REAL ESTATE COMMISSION MEETING
Heber M. Wells Building
Room 210
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June 15, 2011

MINUTES
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Kurtis Hughes, Investigator
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Travis Cardwell, Investigator

Jill Childs, Division Staff
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Stefanie Tugaw-Madsen, Vice Chair
Gary R. Hancock, Commissioner

H. Blaine Walker, Commissioner

H. Thayne Houston, Commissioner

GUESTS:
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Brent Simpson

The June 15, 2011 meeting of the Utah Real Estate Commission began at 9:05 a.m.
with Chair Ashton conducting.

PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS



Elections were held for the 2011-2012 year. The results of the elections are
Commissioner Tugaw-Madsen is the new Chair, and the new Vice Chair is
Commissioner Houston.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made to approve the meeting minutes for May 18, 2011 and May 23,
2011. Vote: Chair Ashton, yes; Vice Chair Tugaw-Madsen, yes; Commissioner
Hancock, yes; Commissioner Walker, yes; Commissioner Houston, yes. Motion
carries.

DIVISION REPORTS

DIRECTOR’S REPORT — Deanna Sabey

Director Sabey said there is an article in the Salt Lake Tribune reporting that Ronald
Haycock has been sentenced to 5 ¥ years in federal prison for mortgage fraud
scams. This was a referral a few years ago that the Division made to the Utah
Mortgage Task Force. It is nice to see that the case has gone through the system
and justice has prevailed. Mr. Haycock will also have to pay $2.38 million in
restitution. There were two other individuals who took part in the mortgage fraud
scam. Lyle Smith has reached a plea agreement and now is serving 56 months in
federal prison, and James Johnson was convicted in jury trial of 27 federal fraud
counts. Mr. Johnson will be sentenced later in July.

To give an idea of what the scam entailed, Mr. Haycock had a company called
Paramount Strategies that recruited straw buyers to act like they were purchasing
homes. The participants also obtained inflated appraisals for houses that were
being sold by their owners, and then they created false documents to obtain loans.
They then skimmed off the difference between the actual sales and the loans.

This shows that it may take a few years to get prosecutions in the criminal system,
but the Division does get convictions of those individuals and they are no longer
able to harm the pubic. Mr. Haycock and Mr. Smith were licensees with the
Division and both of their licenses expired in 2005. The Division regularly refers
many people to the Mortgage Fraud Task Force, Attorney General's office, or
sometimes county prosecutors in addition to taking licensing actions. The Division
can only take so much action, and these bad actors need criminal prosecution. The
Division will report to the Commission on all of the cases we have referred out for
prosecution.

Director Sabey said that the Division needs to start preparing for the next
legislative session so we can compile a draft to submit to the Office of Legislative
Council by September. We are looking at concepts and ideas for things that might
need attention in the statutes. One thing that could reduce regulation rather than
adding more regulations might be removing the 10-day reporting requirement as to
bankruptcies. There was a lengthy discussion as to what these changes would be.

A second suggestion in reducing regulation would be to reduce or eliminate the
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requirement for continuing education of formally inactive licensees. Inactive
licensees require 18 hours of CE to activate within the prior year. In our statute,
we also propose continuing education requirements for licensees who are in
reinstatement. An inactive licensee who wants to activate and is in the
reinstatement period has to take the 18 hours of CE, plus the penalty CE which can
be up to a total of 42 hours. The 24 additional CE hours would be if the person
waited over 31 days to six months (18 + 6), and from six months to one year is 42
hours (18 + 24). Director Sabey’s proposal would be to reduce out the penalty CE
for inactive licensees who are activating. Discussion covered the penalty CE being
a “gentler and kindler” rule, because previously if a licensee was expired over six
months, he had to re-license as a new person and take 120 hours of education. A
possible alternative would be to have the inactive person take 18 hours of
continuing education over the past two years instead of one year. The issue of
reinstatement continuing education is a complex idea and requires further
discussion and consideration.

