
only certified appraisers can prepare and sign an ap-
praisal report (61-2g-401(3)(a)).

The company employee appraisal licensing exemp-
tion is offered to any company that hires an employee 
who in their work for their company offers opinions 
of value solely for the company’s internal use.  There-
fore they can render their opinions for internal bank 
purposes but not for lending purposes where their 
opinions may form the basis for making a lending 
decision where the loan may potentially be sold on 
the secondary market.

Guidance on appraiser compliance with USPAP can 
be found in Advisory Opinion 21. The Preamble 
states that “...compliance with USPAP is required 
when either the service or the appraiser is obligated to 
comply by law or regulation.”  The ETHICS RULE 
states that “...an individual should comply any time 
that individual represents that he or she is perform-
ing the service as an appraiser.”  This opinion also 
says that “[i]n summary, expectation is the basis for 
determining when an individual providing a valuation 
service is acting as an appraiser.  Because of the need 
to preserve public trust and confidence in appraisal 
practice, the expectations of the client and other 
intended users for ethical and competent performance 
create an obligation to comply with USPAP.”

AO-21 further states that “[a]n individual who some-
times provides services as an appraiser, but who is 
currently acting in another role, must ensure that 
intended users are not misled as to the individual’s 
role in providing that valuation service.  This can 
be accomplished through such means as disclosure, 
notification, or careful distinction when providing the 
valuation service as to the individual’s role”.

Although the appraisal statute has an exemption to li-
censing when “an employee of a company who states 

continued on next page

The Division occasionally receives inquiries regard-
ing bank/AMC employees performing evaluations 
by unlicensed appraisers.  We also receive questions 
regarding bank/AMC employee appraisers and wheth-
er their appraisals or evaluations for the bank/AMC 
must be USPAP compliant.  Recently the Division 
has also been asked about what, if any, expectations 
the Division has for the work these appraisers provide 
for their bank/AMC employers.  Finally, the Division 
also receives inquiries from appraisers from outside 
of Utah wanting to know under what circumstances 
they can perform an appraisal review on a property 
located in Utah.

The Division would like to help clarify these situa-
tions to help both banks/AMCs, non-appraiser bank/
AMC evaluation employees, and appraisers (who are 
employed by banks/AMCs) to better understand these 
requirements, obligations, and limitations.  In addi-
tion, it is important for everyone to function under a 
common understanding about the appraisal statutes 
and Administrative Rules as they are being enforced 
by the Division.

Let’s begin by reviewing two relevant statutory ex-
emptions from the appraisal statutory requirements 
are listed below (61-2g-301 (2)): 

1)	 Licensed real estate brokers and agents who in 
the ordinary course of their business give an opinion 
regarding the value of real estate.
2)	 An employee of a company (often a bank) 
who states an opinion of value or prepares a report 

BANK AND/OR AMC 
EMPLOYEES 

PERFORMING 
EVALUATIONS & OUT 

OF STATE 
APPRAISERS 

PERFORMING
 REVIEWS
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an opinion of value or prepares a report containing 
value conclusions relating to real estate or real prop-
erty solely for the company’s use,” this is a licensing 
exemption.  Once an individual makes the decision to 
become an appraiser, they no longer fall under the li-
censing provisions of the statute; rather, they fall under 
the statutory requirements imposed upon appraisers.  

The Attorney General’s office rendered a legal opinion 
to the Division in January 2011 that covers this matter.  
The Attorney General’s office was asked to research 
whether a licensed or certified appraiser could give a 
price opinion regarding real estate, and in the course of 
doing so, not comply with USPAP.  Although the At-
torney General’s office opinion dealt with BPOs, per-
forming other “evaluations” would fall under the same 
answer.  They indicated that “It is likely that a ‘price 
opinion’ (you should also insert the term ‘evaluation’) 
...would qualify as an appraisal if given by a licensed 
or certified appraiser and would require compliance 
with USPAP.”

As you are probably aware, the statute was modified 
following the AG office’s opinion on this issue.  The 
statute was amended to allow appraisers who also hold 
a real estate license to render a BPO.   Note:  If the 
appraiser/real estate licensee properly discloses that 
they are acting as a real estate licensee (and not as an 
appraiser).

