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Mortgage License 
Renewal Deadline Passes

-Two-Month -
-Reinstatement Period Begins- 

Mortgage licensees who successfully transitioned their 
licenses in 2010 have just completed the license renewal 
period (November 1 – December 31, 2010).  At the 
time this article was prepared, 2325 Utah mortgage 
loan originators (including MLOs, ALMs, PLMs, and 
BLMs) have submitted a request for license renewal 
with the NMLS.  In addition 582 mortgage entities and  
mortgage branches have requested license 
renewal.  Division staff are rapidly reviewing 
these applications to verify that mortgage 
originating licensees have successfully completed 
all renewal requirements, including several Utah 
specific licensing requirements, as follows:

	 *	 14 hours of continuing education if initially  	
		   licensed before October 1, 2009 
		  (Utah DRE or  NMLS CE including 2 hrs 		
		  of ethics & 3hrs Federal/State laws governing 	
		  mortgage lending)

	 *	 8 hours of continuing education if initially 	  	
		  licensed after October 1, 2009
		  (Utah DRE or NMLS CE)

	 *	 Passage (or prior certification) of the NMLS 		
		  Utah state exam

	 *	 Completion and submission of the Social 		
	 	 Security Verification Form

-REMINDER-
Paper Change Cards & 
License Renewal Forms 

No Longer Accepted
The third quarter Division newsletter announced 
that paper change card and license renewal 
forms will no longer be accepted after 2010.

Real estate and appraiser licensees should now use 
the RELMS system to accomplish the following:  

Real estate and appraiser licensees are now able to:

•	 Update your mailing and physical address
•	 Change your license status from active to inactive, 	
	 etc.
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Deanna Sabey

From the Director’s Desk

At the Division of Real Estate, we 
have been very concerned about 
loan modification companies 
that take up-front fees but wind 
up not providing the agreed-
to services.  Our mortgage 
investigators are swamped 
with calls and complaints from 
consumers in mortgage trouble.  
Consumers have paid sometimes 
$3,000-$5,000 in up-front fees 
without receiving the promised 

services.  The stories are heart-wrenching and disturbing.  
The owners of these unscrupulous loan modification 
companies know consumers will not sue them or their 
companies because the consumers are financially 
destitute. 

Many loan modification companies claim they need 
consumers’ payments up front to cover ongoing 
costs relating to the services they provide, but 
that argument fails.  Companies start and run their 
businesses all the time without having to charge 
the consumer before the service is provided.

On a federal level, the Federal Trade Commission has 
been dealing with scores of complaints from consumers 
regarding up-front fees.  In a recent FTC action against 
a loan modification company, the FTC alleged the 
company gave no services of value to consumers who 
paid up to $4,250 each, did not pay promised refunds, 
and made false promises to consumers.  A federal court 
halted the company’s operations, appointed a receiver 
to manage the business, and froze the company’s 
assets, pending trial.  The FTC has gone after dozens 
of loan modification companies and typically entered 
into settlements with those companies for millions of 
dollars.  The FTC and state law enforcement agencies 
have collectively filed over 200 cases against providers 
of mortgage relief services.  The vast majority of those 
cases were filed against loan modification companies.

On November 19th, the FTC prohibited up-front fees 
for mortgage relief services through the Mortgage 
Assistance Relief Services Rule (MARS Rule).  The 
MARS Rule states the consumer can be charged for 
mortgage assistance relief services (which includes 
loan modifications and many short sales) only after 
the consumer and mortgage holder or servicer agree 
in writing to the offer of mortgage assistance relief.
  
At least 20 states currently prohibit charging advance 
fees for mortgage relief services.  Utah is not one of 
those states.   In Utah, loan modification companies and 
foreclosure rescue service providers must be licensed with 
the Division.  But, these companies can charge the consumer 
an up-front fee after entering into a written contract with 
the consumer.  Given the blatant consumer rip-off in Utah 
through up-front fees, it is time for Utah to prohibit them.
  
The 2011 Legislative Session is coming up, beginning 
the fourth Monday in January.  The Division will seek to 
enact legislation prohibiting loan modification companies 
and foreclosure rescue companies from charging 
consumers up-front fees.  The importance of protecting 
consumers, who will likely be your clients at some 
point, is paramount.  Good legislation is the first step.
I hope you have a wonderful Holiday season and a 
prosperous New Year.  There is much work ahead of us.
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continued on page 5

LOAN 
MODIFICATION SCAMS

The financial woes 
of the whole nation 
have proven that these 
are unusual and trying 
times in our real estate-
related industries. In 

times such as these, scammers come out of the woodwork 
in large numbers to prey upon the citizens of our state. 
In the past several newsletters from the Division of 
Real Estate, we have discussed real estate purchase 
scams, short sale scams, and foreclosure rescue scams. 
Now we would like to bring into focus another very 
prevalent scam in Utah—the loan modification scam.

First, we must acknowledge that not all loan 
modifications are scams, and not all loan modification 
companies are scammers. There is a very valid 
purpose for loan modifications in our current 
marketplace. Loan originators licensed in Utah 
can provide a very valuable function in assisting 
consumers with loan modifications, and in general 
are doing an excellent service in the communities. 

Loan modification scams come in many forms. The most 
common and easiest to accomplish involves taking a 
sizeable up-front fee, anywhere from $700 to $7,000, 
and then never providing any services to the consumer. 
This is an over-simplification of the process but also a 
very accurate description of the many complaints the 
Division of Real Estate receives on a regular basis. 

The homeowners are generally facing some 
kind hardship, or even distress, in their financial 
positions. There is a need to have some financial relief, 
and mortgage payments are usually the largest single 
obligation of a person or family. These scammers 
advertise that they will guarantee results, or 
promise results that they can not deliver. The pitch 
from the scammers is often too good to be true, 
and we know what they say: "If something sounds 
too good to be true, it probably is too good to be 
true." Many times the scammer already knows 
that the consumer is desperate, and therefore 
tailors a presentation to appeal to that desperation. 

The scammer tells the consumer that he or she, the consumer, 
will not have to make a house payment until the newly 
modified loan is in place and that the unpaid house payment 
money will help the consumer pay the up-front fee to the 
scammer. It sounds good, but it doesn’t work out that way. 
Several months go by and the homeowner/consumer then 
discovers that there is a notice of default filed on the property. 
The homeowner has already given money to the scammers 
and now doesn’t have enough to make the current mortgage 
payment—let alone catch up the delinquent payments.

