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UTAH RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE REGULATORY 
COMMISSION MEETING 
 Heber M. Wells Building 

Room 210 
9:00 a.m. 

June 4, 2014 
           

                     MINUTES 
        

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT 
Jonathan Stewart, Division Director 
Mark Fagergren, Education/Licensing Director 
Jeffery Nielsen, Chief Investigator 
Justin Barney, Hearing Officer 
Elizabeth Harris, Assistant Attorney General 
Renda Christensen, Board Secretary 
Jan Buchi, Mortgage Education Coordinator  
Jennica Robison, Division Staff 
 
COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT 
Steve Hiatt, Chair 
Lance Miller, Vice Chair 
Rodney "Butch" Dailey, Commissioner 
Cathy Gardner, Commissioner 
John Gonzales, Commissioner 
 
The meeting on June 4, 2014 of the Utah Residential Mortgage Regulatory Commission 
began at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Hiatt conducting.  
 
PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS 
Approval of Minutes – A motion was made to approve the minutes from the May 7, 
2014 meeting.  Vote:  Vice Chair Miller, yes; Commissioner Gonzales, yes; 
Commissioner Gardner, yes.  The motion passes. 
 
DIVISION REPORTS 
Director’s Report – Jonathan Stewart 
Director Stewart reported the changes to the Division’s statutes and approved by the 
legislature went into effect on May 13, 2014.  The three things that affect the mortgage 
industry are: 1) independent loan underwriters now are required to be licensed; 2) 
surrender of a license; 3) statute of limitations for investigations.   
 
Director Stewart said he would like to discuss the 2013 NMLS Mortgage Industry 
Report, released on May 9, 2014 by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors.    While 
most state-licensed companies and individuals work in just one state, the number of 
entities working in multiple states is growing at a faster rate.  The total number of 
state-licensed MLOs grew 8% over the past year, while the total number of MLO 
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licenses grew 28%.  The average number of state licenses held by an MLO in 2013 was 
2.54 licenses per MLO, up from 1.8 licenses per MLO in 2011. 
 
At the end of 2012 there were 3,853 MLOs in Utah.  1,059 new applications were 
received in the year 2013 which was up 27%.  There were 436 licensees who did not 
renew their licenses, leaving the Division with a total of 4,476 licensees at the end of 
2013. 
 
MLOs operating in more than one state grew 3% in 2013; the number operating in 
more than 10 states grew by 52%.   
 
In 2013, Utah received 87 new company license applications. MLO new applications 
received were 1,059, with 1,035 applications approved.   
 
For informational purposes, the loan amounts in 2013 for home purchases originated 
$7,003,423,303 for 31,616 loans; home improvement loans totaled $84,348,095 for 
406 loans; and 28,666 homes were refinanced for a total of $7,198,692,547.   
 
The total amount for all loans in Utah was $14,481,002,099 which was for 61,557 
loans; the average loan was for $235,245.  MLOs with one or more loan were 2,037, 
and average loans per MLO were 21. 
 
Enforcement Report – Jeffery Nielsen  
Mr. Nielsen reported in May the Division received 2 new complaints; opened 3 cases; 
no new cases were submitted to the Attorney General’s office; 12 cases were closed; 
leaving the balance of cases at 71. 
 
The Division has hired a new mortgage investigator, Tim Cuthbertson, who will be 
starting on Monday, June 9, 2014.   
 
There are no stipulations for review today. 
 
Education and Licensing Report – Mark Fagergren 
Mr. Fagergren said the Division has completed the Caravan since our last meeting.  
There was an increase in attendees by about 46%.  As Mr. Fagergren mentioned last 
month, this increase did not include mortgage licensees.   
 
Pearson Vue met with a committee selected by the Division yesterday to review the 
lending manager exam.  There were five on a conference call: Brett Mills, Academy 
Mortgage; Ron Duyker, own company; Julia Gleed, Village Mortgage; Jan Buchi, and 
Mr. Fagergren from the Division.  The group reviewed the exam over all, and the 
content outline.  We noticed there were some issues that were currently out of 
compliance because of some Dodd Frank Act requirements.  Other requirements will go 
into effect next August.  Since the exam is only reviewed annually, the changes being 
made now will go into effect on September 1, 2014, and we will have to anticipate 
what the statutes will reflect.  There were changes made because of the Dodd Frank 
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Act and the CFPB legislation with modifications being made to the questions.  Pearson 
Vue will be in town next week so new questions can be written to fill gaps in the 
content outline.  The members from the group representing the industry members had 
some good questions and suggestions for modifications to the exam.   
 
Mr. Fagergren received a phone call from someone who wanted this topic brought 
before the Commission for discussion.  Statute 61-2c-301 talks about prohibited 
conduct and violations of the chapter.  In paragraph 1(j) it mentions that ordering a 
title insurance report, or title insurance policy unless the person provides to the title 
insurer a copy of a valid, current license under this chapter is prohibited conduct.  The 
Commissioners discussed this issue and did not believe that this is a problem.  Usually 
the title policy has been ordered by underwriters. Director Stewart said he will add it to 
the list of suggestions on changes to be discussed in the fall. 
 
Last month Ms. Buchi and Mr. Everett attended a 5-day course on the changes to Dodd 
Frank and CFPB requirements.  Ms. Buchi gave some highlights of the conference. Ms. 
Buchi said the course covered the January 10, 2015 Dodd Frank rollout.  The purpose 
is to help with investigations and licensees understand the requirement.  Mostly it 
focused on the Ability To Repay (“ATR”), and how qualified mortgages provide the 
presumption of compliance with the ATR.  There are eight steps that lenders and 
investigators need to look for when they are determining the ability to repay.  These 
factors have to be consistent and quantified by the lender.  There are three types of 
mortgages that were discussed, but the basic one was the standard QM if the interest 
rate does not exceed 1.5% of the APOR. This is added to the average current offer 
rate, which will be the new standard for qualified mortgages, and for the ability to 
repay.   
 
Ms. Buchi said they also covered the record retention requirement which is now three 
years.  Our state requirement would take precedence over this, but they are 
anticipating that lenders will maintain their records longer because of defaults.  Some 
of the other items discussed were the points and fee caps for qualified mortgages, 
small creditor lenders and underserved market, high cost mortgages, HOEPA changes, 
counseling requirements for high cost loans, new escrow rules under Regulation Z. 
 
Clarification was given under Dodd Frank of a mortgage originator.  They stressed that 
the definition was not changed from the SAFE Act, it was just done to clarify.  The Act 
defines an originator as “someone who for or in expectation of direct or indirect 
compensation or monetary gain, performs the following tasks:  takes a loan 
application; offers, arranges, or assists in making an extension of consumer credit or 
represents to the public that they can do the above, through any type of advertising or 
promotion.” 
 
Ms. Buchi said that all of this information is going to be included in our lending 
manager exam, and it is already currently in our state NMLS exam.   
 
There are no stipulations to review this month.  
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COMMISSION AND INDUSTRY ISSUES 
Updates on Rules – Justin Barney 
Mr. Barney said there are no rule changes being proposed that need to be discussed 
at this time. 
 
 
A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. Vote:  Chair Hiatt, yes; Vice Chair Miller, 
yes; Commissioner Dailey, yes; Commissioner Gonzales, yes; Commissioner Gardner, 
yes.  The meeting adjourned at 9:27 a.m. 
 
 
 