Based on the opinion from the Attorney General’s 
office that our statute requires an appraiser to comply 
with USPAP and, even though the statute allows an 
employer to hire an unlicensed individual to state an 
opinion of value or prepare a report containing value 
conclusions, the Division’s position on this matter is 
that an appraiser in Utah is held to a higher standard 
and thus requires appraisers to comply with USPAP 
when acting in a similar capacity.

In summary, the only way that a bank/AMC employed 
appraiser could legally render non-USPAP compliant 
evaluations in Utah, would be for the appraiser to also 
become a real estate licensee and have appropriate 
disclosure/notification language included in their scope 
of work and evaluations that clearly notifies all parties 
that in their evaluation process they are acting as a real 
estate licensee and NOT as an appraiser.

Question:  May appraisers who are licensed outside of 
Utah perform appraisal reviews on Utah real property 
appraisals?

Answer:  No.  Although other states may take a dif-
ferent position regarding this question, Utah requires 
an appraisal review of property located in this state 
(regardless of which state the reviewer is from) to be 
performed by someone holding an appraisal license is-
sued by Utah. This rule applies regardless of whether a 
value conclusion was rendered as part of the appraisal 
review.  

continued from page 13

MORTGAGE 
STANDARD 
FINANCIAL 

CONDITION REPORT
Beginning with the third quarter of 2012, mortgage 
entities have been required to complete the Mortgage 
Call Report on a quarterly basis.  As part of the Call 
Reporting responsibility, there is a Financial Condition 
component that is required on an annual basis.  The 
report can be submitted by manually entering the data 
in the NMLS or by uploading an XML file into your 
NMLS filing.  The 2013 Financial Condition Report 
must be completed and uploaded into NMLS 90 days 
after the company’s fiscal year end.   For help in com-
pleting this report see:  

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licens-
ees/resources/LicenseeResources/Complete%20Stan-
dard%20FC.pdf

Please note, the Financial Condition Component of the 
Mortgage Call Report is not the same as a Company 
Financial Statement.  Utah does not require mortgage 
entities to file a Company Financial Statement.

Mortgage entities, please remember that you have 90 
days after your fiscal year ends to file your standard 
financial condition report.

				  

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Complete%20Standard%20FC.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Complete%20Standard%20FC.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Complete%20Standard%20FC.pdf
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Two months ago the Division initiated a program of 
advance reminder e-mail notifications to real estate 
and appraiser licensees.  The Division sends out a 
friendly courtesy e-mail to notify/remind you that 
your license will soon be expiring.  The Division 
sends these notifications to the e-mail address that 
your electronic newsletter is sent.  It is the same 
e-mail address that you have entered into your 
RELMS account. 

The real estate license notifications are sent out 45 
days, 30 days, and 14 days before and 2 days after the 
license expires.  Appraiser licensees and Trainees will 
receive their notifications 3 months, 45 days, and 15 
days before and 2 days after the license/registration 
expires.  These e-mails are only sent if you have 
not renewed your license.  For example, if you are a 
real estate licensee and you renew your license after 
the first notification (45 days) you will not be sent 
additional renewal notifications.

The notifications will inform you of your license 
status (active or inactive), the number of continuing 
education hours in your RELMS account, any 
licensing or enforcement “holds” on your license, and 
instructions for renewing your license online.

These e-mail notices should help you to better plan 
for your upcoming license renewal and are done 
as a courtesy to our licensees.  The Division has 
already received considerable positive feedback from 
licensees who have been sent these reminders.

E-MAIL LICENSE 
RENEWAL REMINDER 

NOTIFICATIONS 

APPRAISER 
SUPERVISOR/

TRAINEE COURSE 
The Appraisal Qualifications Board has created a 
course of instruction for all currently existing and 
subsequent new appraiser supervisors and trainees.  
In addition, the Utah Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Board wanted some additional topics 
(in addition to the AQB course curriculum) also be 
taught to supervising appraisers and trainees. This 
AQB course outline will be included along with some 
additional topics approved by The Utah Appraiser 
Board. 

A committee of six individuals appointed by the 
Appraiser Board (Dan Brammer, Appraiser Board 
Chair, Mark Fagergren, Kristin Coleman, Appraiser 
Board Member, Blake Ingram, Ron Smith, and Craig 
Morley) reviewed materials including The Appraisal 
Foundation Supervisor/Trainee Course Outline, and 
problems and concerns as noted by the Appraiser 
Board.  The committee recommended a proposed 
outline and study guide for use in the proposed course.  
The Appraiser Board has approved the course outline 
and instruction manual for this six hour course.