A suggestion was made that instead of additional CE, there could be greater fees.
Also, the Division’s statutes currently state that a person who is caught working
without a license can be fined the amount of the commission the person received.
This would be the recommended action to enforce. If the individual didn’t receive a
commission, then the Division can fine up to $5,000 per listing. It was suggested
to have an article in the next Division newsletter regarding this issue.

The Division currently has a requirement in rule that states “no real estate activity
may be conducted by a property management company.” The licensing and
education for working in property management are the same as in selling real
estate. The question would then be why is there a prohibition against engaging in
any real sales activity? Director Sabey said that there is a dual license category
where a broker can have a real estate company and a property management
company and not have to hire a separate broker. But if the real estate business
that is being conducted by a property management company is not the bulk of their
business, why should this be prohibited? Director Sabey’s suggestion would be to
change the rule so that a property management company may engage in real
estate activity if that company is primarily engaged in the business of property
management. Property management is already a term defined by statute.
Discussion covered issues of separate trust accounts, unlicensed employees versus
licensed employees, and keeping the statute the way it is currently written.

The Commission would like Ms. Jonsson to prepare draft rules covering the changes
suggested to continuing education and bankruptcies to be reviewed at next month’s
meeting.

ENFORCEMENT REPORT — Dee Johnson

Mr. Johnson reported in May the Division received 36 complaints; screened 33
complaints; opened 12 cases; closed 14 cases; leaving the total number of real
estate cases at 155. These numbers will increase next month based on what is

-3-



currently in the system.

Stipulations for review:
Bruce R. Tucker

Tara L. Jones

Babette De Lay

All of the respondents were offered the opportunity to appear today, but each has
declined.

EDUCATION AND LICENSING REPORT — Mark Fagergren
Mr. Fagergren said June was the first month in the past nine months with no drop
in licensees. Numbers have been consistently dropping since 2007.

Mr. Fagergren said in a previous meeting Vice Chair Tugaw-Madsen asked if the
Division’s Caravan presentations could be on the Division’s website. He said that
they have now been added in each individual industry.

Idaho seems to be more discriminating in continuing education that they allow
licensees that are dual licensed. If you are licensed in Utah and want to get credit
for CE taken in Utah, Idaho seems to be particularly stringent in not wanting to
accept those hours. In this month’s ARELLO Boundaries newsletter, there is an
article titled “ldaho addresses out of state brokerage practice.” Mr. Fagergren read
some of the changes Idaho has taken with regard to this issue and how it differs
from Utah’s position, which allows a broker in Utah to have a co-brokering
relationship with someone out of state rather than becoming licensed through
reciprocity. The out-of-state broker can affiliate with one of our Utah brokers who
is responsible to make sure the correct forms are used, and they can split fees.

The article states:

“... that over the year the Commission has received a multitude
of complaints regarding unlicensed brokerage activity in Idaho
by brokers and sales persons from other states who are not
licensed in Idaho. According to the bulletin investigations
received only from the complaints reveal that there is quite

a bit of misunderstanding and confusion about the activities
that an out-of-state licensee can and can’t perform without

an Idaho real estate license.”

Consequently, they have reissued their Guideline #2:
“The lIdaho code flatly prohibits any person from engaging in
any act as a defined real estate brokerage who is acting in
this state without an active Idaho real estate license.”

Idaho specifically states that no co-brokering is allowed.
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“There is no statutory mechanism that allows a person who
does not hold and Idaho license to co-broker Idaho property
with an Idaho licensed broker. Similarly, an ldaho-designated
broker violates the law in several particulars if they co-broker
Idaho property with a person who does not hold an active Idaho
license.”

Mr. Fagergren said that not only does Idaho aggressively look at the out-of-state
person, but also disciplines the Idaho licensee for doing that. They state what an
out-of-state broker can do, which is essentially to observe. The out-of-state broker
can’t do anything that requires a license in any respect. However, ldaho’s statutory
prohibition against fee-splitting does not apply to arrangements between ldaho
licensed brokers and brokerages licensed in other states.