One prevalent loan modification scam that is occurring 
now involves advertising a phony government bailout 
program. This generally happens after a notice of default 
has been filed. These scammers buy lists of default notices 
recorded in each county. The scammers then send a letter 
to the homeowner, giving the impression that the letter 
comes from an official government agency. The letter 
claims that the homeowner is entitled to government bailout 
money—all the homeowner has to do is send a sizeable fee 
to the address included. These letters are almost always 
followed up by a phone call to the homeowner to confirm 
the receipt of the letter and answer questions. This is a 
percentage game for the scammers; they know that not 
everyone will fall for the ruse. However, they also know 
that a certain number of homeowners will swallow the 
bait. Once the money is received, the homeowner will 
never hear from the scammer again, and the money is lost.

Another scam common right now is a bait and switch scam. 
The homeowner is contacted by the scammers and, after 
answering a few qualifying questions, the homeowner is 
notified that he or she does not qualify for a loan modification, 
but could consider some other available alternatives. 
These "alternatives" range from filing bankruptcy to 
quitclaiming the homeowner's interest to a third party. 
The homeowner is assured that the property will not be 
foreclosed because the scammers will take responsibility 
for the mortgage. The scammers then turn around and lease 
option the property, sometimes leasing it back to the original 
homeowner, and it frequently goes to foreclosure in the end.
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Mortgage License 
Renewal Deadline Passes

-Two-Month -
-Reinstatement Period Begins- 

Utah DRE staff are reviewing NMLS license renewal 
requests in the order they 
are received.  Mortgage 
licensees who meet all 
renewal requirements 
will be mailed their 2011
m o r t g a g e  l i c e n s e s . 
C o n g r a t u l a t i o n s  t o 
those of you who have 
successfully completed 
all  mortgage l icense 
renewal requirements!

The licenses of Utah 
mortgage loan originators 

who failed to submit a license renewal request to the 
NMLS, and of MLOs who submitted a renewal request 
but failed to meet all license renewal requirements, will 
expire on December 31, 2010.  All activities for which a 
mortgage license is required must immediately cease until 
such time as these individuals become actively licensed.

Transitioned licensees whose licenses expire on 
December 31, 2010 will, however, have until February 
28, 2011 to complete all their licensing renewal 
requirements and submit a (reinstatement) renewal 
request to the NMLS.  After the reinstatement period 
(January 1 – February 28, 2011) ends, individuals still 
desiring a license will need to reapply as new applicants.

Similarly, mortgage licensees who failed to transition 
their licenses into the NMLS will expire on 
December 31 with no opportunity to reinstate. 
These individuals will have to reapply as new 
applicants.  Please refer to the Newsletter article 
(page 15) included in the third quarter Division 
newsletter which explains this procedure http://www.
realestate.utah.gov/newsletters/newsletter_q3-2010.pdf 

Renewal Registration 
Deadline Passes

For “Group A” Trainees
Four hundred ninety-eight appraiser trainees were 
required to renew their registrations by the December 31, 
2010 deadline. As of the date this article was prepared, 
only ten of these “Group A” trainees completed the 
required re-registration. The 180 trainees who allowed 
their registrations to expire are now prohibited from 
performing appraiser assistance that requires registration 
with the Division. In addition, no experience hours 
completed by a trainee during a time when the trainee's 
registration is expired will be counted toward licensure.

Supervising appraisers should confirm that all trainees 
they are supervising are appropriately registered. 
Allowing unregistered individuals to render appraisal 
functions that for which trainee registration is required 
could result in disciplinary action for both the 
unregistered trainee and the supervising certified appraiser.

t

t

Mortgage licensees who met 
the renewal requirements and 

submitted their renewal request 
through NMLS on or before 

December 31, 2010, before 10:00 
p.m. (MST) will have no status 
change on their license going 
into the new year.  Only those 
who have not met the licensing 

requirements will then be expired 
and need to meet the requirements 

during the reinstatment period.

continued from page 1

http://www.realestate.utah.gov/newsletters/newsletter_q3-2010.pdf
http://www.realestate.utah.gov/newsletters/newsletter_q3-2010.pdf
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It is obvious that the scammers are very active 
right now. They have 
many ways to take 
advantage of desperate 
a n d  d i s t r e s s e d 
homeowners in today's 
real estate market. One 
of the best things a 
homeowner can do to 
protect him or herself 
from these scammers 
is to work with a licensed professional. Mortgage 
and real estate licensees are trained in how to 
help homeowners who face these very problems.

Here is a list of simple things homeowners can do to 
protect themselves:

Make sure that the loan modification company is                        •	
licensed with the Division of Real Estate.  

 D o  n o t  w o r k  w i t h  a n y  i n d i v i d u -
  a l  or  company tha t  i s  not  l icnesed.

Talk to your lender or servicer directly.  Let •	
your lender know your problems, and dis-
cuss ways you might resolve the issues
Never make your mortgage payment to a third party.•	
Do not pay an up-front fee. Do not pay any •	
fees until you receive a written offer from your 
lender or servicer for modified loan terms.
Do not stop making your mortgage payments.  •	
Doing so will put you closer to foreclosure.
Do not sign a quit claim deed to another property.•	
Do not sign any documents in blank.  •	
Make sure your read what  you sign.
If you think you are being scammed, file a •	
complaint with the Division of Real Estate.

For a complete list of loan modification 
Do’s  and Don’ts ,  go  to  the  Div i s ion 
o f  R e a l  E s t a t e  w e b s i t e  m a i n  p a g e .  

LOAN 
MODIFICATION 

SCAMS

•	 Change your company affiliation (which requires 	
	 on-line approval/acknowledgement from the 		
	 effected Principal Broker(s))
•	 Manage your company roster (for Brokers)
•	 Order a duplicate license
•	 Easily view completed continuing education courses 
	 at any point in time 
	 since you last renewed your license
•	 View and order a license history
•	 Renew your license

Our licensees have now had three years to acquaint 
themselves with the uses and convenience of RELMS.  
Beginning January 1, 2011, real estate and appraiser 
licensees (excluding appraiser trainees) desiring 
to make the changes listed above, will exclusively 
perform them on the on-line RELMS system.  

The Division will no longer accept change cards 
or license renewal forms (with very limited 
exceptions) at the Division.  Only individuals who 
are REQUIRED BY THE DIVISION to provide 
additional information due to disclosure questions, or 
who may have a restriction placed on their licenses, 
will be required to submit paper forms for processing.

Faxing, mailing, e-mailing or hand delivery of renewal forms 
or change cards will no longer be accepted for processing 
by the Division (other than from those individuals who have 
been PREVENTED BY THE DIVISION from completing 
their license renewal or make changes on RELMS). 