All supervising appraisers and trainees will be 
required to attend this course before January 1, 
2015.  Any supervisor or trainee that fails to attend 
this course before the deadline will not be allowed 
to supervise or function as a trainee (and receive 
experience hours) until they have completed this 
required course. 

It is hoped that the important information taught in 
this course will help both supervisors and trainees 
better understand their roles in the appraisal process.  
Common problems associated with Licensed 
appraisal applications will be discussed.  Best practice 
issues will be explained.  In summary, this course 
should help all parties better understand and meet 
expectations regarding supervisory appraisers and 
their trainees.

Appraisers interested in teaching this course should 
contact Carla Westbroek of the Division at cwestbro@
utah.gov for further information.
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MORTGAGE

AMCAP MORTGAGE, Ltd., mortgage entity.  In 
a stipulated order dated November 6, 2013, Amcap 
Mortgage, Ltd. Agreed to pay a civil penalty of $7500 
and to update its MU1 disclosure form for actively 
transacting business in a branch that was registered 
as inactive and using a business name that was not 
licensed or registered with the division in violation of 
state law.  Case number MG-13-66185

BICKETT, AMBER BROOKE, mortgage loan origi-
nator.  In a September 12, 2013 order, Ms. Bickett’s 
license was granted and placed on probation for one 
year due to criminal history.  Case number MG-13-
67173

CHRISTENSEN, JEFF L., mortgage loan origina-
tor.  In a November 12, 2013 order, Mr. Christensen’s 
license was granted and placed on probation for the 
initial licensing period due to criminal history.  Case 
number MG-13-68033

COOK, ROBERT Q., mortgage loan originator.  In a 
September 25, 2013 order, Mr. Cook’s application to 
practice as a mortgage loan originator was denied for 
criminal history and for regulatory action permanently 
enjoining Mr. Cook from selling securities.  Case 
number MG-13-67393

EAGAN, MICHAEL S., lending manager.  In a 
stipulated order dated November 6, 2013, Mr. Eagan 
agreed to pay a civil penalty of $2500 and update 
his MU4 disclosure form.  Mr. Eagan was the lend-
ing manager for Amcap Mortgage, Ltd., a mortgage 
company that transacted business under a business 
name not registered with the division.  Case number 
MG-13-66135

HOBBS, ALLISON, mortgage loan originator.  In an 
August 13, 2013 order, Ms. Hobbs’s license was sus-
pended for the remainder of the current licensing pe-
riod.  The Commission determined that the suspension 
was warranted because of two cases of shoplifting/re-
tail theft against Ms. Hobbs including one charge oc-
curring at approximately the time of her recent license 
renewal.  Case number MG-13-64304

MORENO, LUIS A., mortgage loan originator.  In a

September 12, 2013 order, Mr. Moreno’s license was 
granted and placed on probation due to criminal history 
and due to an unpaid civil penalty owed to the division 
by a company formerly owned by Mr. Moreno.  Case 
number MG-13-67168

NOBLE, LESLIE DALE, lending manager.  In an Octo-
ber 18, 2013 order, Mr. Noble’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for two years due to criminal his-
tory and unpaid tax liens.  Case number MG-13-66112

ROBERTS, JONATHAN V., lending manager.  In a 
stipulated order dated September 4, 2013, Mr. Roberts 
agreed to pay a civil penalty of $1000 for working as 
branch manager at a branch with signage both inside 
and outside the branch office displaying the name of 
a former mortgage company rather than the sponsor-
ing mortgage company.  This practice was determined 
to violate the requirement that a licensee not engage in 
false or misleading advertising.  Mr. Roberts was also 
ordered to update the answers on his MU4 disclosure 
form.  Case number MG-13-65797

WARNER, TROY, lending manager.  In a stipulated 
order dated November 6, 2013, Mr. Warner agreed to 
pay a civil penalty of $2500 and to update his MU4 dis-
closure form.  An in-house processor used white-out to 
change the date on disclosure forms.  The white-out was 
visibly evident and should have been addressed when 
Mr. Warner reviewed the loan during the final quality 
control audit.  Mr. Warner failed to exercise reasonable 
supervision in violation of state law.  Case number MG-
13-65129