The article continues on about Idaho’s penalties:
“A misdemeanor crime in Idaho punishable by imprisonment
and a fine of $1,000 for individuals, and $10,000 for business
entities;
The Idaho Commission is authorized to take administrative
action against anyone engaged in unlicensed brokerage activity
and to assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000 plus costs and
attorney’s fees.”

Mr. Fagergren said we have a close border with Idaho, and Idaho’s laws might
affect our licensees. Commissioner Walker said he has had a discussion with
Idaho’s Director, and they are going against a lot of the trends and the
recommendations of ARELLO. The Idaho Director is very adamant that the National
Association of Realtors will be involved in this, and suggests that the various states
take it back to their states. Commissioner Walker said the issue is you can either
allow the federal government to come in, as it has done in the mortgage and
appraiser industries, or you can cooperate voluntarily on a national level. Federal
oversight has already been pushed by one of the large national companies, which
supports national licensing with real estate.

COMMISSION AND INDUSTRY ISSUES

Discussion of Proposed Rules — Jennie Jonsson

Ms. Jonsson said she has submitted four rule amendments to the Division of
Administrative Rules, and they will be published for comment on July 1, 2011.
These are specifically amendments to R162-2f-102, R162-2f-205, R162-2f-401(a),
and R162-2f-403. The comment period will run through August 1, 2011 with a first
possible effective date of August 8, 2011.

The Division has become aware of an inconsistency in their Administrative Rules
governing administrative procedures. The rule (R162-2f-407(e)) requires that the
Division provide an applicant or a respondent with at least ten days’ notice before a
hearing. However, that same person has 30 days to file an answer if he or she
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chooses to do so. The way this is written, it could happen that we would hold a
hearing within ten days, and the person would have an additional 20 days after the
hearing to file an answer. The Division would propose to make the notice
requirement match the time frame that is allowed for the answer. Ms. Jonsson
asked the Commission for any comments, and if they had none, a motion to make
this change. A motion was made to approve the amendment. Vote: Chair Ashton,
yes; Vice Chair Tugaw-Madsen, yes; Commissioner Hancock, yes; Commissioner
Walker, yes; Commissioner Houston, yes. Motion carries.

A motion was made to enter Executive Session for the sole purpose of discussing
the character, professional competence, or physical and mental health of an
individual. Vote: Chair Ashton, yes; Vice Chair Tugaw-Madsen, yes; Commissioner
Walker, yes; Commissioner Hancock, yes; Commissioner Houston, yes. Motion
carries. An Executive Session was held from 10:09 a.m. to 10:37 a.m.

OPEN TO PUBLIC
INFORMAL HEARING:
The Acting Director for this hearing will be Thad Levar, Deputy Director of the
Department of Commerce. Director Sabey has recused herself.

10:42 Jordan Maddocks — Disciplinary Hearing
Justin Elswick, Attorney

Division Witnesses:
Gary Wavra

Brent Simpson
Dave Mecham

Respondent Witnesses:
Gil Miller

A lunch break was taken from 12:06 p.m. to 1:04 p.m.
A brief recess was taken from 3:30 p.m. to 3:40 p.m.

CLOSED TO PUBLIC
A motion was made to enter Executive Session for the sole purpose of discussing
the character, professional competence, or physical and mental health of an
individual. Vote: Chair Ashton, yes; Vice Chair Tugaw-Madsen, yes; Commissioner
Walker, yes; Commissioner Hancock, yes; Commissioner Houston, yes. Motion
carries. An Executive Session was held from 5:35 p.m. to 6:15 p.m.

OPEN TO PUBLIC
The Commission with concurrence from the Director have approved the following
Stipulations:
Bruce R. Tucker



Tara L. Jones
Babette De Lay

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Chair Ashton, yes; Vice Chair
Tugaw-Madsen, yes; Commissioner Walker, yes; Commissioner Hancock, yes;
Commissioner Houston, yes. Motion carries. The meeting was adjourned at 6:15
p.m.