By requiring electronic changes and license renewal, the 
Division can focus its efforts on utilizing its resources 
in a more meaningful and cost effective manner.  

-REMINDER-
Paper Change Cards & 
License Renewal Forms 

No Longer Accepted

t

continued from page 3 
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RULE CHANGES 
SINCE SEPTEMBER 31, 2010

APPRAISAL

O n  O c t o b e r  9 ,  2 0 1 0 ,  t h e  f o l l o w i n g 
ru le  amendments  were  made  e ffec t ive :

	 •	 R162-101: the term "affiliation" is defined.
	 •	 R162-102: applicants for licensure or 
	 	 certification must inform the Division if they 
		  are affiliated with another appraiser, an 
		  appraisal entity, or a government agency. In 
		  addition, these individuals must submit a 
		  c h a n g e  f o r m  t o  t h e  d i v i s i o n 
		  whenever they change an affiliation.
	 •	 R162-110: applicants for trainee registration 
		  must  inform the Divis ion of  their 
		  affiliation and	 s u b m i t  c h a n g e  c a r d s 
		  whenever those aff i l iat ions change.

APPRAISAL MANAGEMENT

On November 10, 2010, R162-2e was made effective. 
This new rule incorporates the substantive provisions 
of rule R162-150, but reorganizes the provisions into a 
format that reflects the organization of the AMC statute. 
In addition, several new provisions are in place as follows:

	 •	 An AMC must register in the name 
		  of the legal entity under which it conducts 
		  business and inform the Division of 
		  a n y  d b a s  o r  t r a d e  n a m e s  b e i n g 
		  used. 	 But  an AMC is  not  required 
		  to register each dba or trade name separately.
	 •	 An AMC must have a system in place to 
		  verify that each appraiser added to the 
	 	 panel is licensed or certified and that any appraiser 
		  contracted to provide an appraisal service 
		  r e m a i n s  l i c e n s e d  o r  c e r t i f i e d 
		  in good standing. The proposed rule 
		  does not mandate how this system must operate.

	 •	 An AMC must have a system in place to 
		  verify that an assignment is completed by the 
		  appraiser or appraisal entity to which it is assigned.
	 •	 An AMC must have a system in place to 
		  ensure than an assignment offer includes 
	 	 information sufficient to allow the appraiser 
		  to determine whether he or she can competently 
		  complete the assignment. This information 
		  includes property identification, assignment 
		  conditions, and scope of work requirements.
	 •	 To register, an AMC must have a system in place to 
		  track the client on each assignment, as well 
		  as the appraiser or appraisal entity that 
		  accepts each assignment, and it must provide 
		  certain information about the format in 
		  which records 	are kept, how electronic records are 
		  backedup,where the records are kept, and the 	
		  name of the records custodian.

The Appraiser Board is at work drafting a few 
minor amendments to address concerns that 
were raised during the public comment period.

MORTGAGE

On October 9, 2010, an amendment to Subsection R162-
2c-204 was made effective. This amendment provides 
that a mortgage loan originator who, within the 2010 
calendar year, completes all requirements to obtain a PLM 
or ALM license may request renewal at the end of this 
year without completing additional continuing education.

On November 22, 2010, an amendment to Subsection 
R162-2c-202 was made effective. This amendment outlines 
the factors that the Division will consider in evaluating 
the financial responsibility of an applicant for licensure.

	 •	 R162-2c-201: A licensee who allows the 	
		  license to expire and thereafter applies for 
		  a new license will not be required to re-
		  take the 20-hour national prelicensing course, 
		  but will be required to complete certain
 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-101.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-102.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-110.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-02e.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-02c.htm#T6
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-02c.htm#T6
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-02c.htm#T4
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		  continuing education. All individual applying 
		  for licensure shall complete, sign, and submit to 
	 	 the Division a social security verification form. 
		  Mortgage entities are prohibited from 
		  operating under a business name that 
		  closely resembles the name of another licensed 
		  entity or that is otherwise confusing or misleading.
	 •	 R162-2c-203: An individual whose license 
		  expires on December 31, 2010 will have the 
		  option of completing Division-approved 
		  continuing education courses in order to
 		  reinstate the license by the February 28, 2010 
		  d e a d l i n e ,  a c c o r d i n g  t o  c e r t a i n 
		  restrictions imposed by the nationwide database.
	 •	 R162-2c-204: An individual who completed 
		  prelicensing education and obtains the 
		  associated license within a calendar year is not 
		  required to complete additional continuing 
		  e d u c a t i o n  t o  r e n e w  t h e 
		  l icense in the same calendar year.

REAL ESTATE

On December 22, 2010, a new rule, R162-2f, was made 
effective, and rules R162-1 through 11 were repealed. 
The new section 2f reorganizes and renumbers the old 
rules into a statutory format that should be much easier 
to use. To view the full text of the rule, click here.

TIMESHARE

On November 8, 2010, rule R162-57a was made 
effective. This new rule provides definitions and 
codifies the Division's policies governing the 
r eg i s t r a t i on  o f  t imesha re  p ro j ec t s  and 
salespersons, advertising of interests, required 
disclosures ,  and unprofess ional  conduct .

Stuart Engerman was born 
and raised in Madison WI.  
He attended the University 
of Wisconsin – Madison and 
graduated in 1975 with Bachelor 
of Arts degrees in Criminal 
Justice and Anthropology.  In 

1975 Mr. Engerman moved to Seattle WA and worked in 
that area as an Adult Probation/Parole officer until 1978.  He 
returned to Madison and was employed as an Investigator 
with the Wisconsin Department of Regulation Licensing 
from 1978 through 1987.  From 1987 through 2003 he 
continued to work for the Department as Investigative 
Staff Supervisor with direct responsibility for managing 26 
Investigators and Inspectors.  He also served as an Advisor 
to the State Controlled Substances Board and the Medical 
Examining Board.  He was a member of the Governor’s 
Committee on Medical Malpractice and Chair of the 
National Subcommittee on Discipline of the national Council 
on Licensing Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR).

In 2004 Mr. Engerman started his own private detective 
company in Madison, 20/20 Investigations.  At that 
time he also began working as the Chief Investigator 
for Martin Security and Investigations in Madison.  In 
February 2008 he relocated to Salt Lake City, where he 
began working as a Fraud Investigator for the Department 
of Commerce, Division of Consumer Protection.  In 
August 2010 he transferred to a similar position in 
the Division of Real Estate, where he is assigned to 
investigate complaints concerning mortgage licensees.