WILLIAMS, PRESTON TREMAYNE, mortgage loan 
originator.  In a September 18, 2013 order, Mr. Wil-
liams’ license was granted and placed on probation for 
the initial licensing period.  Considerations in taking this 
action included Mr. Williams’s criminal history, a recent 
foreclosure, and previous regulatory action by another 
state.  Case number MG-13-67302

REAL ESTATE 

AFO, ROCKY, sales agent.  In an October 29, 2013 
order, Mr. Afo’s license was granted and placed on 
probation during the pendency of a criminal case in the 
Salt Lake City Justice Court involving Mr. Afo.  Case 
number RE-13-67862

continued from page 6

continued on next page
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ALAGIC, ADIS, sales agent.  In a stipulated order 
dated November 20, 2013, Mr. Alagic agreed to pay a 
civil penalty of $500 for criminal history not disclosed 
in his application for licensure.  Case number RE-13-
65871

BAKER, JENNIFER, sales agent.  In a September 10, 
2013 order, Ms. Baker’s application for licensure as 
a sales agent was granted and her license placed on 
probation during the pendency of a case in the Murray 
Justice Court.  Case number RE-13-67145

BAQUE, JOHN, sales agent.  In a November 20, 
2013 order, Mr. Baque’s application for licensure as 
a sales agent was granted and placed on probation for 
the initial licensing period or during the pendency of 
a criminal case in the Salt Lake City Justice Court 
involving Mr. Baque.  Case number RE-13-68165

BOWMAN, BRENDA, sales agent.  In a September 
10, 2013 order, Ms. Bowman’s license was granted 
and placed on probation for prior administrative ac-
tion against her occupational certification in another 
industry and for unpaid child support.  Case number 
RE-13-67132

BRUNS, JOSHUA, sales agent.  In a September 
20, 2013 order, Mr. Bruns’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67126

CALDER, DAVID, sales agent.  In a September 10, 
2013 order, Mr. Calder’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history and for a judgment for unpaid child 
support.  Case number RE-13-67325

CHAMBERLAIN, CODY, sales agent.  In a Novem-
ber 25, 2013 order, Mr. Chamberlain’s license was 
granted and placed on probation during the pendency 
of case number 131406956 in the Salt Lake City Jus-
tice Court involving Mr. Chamberlain.  Case number 
RE-13-68241

CHAMPINE, ALARIC, sales agent.  In a September 
10, 2013 order, Mr. Champine’s license was granted 
and placed on probation for the initial licensing period 
for criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67115

COSBY, JOY, sales agent.  In a November 12, 2013 
order, Ms. Cosby’s license was granted and placed on 
probation for the initial licensing period for criminal 
history and tax liens.  Case number RE-13-68035

DELEONE, DEAN, sales agent.  In a September 25, 
2013 order, Mr. Deleone’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history and for a pending case in the Summit 
County Justice Court.  Case number RE-13-67402

DELQUADRO, DOUGLAS, sales agent.  In a No-
vember 21, 2013 order, Mr. Delquadro’s license was 
renewed and placed on probation for criminal history 
and unpaid child support.  The probation is for the re-
newal period and until the judgment for child support 
is satisfied.  Case number RE-11-57654

FINLEY, JOHN, sales agent.  In a stipulated order dat-
ed October 16, 2013, Mr. Finley agreed to pay a civil 
penalty of $250 for failing to disclose in his license 
application criminal history of driving a vehicle with 
no proof of insurance, a class B misdemeanor.  Case 
number RE-13-65932

GAURMER, LYLE, associate broker.  In a November 
6, 2013 order, Mr. Gaurmer’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
prior criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67997

GRAHAM, TIFANY, sales agent.  In a September 10, 
2013 order, Ms. Graham’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67151

GRASSO, ANDREW, sales agent.  In an October 
9, 2013 order, Mr. Grasso’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67581

