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What it is. The main purpose of the Real 
Estate Education, Research, and Recovery  
Fund (the Fund) is to compensate members of 
the public who have been damaged by a real 
estate broker’s or real estate sales agent’s (the 
Agent) fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit 
in a real estate transaction, if the Agent can-
not pay. You may be compensated by the 
Fund if the Agent used fraud, misrepresenta-
tion or deceit to take advantage of you.   

How much can you get. If you comply 
with the process and a court awards you com-
pensation, you can expect to receive from the 
Fund up to $15,000. Regardless of the    
number of people seeking compensation 
(“claimants”) or parcels of real estate involved 
in a transaction, the liability of the fund may 
not exceed $15,000 for a single transaction 
and $50,000 for any one Agent.  

How it works. In order to receive a pay-
ment, you must meet the requirements  
outlined in Utah Code Ann.  61-2f-506. 
This pamphlet offers an overview, but for de-
tails talk to an attorney or read Title 61 Sec-
tion 2f of the Utah Code. 

Finding help. The Division cannot help 
you with legal advice. You may hire an       
attorney or ask for free legal help at 
www.andjusticeforall.org (801) 924-3183. 

 

DISCLAIMER 

This pamphlet provides information about the law 
designed to help the public recover damages. But 
legal information is not the same as legal advice -- 
the application of law to an individual's specific 
circumstances. Although we go to great lengths to 
make sure our information is accurate and useful, 
we recommend you consult an attorney if you want 
professional assurance that this information, and 
your interpretation of it, is appropriate to your  
particular situation. 
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NOTE: for purposes of this pamphlet only,  

“Agent” refers to a real estate licensee, that is, 
a real estate sales agent or real estate broker. 

“Fund” refers to the Real Estate Education, 
Research, and Recovery Fund.  
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1. Sue in Court  
If you were “damaged,” the amount of the 
damage must be determined by a court of  
competent jurisdiction, and not by the Utah   
Division of Real Estate. Therefore, if you 
want to be compensated from the Fund, you 
first have to sue the Agent in court.  

 
2. Make sure your claim is against a licen-
see   
Compensation can be made for damages 
caused by an individual holding a real estate 
license (the Agent). You cannot be the 
spouse or representative of the Agent.      
Reimbursement may not be made for judg-
ments against corporations, partnerships, 
associations, or other legal entities. 

  
3. Include a claim for fraud, misrepresen-
tation, or deceit as part of the original 
complaint 
The complaint must be based in whole or in 
part on fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit. 
 
4. Notify the Utah Division of Real Estate 
within 10 business days from when you 
file the court action, and keep proof of 
receipt 
Send a signed notification with your claim to 
the Division of Real Estate within 10 busi-
ness days of filing an action against the 
Agent. Include a copy of the complaint. 
Within 30 days of  receipt of the notice, the 
Division may intervene in the action.  

5. Obtain final judgment in your favor 
The judgment must be based on fraud,          
misrepresentation, or deceit. 
 
6. Find out if the Agent can pay you  
Make reasonable searches and inquiries yourself 
to know for sure if the Agent has money or 
property that can be used to pay you. Then    
exercise reasonable diligence to get paid.  You 
will have to prove you did so in a court hearing 
before the Fund can pay you (unless you       
convince the court to waive this requirement      
because it is not practical for you based on the 
circumstances).  

 
7.  Have a writ of execution issued upon the 
judgment  
After you win your case, and if the Agent cannot 
pay you, you must get a “writ of execution” to 
show that the Agent who damaged you does not 
have money or property which could be used to 
pay the judgment.  In order for the Fund to pay, 
the judgment cannot have been discharged in 
bankruptcy.  

 
8. File a verified  
petition to the court  
requesting that the 
Recovery Fund pays 
you 
Upon termination of 
all proceedings, in-
cluding appeals, you can file a verified petition 
in the court where the judgment was entered for 
an order directing payment from the Real      
Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund 
for the uncollected actual damages included in 
the judgment and still unpaid. Serve a copy of 
the petition upon the Division of Real Estate 
and file an affidavit of service with the court.  

9. Show at the court hearing that you 
have complied with the requirements to 
be paid from the Fund 
After the case against the Agent is over, the 
court will hold a hearing just to determine 
if you should be paid from the Fund.      
Payment will depend on compliance with 
the requirements of the Real Estate         
Recovery Fund Act. This pamphlet offers a 
simplified overview of those requirements 
for information purposes. Do not solely rely 
upon it. For details, talk to an attorney or 
read Title 61 Section 2f of the Utah Code. 

 
10. Get paid 
If the court determines that you should be 
paid from the Fund, it will enter an order 
directed to the Division requiring payment. 
The Fund will pay within a reasonable 
time, usually 30 days. 

To do list 

 
The Agent’s license will be  

revoked. The Division of Real  
Estate may impose other discipline. 

If the Division makes payment from the 
Fund, it will have the right to collect the 
money from the Agent. The license of the 
Agent shall be automatically revoked. The 
Agent  may not apply for a new license until 
the amount paid, plus interest, has been re-
paid in full to the Fund.   

The repayment in full, of all obligations to 
the Fund by any Agent does not nullify or    
modify the effect of any other disciplinary 
proceeding. 