Mr. Engerman enjoys reading, hiking, photography and 
travel.  He has 2 sons: Michael, a recent graduate of 
the University of Wisconsin College of Engineering, 
and Stephen, a Junior at the University of Wisconsin.

Stuart Engerman
Mortgage 

Investigator

http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/realestate-rules.pdf
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r162/r162-57a.htm
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Please note that there are 30 days 
after the order date for a licensee or an 
applicant to file a request for agency 
review of the order, and that there 
are 30 days after the issuance of an 
order on review for a licensee or an 
applicant to file a petition for judicial 

review.  Some of the orders listed may be within those 
appeal periods.

Fourth Quarter 2010

Licensing Actions 
&

 Disciplinary Sanctions

					   
continued on page 11continued on page 15

No one wants their personal information made 
available for illegal purposes.  In Utah, the Protection 
of Personal Information Act exists to help protect 
consumers’ information from misuse.  This statute 
(Utah Code Ann. §13-44-101 et. seq.) applies to any 
person who conducts business and maintains the 
personal information of a consumer.  The scope of the 
Act includes every person licensed with the Division.

If you collect consumers’ personal information, you must 
implement and maintain procedures to prevent the unlawful 
use or disclosure of that information.  When you no longer 
need the information, you must destroy it by shredding 
or erasing it or making it otherwise indecipherable. 

Personal information is defined as a person’s first 
name or first initial and last name, combined with a: 
1) social security number, 2) driver license number, 3) 
state identification card number, 3) financial account 
number, 4) credit card number, or 5) debit card number.

If you keep personal information in a computerized 
format and your system security is breached, you must 
give each affected person notice of the breach.  The 
notice requirement is triggered when there is a reasonable 
likelihood that the personal information will be or has 
been used for identity theft or for a fraudulent purpose.

LEGAL CORNER

PROTECTION OF 
PERSONAL INFORMATION

KILPATRICK, JOHN A., Certified General Appraiser 
applicant, Seattle, WA. In a November 15, 2010 
order, resolution of application delayed until a final 
determination is made by the Washington Department 
of Licensing as to a complaint filed in that jurisdiction 
against Mr. Kilpatrick. The complaint alleges that Mr. 
Kilpatrick completed an appraisal report in which he 
failed to support his opinions, overstated the contributory 
value of land, and failed to report comparable sales. 
The Division is authorized to issue Mr. Kilpatrick a 
six-month temporary permit while the Washington 
investigation is resolved. Case number AP-10-52423.

THOMPSON, BRAD, Certified General Appraiser 
applicant, Salem, OR. In a September 24, 2010 
order, resolution of application delayed until Mr. 
Thompson resolves an investigation by the Oregon 
Appraiser Board into allegations that his appraisal 
of certain vacant land contains multiple violation 
of USPAP, as well as violations of the Oregon 
statutes and rules governing the appraisal industry. 
The Division is authorized to issue Mr. Thompson 
a six-month temporary permit while the Oregon 
investigation is resolved. Case number AP-10-51743.
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Kagie's Korner
Are you creating an advertisement 

violation when you place an ad?
In the past few months 
the Division of Real 
Estate has seen a 
sharp increase in the 
number of complaints 
that revolve around 
advertisements run in 
various advertising 
media by real estate 
agents. Administrative 
r u l e  R 1 6 2 - 2 f -
401h (1 )  r equ i r e s 

use of the brokerage name in all advertising 
materials, including newspaper, magazine, Internet, 
e-mail, radio, television advertising, direct mail 
promotions, business cards, door hangers, and signs. 

May times agents feel that their advertisements do 
contain the required brokerage information when, 
in fact, this essential information is left out of the 
advertisement for different reasons. Here are the most 
common explanations the Division has heard for 
the omission of the required brokerage information.

Mr. Forgetful, in using an online classified provider, 
fails to click a box indicating he is an agent. He then 
types in the body of the ad without realizing that 
he neglected to include his brokerage information. 
He then clicks to post the ad. Presto! A blind ad is 
created and instantly published. Mr. Forgetful goes 
on about his business, never taking a look at the 
advertisement and never proofing the final product.

Mr. Busy calls his office staff and tells them to 
quickly run an advertisement in a local magazine. The 
deadline for the ad is in one hour. The agent never 
sees or proofs the advertisement, and the personal 
assistant who prepared the ad is in a hurry to get 
the ad to the publisher in order to beat the deadline.  

The brokerage information did not make it into the 
finalized ad copy.  A blind ad is created and published.

Mr. Seller, who is also a sales agent, lists his home with 
his brokerage (and subsequently places the listing into the 
MLS). He then places a “For Sale by Owner Agent” sign on 
the property. The placement of this sign on a listed property 
violates Division advertising rules and a blind ad is created. 
Any agent who owns property and lists it on the MLS has to 
advertise the property through the brokerage. If an owner/
agent does not list the property, the owner/agent is required 
to have the term Owner Agent/Broker on all advertisements.

Mr. Goodsight has a website in which he has his team 
name on the top of the website. The font size of the text is 
twenty-point, while  at the bottom of the page the font size 
of the brokerage is three-point. Mr. Goodsight has violated 
the advertising rule that requires that the name of the 
brokerage be at least one half the font of the advertisement. 
This constitutes a violation of Division advertising rules.

The best way to make sure an advertisement does not 
violate the rules is to PROOF, PROOF, and PROOF the 
advertisement. The Division is taking this time to inform 
all real estate agents to go over advertising rule R162-2f-
401(h) to make sure that all ads comply with the rules. 
Individuals whose advertisements violate the rules may 
face disciplinary action on their licenses. Most violations 
occur because licensees fail to proof their advertisements.

http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/realestate-rules.pdf
http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/realestate-rules.pdf
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Mortgage Loan Entity Quarterly 
Call Reporting Requirement

The SAFE Act mandates the submission of a 
report of condition of licensees. The new NMLS 
mortgage call report (MCR) is designed and 
intended to fulfill that requirement. The SAFE 
Act states that the report shall be in such form and 
contain such information as the NMLS may require.

All states are required to ensure that the origination 
activities of all mortgage loan originators are 
reflected in MCRs submitted to the NMLS.  

All mortgage entities (including DBAs and mortgage 
branches) shall submit on behalf of all mortgage 
loan originators an MCR on a quarterly basis 
beginning the first quarter of 2011, for 2011 mortgage 
loans. This report shall reflect all loan origination 
activity of a company’s mortgage loan originators. 
Mortgage entities must complete the financial 
condition section of the MCR on an annual basis.