HALL, JONATHAN, principal broker.  In a stipulated 
order dated October 16, 2013, Mr. Hall agreed to pay 
a civil penalty of $500 for failing to disclose on his 
application an investigation or disciplinary proceed-
ing which was pending against him by a professional 
licensing agency.  He also agreed to have his license 
placed on probation for the current licensing period.  
Case number RE-13-66023
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HANSEN, ALEXANDER, sales agent.  In a Novem-
ber 22, 2013 order, Mr. Hansen’s license was granted 
and placed on probation for the initial licensing period 
for criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68214

HANSEN, BRIEN, principal broker.  In a September 
17, 2013 order, Mr. Hansen’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for one year for criminal history.  
Case number RE-13-65873

HART, CARL, sales agent.  In an October 1, 2013 
order, Mr. Hart’s license was granted and placed on 
probation for the renewal period for criminal history.  
Case number RE-13-67488

HOCHSTEDLER, WILLIAM R., principal broker.  In 
a November 6, 2013 order, Mr. Hochstedler’s license 
was granted and placed on probation for the initial 
licensing period for prior criminal history and for civil 
judgments.  Case number RE-13-68002

HOFF, COREY, principal broker.  In an October 
9, 2013 order, Mr. Hoff’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for two years or until case num-
ber 135900171 (3rd District Court, Salt Lake County, 
Utah) is resolved and closed.  Case number RE-13-
67486

HOBBS, ROBERT, sales agent.  In an October 1, 
2013 order and after hearing by the Real Estate Com-
mission, Mr. Hobbs’s license was granted and imme-
diately suspended until Mr. Hobbs verifies that he is 
no longer on probation in the court case reviewed by 
the Commission and until he has completed a class on 
cognitive restructuring.  Case number RE-13-65528

JOHNSON, TIMOTHY, sales agent.  In a September 
26, 2013 order, Mr. Johnson’s application for licensure 
as a sales agent was denied under Utah Administrative 
Code Section R162-2f-201 for criminal history.  Case 
number RE-13-67413

KLAWE, BOHDAN, sales agent.  In an October 9, 
2013 order, Mr. Klawe’s license was granted and 
placed on probation until he provides proof that he 
has complied with the terms of his plea in abeyance 
agreement and the case is dismissed or closed.  Case 
number RE-13-67579

LARSEN RANDY E., associate broker.  In a No-
vember 29, 2013 order, Mr. Larsen’s license was re-
newed and placed on probation for the renewal pe-
riod for criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68311

LONGHURST, DALE BRADY, sales agent.  In a No-
vember 6, 2013 order, Mr. Longhurst’s license was grant-
ed and placed on probation for the initial licensing period 
for prior criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68000

MADSEN, MARK, sales agent.  In a September 6, 
2013 order, Mr. Madsen’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period 
for criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67115

MCNEEL, ROBERT J., sales agent.  In an October 
10, 2013 order, Mr. McNeel’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the renewal period for unsat-
isfied civil judgments.  Case number RE-13-67601

MEDRANO, NEENA, sales agent.  In a stipu-
lated order dated September 18, 2013, Ms. Me-
drano agreed to pay a civil penalty of $500 for 
failing to disclose in her license application a con-
viction for operating a vehicle without insurance, a 
class B misdemeanor.  Case number RE-13-67188

MILLER, ELIZABETH, sales agent.  In a Novem-
ber 13, 2013 order, Ms. Miller’s license was granted 
and placed on probation for the pendency of criminal 
proceedings in case number 121501466 (5th District 
Court, Washington, Utah).  Case number RE-13-68045

MURRAY, JEFF, sales agent.  In a stipulated order dated 
September 18, 2013, Mr. Murray agreed to pay a civil 
penalty of $500 for failing to disclose criminal history 
in his license application.  Case number RE-13-66280

PEAY, ASHLEY, sales agent.  In a stipulated order dat-
ed September 18, 2013, Ms. Peay agreed to pay a civil 
penalty of $250 for failing to disclose criminal history 
in her license application.  Case number RE-13-66823

PACK, DERIN P., sales agent.  In a Novem-
ber 13, 2013 order, Mr. Pack’s license was re-
newed and placed on probation for one year for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68046
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SCHELIN, MELISSA, sales agent.  In a stipulated 
order dated October 16, 2013, Ms. Schelin agreed 
to pay a civil penalty of $500 for failing to disclose 
criminal history in her license application.  She also 
agreed that her license would be placed on probation 
for the initial licensing period.  Case number RE-13-
67481