In addition, mortgage entities that are Fannie Mae, Freddie 
Mac, or Ginnie Mae approved servicer/sellers must 
complete an expanded mortgage call report quarterly. 
The NMLS expanded mortgage call report primarily 
consists of information collected on the mortgage 
bankers’ financial reporting form (MBFRF). Mortgage 
entities that complete the NMLS expanded mortgage call 
report are not required to submit the financial condition 
section of the NMLS standard mortgage call report.

The activity information submitted on the MCR must 
reflect the complete residential mortgage activity of the 
mortgage entity by state. The MCR is required to include 
all data for all loan originators affiliated with the entity.

Terms and instructions used in the NMLS MCR are also 
used in HMDA or MBFRF reporting and will utilize 
the same definitions to the greatest extent possible.  

NMLS MCR information is to be reflective of the quarter 
specified in the report and is not cumulative. The report 
is due to NMLS within 45 days of the end of the quarter.

The financial condition report of the standard 
MCR i s  due  t o  NMLS annua l l y  w i th in 
90 days from an enti ty’s  f iscal  year  end.

In subsequent newsletters, the Utah DRE will provide 
additional information on MCRs as it becomes available.  

Credit Report 
Evaluation of Mortgage 

Loan Originators
The SAFE Act requires mortgage loan originators 
to meet certain financial responsibility standards. 
This legislation specifies that “…the applicant [must 
demonstrate] financial responsibility, character and 
general fitness such as to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a determination that the loan 
originator will operate honestly, fairly and efficiently”.  

The Utah DRE has an administrative rule that 
further  defines the f inancial  responsibi l i ty 
s t andards  fo r  mor tgage  loan  o r ig ina to r s :

 R162-2c-202 (3) Financial responsibility. Individual 
applicants shall evidence financial responsibility. To evaluate 
an applicant for financial responsibility, the division shall:

(a)	 access the credit information available through the 
NMLS of:
	 (i)	   an applicant for initial licensure, beginning 		
		    October 18, 2010;   and
	 (ii)	  a licensee who requests renewal during the 
		    2010 renewal period, unless the licensee's 		
	         credit report was reviewed in issuing the 
		    initial license;   and
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(b)	give particular consideration to:
	 (i)	   outstanding civil judgments;
	 (ii)	  outstanding tax liens;
	 (iii)  foreclosures;
	 (iv)	  multiple social security numbers attached to 
		    the individual's name;
	 (v) 	  child support arrearages; and
	 (vi)	  bankruptcies.

The SAFE Act requires that credit reports for loan 
originators be "pulled." The Utah DRE will be 
looking only at flagged information contained within 
the credit report consistent with requirements of the 
SAFE Act and the administrative rule stated above.

The Division will be judiciously 
evaluating credit information 
and will make licensing 
decisions based upon the 
totality of an MLO’s overall 
financial responsibility rather 
than merely looking to see if 
any such deficiencies appear 
in  the  repor t . 

t

For best practices, the Division recommends that you:
-	 know what personal information you have; 
-	 keep only what you need;
-	 properly dispose of information you do not need; 
-	 secure the information you keep; and 
-	 have a written plan you follow for handling 
	 personal information.

Disclaimer: the Utah Division of Real Estate has provided 
articles in this electronic newsletter (“e-newsletter”) for 
general informational purposes only. It is not intended 
as professional advice or legal counsel and should not be 
used as such. You should contact your attorney to obtain 
advice with respect to any particular issue or problem.

LEGAL CORNER 
PROTECTION OF 

PERSONAL INFORMATION

continued from page 8

The last time you visited the Division’s website, you were probably surprised to see some interesting 
changes. In an attempt to make the website more user friendly, the Division evaluated phone calls 
coming into our office to determine what questions licensees and the general public often ask.  

The revisions to our site include notices of upcoming events on the main menu. Specific licensing types now feature 
color-coded boxes with commonly sought information to allow easy use. The real estate license management system 
(RELMS) and CE search engine buttons are both prominently displayed on the real estate, mortgage and appraisal pages.

Check out the recent revisions to the website at http://realestate.utah.gov/.  Suggestions 
o r  commen t s  r ega rd ing  ou r  webs i t e  shou ld  be  e -ma i l ed  t o  r ea l e s t a t e@utah .gov

Division Website Revamped

http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/index.html
http://realestate@utah.gov
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QUIZ YOURSELF
What is a Branch?
All right, smarty pants. 

Let's see if you can answer the following questions correctly. 
				          The answers are on the next page.

1.	 Your entity leases an entire floor in an office building. A few licensees propose 
to use a couple of empty rooms to run an operation specializing in foreclosure 
rescue (loan modification or short sale). They will operate under a different 
name from the entity. Do you need to obtain a license for a branch office?

2.	 Same scenario as above, except that the licensees want to operate under the 
same name as the entity. Do you need to obtain a license for a branch office?

3.	 Your entity leases a storage facility where closed files are secured for 
the retention period mandated by statute. Because business is booming, you decide to bring on two or three 
new licensees and have them work temporarily from the storage facility—just until you can rearrange your 
offices to squeeze in a few more cubicles. Do you need to license the storage facility as a branch office?

4.	 You've outgrown your current office space, and you learn that a small office just across the street is 
available for lease. You want to have a couple of licensees work there under the same name as the entity. 
They'll have computers and telephones there, but they will need to come back to the main office and 
use the conference room to meet with clients. Do you need to license the new space as a branch office?

5.	 A client whose transaction closed a few years ago calls to request a copy of some documents from the file. You offer to 
take them to his home. While you are there, he asks you to represent him in a new transaction. You agree, and give him some 
paperwork, which he signs on the spot. Could you be disciplined for conducting business from an unlicensed location?

6.	 You decide to focus some marketing efforts in a somewhat distant, remote county. You bring on some licensees 
who live in the area, and who are willing to go to people's homes to drop off and pick up paperwork, and even to 
conduct closings. You own a condo there, which you use for an occasional vacation, and there is an empty room 
where you could store closed files and install a copy machine and scanner for these licensees to use as needed. You 
would prefer not to go to the expense and trouble of leasing an office and licensing it as a branch. Is this admissible?

7.	 You enter  into  an agreement  with  a  developer  to  ass ign one of  your  l icensees 
to work from an office located within the development and answer any questions that people 
might have after they tour the model homes. Does this office need to be licensed as a branch?
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Answers:
1.	 This is a trick question. Technically, the answer is no. Because this operation does not have 
a separate address, it is not a branch office. However, it is a dba. In mortgage, a dba must be 
registered in the NMLS as another trade name. In real estate, each dba must have a separate license.

2.	 No. It's the same street address and the same name. No need for a branch office license in this case.

3.	 No, at least as long as the licensees working from the storage facility don't print that address on their 
business cards or receive mail or meet clients there. However, the moment you advertise
tha t  you  a re  conduc t ing  bus iness  f rom tha t  address—or  the  moment  a  l i censee 
has  a  c l ient  go to  that  address  for  a  meet ing—you need a  branch off ice  l icense.

4.	 W h e r e  t h e s e  l i c e n s e e s  w i l l  b e  w o r k i n g  a t  t h e  s a t e l l i t e  l o c a t i o n  l o n g - t e r m , 
you need to get a branch office license. The reality is that you are conducting business at that 
location, and the rules require you to license any location from which you conduct business.

5.	 No.  You can  go  to  your  c l ien ts  to  drop  off  or  p ick  up  documents ,  o r  even 
to get signatures, without violating any rules. However, when you have your clients come to 
you, the location where you meet needs to be properly licensed or registered with the DRE.

6.	 No. The address from which these licensees conduct business must be licensed. If 
they are working from your vacation home, you need to license it as a branch office.

7.	 The answer to this question depends on which industry you are in. If you are a principal lending manager 
(mortgage), the answer is yes. Get a branch office license. If you are a principal broker (real estate), the 
answer is no—at least for a while. You can operate from the model home for up to one year; thereafter, 
you need a license for that location.

t
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continued from page 8

Fourth Quarter 2010

Licensing Actions 
&

 Disciplinary Sanctions

Please note that there are 30 days after 
the order date for a licensee or an ap-
plicant to file a request for agency review 
of the order, and that there are 30 days 
after the issuance of an order on review 

for a licensee or an applicant to file a petition for judicial 
review.  Some of the orders listed may be within those 
appeal periods.

MORTGAGE
AMERICAN CIB, L.L.C (aka American Credit 
Information Bureau and American Consumer 
Information Bureau), unlicensed entity, Bountiful, 
UT. On November 16, 2010, cease and desist order 
issued on information and belief that the entity is 
transacting the business of residential mortgage loans 
in Utah without a license and in violation of Utah 
Code. § 61-2c-201 et seq. Case number MG-10-52427. 

BROWN, TERRY WAYNE, Associate Lending 
Manager license, Woodland Hills, UT. In a September 
1, 2010 stipulation and order, license revoked. Mr. 
Brown used his associate lending manager license 
as an introductory vehicle to have a homeowner 
invest money with him. These actions led to Mr. 
Brown being prosecuted and pleading guilty to two 
charges of securities fraud, both third degree felonies, 
which disqualifies him for licensure pursuant to Utah 
Code § 61-2c-203(1). Case number MG-09-44491

CONTRERAS, MARIA G., Mortgage Loan Originator 
license, Draper, UT. In an October 6, 2010 stipulation 
and order, Ms. Contreras agreed to pay a civil penalty 
of $500. In violation of Utah Code § 61-2c-201, Ms. 
Contreras allowed her license to expire, but thereafter 
prepared a loan approval letter in which she identified 
herself as a loan officer. Case number MG-10-51471.

FORTIFIED FINANCIAL, L.L.C., Mortgage Entity 
license, Lehi, UT. On November 16, 2010, cease and 
desist order issued on information and belief that the entity 
failed to properly maintain and protect mortgage records 
containing sensitive personal information, in violation of 
Utah Code § 61-2c-302(2) and Utah Administrative Code 
§ R162-2c-301(3)(a)(ii). Case number MG-10-48919.

HOPKINS, TRACY MARK, Mortgage Loan Originator 
license, Mayfield, UT. In a September 13, 2010 order 
following a disciplinary hearing before the Commission, 
license revoked on a finding that Mr. Hopkins had an 
ownership interest in Elkridge Financial, a mortgage 
company that advertised mortgage services after its 
license was inactivated and, more significantly, lost 
possession of records containing clients' sensitive 
personal and financial information, such that the 
records would have been sold at public auction had the 
Division not seized them. Case number MG-10-47098.

KLINELL, DREW J., unlicensed individual, Riverton, 
UT. In a November 3, 2010 stipulation and order, Mr. 
Klinell agreed to pay a civil penalty of $1,500. In violation 
of Utah Code § 61-2c-201, Mr. Klinell took an up-front 
fee and originated a loan modification without being 
licensed with the Division. Case number MG-10-49634.

LEBLANC, DARON WILSON, Mortgage Loan 
Originator applicant, Orem, UT. In a November 8, 
2010 order following an application hearing before 
the Commission, license granted on probation due 
to a conviction (October 5, 2007) on two counts of 
misdemeanor securities fraud. Case number MG-10-51828.

MCCLURE, DONALD, Mortgage Loan Originator 
applicant, Orem, UT. In a November 8, 2010 order 
following an application hearing before the Commission, 
license granted on probation and with the restriction 
that, during the initial licensing period, Mr. McClure 
shall keep a log of all loans closed during the term of 
his probationary license. He shall appear before the 
Commission and present his log for review in order to 
renew his license. This action taken on consideration 
of Mr. McClure's having been terminated, on July 14, 
2010, from employment as a mortgage loan originator 
with Bank of America due to circumstances involving 
alleged violations of the code of ethics applicable to 
the bank's loan officers. Case number MG-10-51902.
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WELKER, MICHAEL J., Mortgage Education 
Instructor and Provider, Midvale, UT. In an October 
6, 2010 stipulation and order, Mr. Welker agreed to 
pay a $2,000 civil penalty and to have his instructor 
and provider certifications placed on probation for 
one year. In violation of Division policy (see Utah 
Administrative Code § R162-2c-301(5) and (6)), Mr. 
Welker taught four continuing education courses that 
had previously expired. Case number MG-10-51265.

WRIGHT & MORRISON, ATTORNEYS AT LAW, 
unlicensed individuals, Ogden, UT. On October 27, 
2010, following an appeal hearing before the Department 
of Commerce administrative law judge, the Division's 
May 12, 2010 cease and desist order made permanent 
on a finding that Mr. Wright and Mr. Morrison 
have solicited and originated loan modifications 
without being licensed and without qualifying for an 
exemption from licensure. Case number MG 49740.

REAL ESTATE

ALLRED, ADAM L., Sales Agent applicant, Salt Lake 
City, UT. In a September 14, 2010 order following 
an application hearing before the Commission, 
license granted on probation due to criminal incidents 
in 2006 and 2010 involving possession/use of a 
controlled substance. Case number RE-10-51053.