SMITH, JACOB, sales agent.  In a November 22, 
2013 order, Mr. Smith’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68211

STANGE, CHRISTOPHER, sales agent.  In a stipu-
lated order dated October 16, 2013, Mr. Stange agreed 
to pay a civil penalty of $1000 for failing to disclose 
criminal history in his license application.  He also 
agreed that his license would be on probation for the 
initial licensing period.  Case number RE-13-67380

VENTURA, VINCENT, sales agent.  In a September 
10, 2013 order, Mr. Ventura’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the remainder of the renewal 
period or for a longer period during the pendency of 
criminal proceedings in two open court cases.  Case 
number RE-13-67137

TUCKER, KIMBERLY, sales agent.  In an October 
4, 2013 order, Ms. Tucker’s license was granted and 
placed on probation during the pendency of criminal 
proceedings in an open court case.  Case number RE-
11-57588

SMITH, LORI S., sales agent.  In an October 4, 2013 
order, Ms. Smith’s license was granted and placed on 
probation for the initial licensing period for unpaid 
tax liens and for sanctions placed on her license as a 
resident producer of casualty and property insurance.  
Case number RE-13-67534

WARREN, RANDALL, sales agent.  In a September 
17, 2013 order, Mr. Warren’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67281

WHEELER, SPENCER, sales agent.  In an October 
22, 2013 order, Mr. Wheeler’s license was granted 
and placed on probation for the initial licensing period 
for criminal history.  Case number RE-13-67781
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PEHRSON, DERK O., principal broker.  In an Octo-
ber 10, 2013 order, Mr. Pehrson’s license was 
granted and placed on probation for the remainder of 
the renewal period for unsatisfied civil judgments.  
Case number RE-13-67596

PETERSON, CODY, sales agent.  In a stipulated 
order dated October 16, 2013, Mr. Peterson agreed to 
pay a civil penalty of $2000 for failing to disclose 
criminal history in his license application.  Case num-
ber RE-13-67435

PHILLIPS, ANDREW S., sales agent.  In an October 
11, 2013 order, Mr. Phillip’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the remainder of the renewal 
period for criminal history.  Case number 
RE-13-63647

PLANT, BRANDON, sales agent.  In a September 
10, 2013 order, Mr. Plant’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for one year for criminal history.  
Case number RE-13-67144

POTENCIANO, JEANGHENI, sales agent.  In a 
September 17, 2013 order, Ms. Potenciano’s license 
was granted and placed on probation for the initial 
licensing period for criminal history.  Case number 
RE-13-67276

RAWLE, MATTHEW, sales agent.  In a November 
25, 2013 order, Mr. Rawle’s license was granted and 
placed on probation for the initial licensing period for 
criminal history.  Case number RE-13-68221

RORING, KELLIE, sales agent.  In an October 9, 
2013 order, Ms. Roring’s application to reinstate her 
license as a sales agent was granted and her license 
placed on probation during the renewal period for 
unprofessional conduct in another profession.  Case 
number RE-13-67576
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WINQUIST, CAMERON, sales agent.  In an October 
28, 2013 order, Mr. Winquist’s license was renewed 
and placed on probation for the pendency of criminal 
proceedings in case number 131600645 (2nd District 
Court, Layton, Davis County, Utah).  Case number 
RE-13-67784

YOUNG, STACEY, sales agent.  In an October 28, 
2013 order, Ms. Young’s license was granted, imme-
diately suspended for 60 days, and placed on proba-
tion for the remainder of the initial licensing period.  
Ms. Young failed to disclose criminal history in her 
license application.  Case number RE-13-67847

ZISUMBO, SONIA, sales agent.  In a November 1, 
2013 order, Ms. Zisumbo’s license was renewed and 
placed on probation for the pendency of criminal 
proceedings in case number 131903551 (3rd District 
Court, Salt Lake County, Utah).  Case number RE-13-
67932

TIMESHARE

HENDRICKS, TERI, timeshare sales agent.  In an 
October 18, 2013 order, Ms. Hendricks’s application 
for licensure as a timeshare sales agent was denied for 
filing an application that contains untrue or mislead-
ing information.  Ms. Hendricks failed to disclose in 
her application criminal history and the prior denial of 
a professional or occupational license.  Case number 
RE-13-677055
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