BOOTH, STANLEY H., Sales Agent license, Layton, 
UT. In an October 20, 2010 stipulation and order, 
Mr. Booth agreed to pay a $1,500 civil penalty and 
to take a continuing education course on Utah law. 
In violation of Utah Code § 61-2f-201(1), Mr. Booth 
completed at least one transaction after allowing 
his license to expire. Case number RE-10-51372.

BOWEN, STEPHEN, Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Park City, UT. In a November 9, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation for one year from the date of 
the order due to Mr. Bowen's having entered into 
a plea in abeyance (April 8, 2010) on a charge of 
contributing to the delinquency of minors, and 
compounded by his failure to report his plea in 

abeyance to the Division within ten business days 
as required by statute. Case number RE-10-52390.

BRADSHAW, WENDY J., Sales Agent applicant, Salt 
Lake City, UT. In a September 20, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation due to a conviction (June 10, 2010) 
on charges of driving under the influence and open 
container/alcohol in vehicle. Case number RE-10-51657.

BRANSCOMBE, GARY, Sales Agent reinstatement 
applicant, Murray, UT. In an October 18, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation for one year from the date of the 
order due to a conviction (December 4, 2008) for impaired 
driving, and compounded by Mr. Branscombe's failure to 
report his conviction to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-52072.

BROWN, BEN, Sales Agent renewal applicant, Salt 
Lake City, UT. In a September 30, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation due to a conviction (September 7, 
2010) for impaired driving, and a conviction (November 
3, 2008) on charges of equipment obstruct visibility and 
failure to appear on citation. In addition, Mr. Brown 
failed to disclose his November 3, 2008 conviction in 
response to the licensing questionnaire, and he also 
failed to report it to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51854.

CAMPOS, SAMUEL, Sales Agent applicant, West Jordan, 
UT. In a September 29, 2010 order, license granted on 
probation due Mr. Campos's being delinquent in child 
support and tax obligations. Case number RE-10-51831.

CARTWRIGHT, BRET R., Sales Agent license, Draper, 
UT. In an October 26, 2010 order following a disciplinary 
hearing before the Commission, Mr. Cartwright's license 
placed on probation for a period of two years from the date 
of the order, and Mr. Cartwright assessed a civil penalty of 
$1,000 and ordered to complete three hours of continuing 
education in ethics and professionalism. These sanctions 
imposed on a finding that Mr. Cartwright knowingly 
participated in a transaction where a fraudulent, inflated 
invoice was used, which actions violate Utah Administrative 
Code § R162-6.1.1 and Utah Code § 61-2-11(8) (2004), 
now recodified as § 61-2f-401(6). Case number RE-27546.

continued from page 15
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CHRISTIANSEN, CHRISTOPHER, Sales Agent 
applicant, Kearns, UT. In a November 2, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation for the initial licensing period due 
to a conviction (February 10, 2009) for possession of less 
than one ounce of marijuana. Case number RE-10-52300.

ELLISON, MONTY D., Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Layton, UT. In a September 14, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation for one year due to Mr. Ellison's 
being convicted on charges of criminal mischief – human 
health or safety and disorderly conduct after request 
to stop, and compounded by his failure to report his 
conviction to the Division within ten business days 
as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51561.

EMIG, CHARLIE R., Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Alpine, UT. In an October 27, 2010 order, license granted 
on probation for one year from the date of the order due 
to Mr. Emig's having entered into a plea in abeyance 
(December 28, 2009) on a charge of assault domestic 
violence, and compounded by his failure to report his 
plea in abeyance to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-52224.

FULTON, ROBERT C., Sales Agent applicant, 
Cedar City, UT. In an October 26, 2010 order, license 
granted on probation until such time as Mr. Fulton 
provides the Division with evidence that he has 
satisfied his court-ordered financial obligations to his 
children and his ex-wife. Case number RE-10-52207.

GLAUSER, MARC O., Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Salt Lake City, UT. In a September 30, 2010 order, 
license granted on probation for one year from the date 
of the order due to Mr. Glauser's having pleaded guilty 
during the past term of licensure to an amended charge of 
driving while impaired, and compounded by his failure 
to report his plea to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51860.

HARDY, KENNY A., Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Laramie, WY. In a September 20, 2010 order following 
an application hearing before the Commission, license 
granted on inactive probationary status due to Mr. 

Hardy's having previously surrendered an appraiser 
license while under investigation by the Division. In 
order to activate or renew his license, Mr. Hardy must 
provide the Division with proof that he has completed 
three hours of continuing education in subjects 
related to loan fraud. Case number RE-10-51044.

HOLBROOK, TYSON K., Principal Broker reinstatement 
applicant, Sandy, UT. In a September 23, 2010 order 
following an application hearing before the Commission, 
license denied on a finding that Mr. Holbrook engaged in 
unlicensed activity, conducted his business activities in 
such a manner as to incur a $72,751.33 debt that he was 
unable to satisfy, and set up a straw buyer scheme for the 
acquisition of real property. Case number RE-10-50840.

IORG, VALERIE, Sales Agent license, Salt Lake City, 
UT. In a November 17, 2010 stipulation and order, Ms. 
Iorg agreed to pay a $500 civil penalty and to take a 
two-hour continuing education class on Utah law. In 
violation of Utah Code § 61-2f-401(11), Ms. Iorg placed an 
advertisement without including her brokerage information 
in the text of the posting. Case number RE-10-51838.

JENSEN, CHRISTIAN C., Branch Broker license, South 
Ogden, UT. In an October 20, 2010 stipulation and order, 
Mr. Jensen agreed to pay a $1,500 civil penalty and 
to take a two-hour continuing education course on the 
Real Estate Licensing Management System (RELMS). 
In violation of Utah Code &sect; 61-2f-401(12), Mr. 
Jensen failed to adequately supervise an affiliated sales 
agent who closed at least one transaction after the 
agent's license expired. Case number RE-10-51361.
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KIAH, ROBERT M., Principal Broker reinstatement 
applicant, Boise, ID. In a September 13, 2010 order, 
license granted on probation for one year from the date of 
the order due to Mr. Kiah's entering into a plea agreement 
on a DUI charge, and compounded by his failure to report 
his plea agreement to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51558.

METHNER, ALISA, Sales Agent license, Salt Lake 
City, UT. In a September 15, 2010 stipulation and order, 
Ms. Methner agreed to pay a civil penalty of $500, to 
successfully complete a Division-approved continuing 
education course in Utah law, and to cooperate with 
the Division in other investigations arising out of the 
incidents on which the stipulation is based. In violation 
of Utah Code § 61-2f-305(1), Ms. Methner accepted a 
servicing fee tendered directly from a lender through a 
title company, rather than ensuring that the fee was paid 
through her principal broker. Case number RE-09-47603.

MICHEL, NATHAN, Sales Agent license, Sandy, 
UT. In a November 17, 2010 stipulation and order, 
Mr. Michel agreed to pay a $500 civil penalty and 
to take a two-hour continuing education course 
on Utah law. In violation of Utah Code § 61-2f-
401(11)</a>, Mr. Michel placed an advertisement 
without including his brokerage information in the 
text of the posting. Case number RE-10-51845.

MILLER, BRONSON M., Sales Agent reinstatement 
applicant, Salt Lake City, UT. In a September 14, 
2010 order, license granted on probation due to Mr. 
Bronson's being charged with seven misdemeanor 
offenses yet to be resolved in court, including failure 
to stop at command of law, propelling substance/object 
at officer, possession or use of controlled substance, 
interfering with legal arrest, and driving under the 
influence of alcohol/drugs. Case number RE-10-51564.

OLPIN, CHRISTOPHER N., Sales Agent renewal 
applicant, Midvale, UT. In a September 30, 2010 
order, license granted on probation for one year from 
the date of the order due to a conviction (March 18, 
2009) for driving under the influence of alcohol/

drugs, and compounded Mr. Olpin's failure to report 
his conviction to the Division within ten business days 
as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51859.

POPE, JAMES RILEY, Sales Agent renewal applicant, 
Colony, TX. In an October 4, 2010 order, license granted on 
probation due to a misdemeanor conviction (June 3, 2010) 
for theft under $50, and compounded by Mr. Pope's failure 
to report his conviction to the Division within ten business 
days as required by statute. Case number RE-10-51861.

REARY, AARON J., Sales Agent license, Lapoint, UT. In a 
November 17, 2010 stipulation and order, Mr. Reary agreed 
to pay a $4,000 civil penalty. In violation of Utah Code § 
61-2f-201(1), Mr. Reary completed four transactions after 
allowing his license to expire. Case number RE-10-51911.

RICHARDS, JOHN D., Education Instructor and Provider, 
Salt Lake City, UT. In an October 20, 2010 stipulation and 
order, Mr. Richards agreed to pay a $4,500 civil penalty, 
to have his instructor certification placed on probation 
status for one year, and to attend the Division's 2010 
Instructor Development Workshop. In violation of Utah 
Code § 61-2-11(2007), now recodified as Utah Code § 
61-2f-401(13), Mr. Richards taught an expired continuing 
education course to nine individuals and attempted to give 
them credit for the course. Case number RE-10-50915.

SCOTHERN, JENNIFER, Sales Agent renewal 
applicant, Ogden, UT. In a November 1, 2010 order, 
license granted on probation until such time as Ms. 
Scothern completes her term of criminal probation. 
Ms. Scothern pleaded guilty (March 15, 2010) to a 
charge of impaired driving. Case number RE-10-52259.

SMITH, KRISTIE L., Sales Agent applicant, Sandy, 
UT. In an October 27, 2010 order, license granted on 
probation due to numerous court cases (spanning the 
years 2001-2005) in which Ms. Smith was prosecuted for 
misdemeanor offenses including reckless driving, driving 
under the influence, child abuse/neglect, intoxication, and 
various moving violations. Case number RE-10-52228.

continued from page 17
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TUCKER, TIM N., Sales Agent license, New 
Harmony, UT. In an October 27, 2010 stipulation 
and order, Mr. Tucker agreed to pay a $500 civil 
penalty and to take a two-hour continuing education 
course on Utah law. In violation of Utah Code § 
61-2f-401(11), Mr. Tucker placed an advertisement 
without including his brokerage information in the 
text of the posting. Case number RE-10-51651.

VAN SICKEL, GALEN, Sales Agent license, St. 
George, UT. In a September 15, 2010 stipulation and 
order, Mr. Van Sickel, by and through his attorney 
Alan D. Boyack, agreed that his sales agent license 
would be revoked, that he would not apply for a real 
estate license from the Division in the future, and that 
he would pay a $2,500 civil penalty. In violation of 
Utah Code § 61-2f-401(16) and Utah Administrative 
Code § R162-6-1-8, Mr. Van Sickel, while working as 
a house cleaner, engaged in certain acts in his client's 
home, which acts were considered by the client to be 
lewd and inappropriate. Case number RE-10-49761.

VAN WAGENEN, BREE, Sales Agent applicant, 
Sandy, UT. In a September 29, 2010 order, license 
granted, but immediately suspended for a period 
of 30 days due to Ms. Van Wagenen's failure to 
accurately disclose her criminal history involving 
assault and disorderly conduct in response to the 
licensing questionnaire. Case number RE-10-51820.

WAGNER, AARON, Sales Agent license, Cedar Hills, 
UT. In an October 20, 2010 stipulation and order, 
Mr. Wagner agreed to pay a $2,500 civil penalty. In 
violation of Utah Code § 61-2f-201(1), Mr. Wagner 
completed at least one transaction after allowing 
his license to expire. Case number RE-10-49519.

WALL, RANDALL C., Branch Broker license, 
Sandy, UT. In an October 20, 2010 stipulation and 
order, Mr. Wall agreed to pay a $2,500 civil penalty. 
In violation of Utah Code § 61-2f-401(12), Mr. Wall 
failed to adequately supervise an affiliated sales 
agent who closed at least one transaction after the 
agent's license expired. Case number RE-10-49520.

WILSON, J. SCOTT, Principal Broker renewal applicant, 
Cedar City, UT. In a September 30, 2010 order, license granted 
on probation until such time as Mr. Wilson successfully 
completes a plea in abeyance agreement entered into on a 
charge of child abuse/neglect. Case number RE-10-51864.

Disciplinary & Sanctions 

TIMESHARE
MULTI-RESORT OWNERSHIP PLAN (MROP), 
Timeshare Development registration, Salt Lake City, UT. In 
an October 13, 2010 settlement agreement and order, MROP 
agreed to pay a $1,000 civil penalty in order to resolve the 
Division's investigation of complaints that the developer 
collected a special assessment fee in violation of MROP 
bylaws, which act if proved would violate Utah Code §§ 
57-19-5(2) and 57-19-13(1)(a). Case number RE 37466.
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