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UTAH RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE REGULATORY 
COMMISSION MEETING 

Heber M. Wells Building 
Room 210 
9:00 A.M. 

September 1, 2010 
         
                                         MINUTES 
 
STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT 
Deanna Sabey, Division Director 
Dee Johnson, Enforcement Director 
Mark Fagergren, Director of Licensing and Education 
Jennie Jonsson, Hearing Officer 
Traci Gundersen, Assistant Attorney General 
Marv Everett, Investigator 
Stuart Engerman, Investigator 
Renda Christensen, Board Secretary 
Jan Buchi, Mortgage Education Coordinator 
Jody Colvin, Mortgage License Specialist 
Jill Childs, Assistant Board Secretary 
 
COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT 
Lance Miller, Chair 
Maralee Jensen, Vice Chair 
Rodney “Butch” Dailey, Commissioner 
Holly Christensen, Commissioner 
 
GUESTS 
Jeremy Plouzak 
Irene Kennedy 
Ron Duyker 
Utah Highway Patrol Officer Sig Mayer 
 
The meeting on September 1, 2010 of the Utah Residential Mortgage 
Regulatory Commission began at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Miller conducting. 
 
Commissioner Lewis was absent for the meeting today. 
 
PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS 
Approval of Minutes – A motion was made to approve the Minutes from the 
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August 4, 2010 meeting.  Vote:  Chair Miller, yes; Vice Chair Jensen, 
abstained; Commissioner Dailey, yes; Commissioner Christensen, yes.  The 
motion carries.  
 
DIVISION REPORTS 
Director’s Report – Deanna Sabey 
Director Sabey reported that on August 26, 2010, the Mortgage Bankers 
Association published their delinquency and foreclosure report.  It was 
interesting because it had a mix of both good and bad news.  The good news 
is that nationally foreclosure starts are down, as well as the inventory of 
homes that are actually in foreclosure.  Also, the number of people who have 
gone to 90-day delinquency is starting to go down.  The bad news is 30-day 
delinquencies are on the rise.  These are tied to first-time claims for 
unemployment insurance and how we are struggling in our country with 
unemployment.   
 
A report came out last month from RealtyTrac that shows that we are still 
not quite on track as far as foreclosures.  In July, Utah had more home 
foreclosures than it had in June by 8.6%.  The highest rate of foreclosures 
took place in Utah County.  Utah has fallen out of the top five for 
foreclosures, but we are still in the top ten.  This is the time of year when 
banks are starting to look at their inventory and dumping these foreclosures. 
The reporting time is coming up where they have to report to their 
regulators, and they will have to start pushing hard to get rid of some of the 
inventory.   
 
Director Sabey wrote a report to the Utah Business and Labor Interim 
Committee.  This is an annual report the Division has to give to the 
Legislature.  She passed out a copy to the Commission for their review.  The 
Division was very busy on SAFE and business-related issues last year.   
 
Enforcement Report – Dee Johnson 
In last month’s meeting, Mr. Johnson told the Commission that the Division 
was going to lose an investigator, Elizabeth Beazley, who had moved out of 
the country to be closer to her family.  The Division has a new mortgage 
investigator, Stuart Engerman, who was previously with Consumer 
Protection as an investigator.      
 
Mr. Johnson reported in August the Division received 44 complaints; 
screened 20 complaints; opened 26 cases; closed 8 cases; leaving the total 
number of mortgage case at 56.  We are anticipating that the next two 
months will be similar in numbers.   
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The backlog of cases will show in the number of cases being screened and 
the opening of complaints.  We are also receiving additional complaints from 
other states that will be added on our complaint logs.  There are 
approximately 60+ complaints that will have to be addressed sometime 
between now and the end of the year, or as soon as people try to renew.  
The information from these came from people transitioning on to NMLS and 
they are submitting information to the database that we have not seen 
before.   
 
Approximately 30-40% of the complaints being seen are about someone 
saying they weren’t treated fairly by their mortgage loan officer; they were 
quoted an interest rate and when they got to closing it was different, etc.  
About 27% of our cases (overall in the industry) are serious and involve 
some kind of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit.  It is not unusual for us to 
receive one complaint and then have it turn into two or more cases later on.   
 
There is one stipulation today:  Terry Wayne Brown.  Mr. Brown was given 
the opportunity to appear today, and has chosen not to appear.   
 
Education/Licensing Report – Mark Fagergren 
Mr. Fagergren said that when the Division receives notice of a person’s 
license being revoked in another state, we don’t automatically revoke their 
license in Utah.  The information is gathered and turned over to Enforcement 
for review, and if they believe there is evidence for a revocation, we would 
then schedule the person to appear before the Commission. 
 
Our staff is working on 67 cases that are pending review. This means there 
has been information disclosed in their filing, and we are seeking information 
from them.   
 
Last month approximately 80% of our licensees had certified their Utah 
exam or 20-hour pre-license education.  It has now been increased to 83% 
for education and 84% for testing.  This means there are over 15% of our 
people who have transitioned their mortgage licenses, but are bypassing the 
opportunity to waive education and testing.   
 
In February of this year, with regard to the NMLS Utah state MLO exam was 
introduced. The Division received strong feedback that this test was difficult, 
and people were struggling to pass it.  Until 250 Utah applicants had taken 
the test, psychometricians could not statistically analyze the exam.  In July 
we achieved the 250 number.  The national NMLS pass rate is 65%.  For 
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people taking the test the first time, the passing rate is higher (71%). 
Repeat test takers have a lower passing rate (44%).  Our Utah people are 
performing 8% higher than the national average in terms of how they are 
performing on the national test.   
 
The national pass rate for the state portion of the test has a national 
average of 78%.  Utah’s pass rate is 46%.  Only 143 people as of the end of 
July had passed this test.  A test should be performing at somewhere 
between 60-80% pass rate according to the CSBS.  CSBS has recalibrated 
the Utah test on August 26, 2010, and resulting pass rates for the Utah 
NMLS exam should significantly increase.   
 
Of the individuals who have transitioned (5,148), every one of them has to 
take the national test by the end of the year.  We have been announcing to 
our licensees to test early, because we are concerned about accessibility at 
the test centers.  Mr. Fagergren has been receiving calls from appraisers 
stating that they have tried to schedule for their tests, and the earliest date 
they can get is a November 20th, or a December 5th date.  This was as of last 
week.   
 
The number of people who have transitioned and completed the NMLS 
national test is 40%.  There are still approximately 3,000 people who still 
need to take this test.  Each testing center has ten stations, give the tests 
twice a day, and there are three testing centers.    
 
The issue of credit reports has come up.  The NMLS will flag certain issues, 
and Ms. Jonsson has a proposed rule that will give us some direction on 
what to review.   
 
The Instructor Development Workshop is on October 18-19, 2010 at the 
Park City Marriott. 
 
Industry and Commission Issues – Jennie Jonsson 
Ms. Jonsson gave the Commission an update on the Rules 203 and 402 that 
have been out for public comment.  The public comment period ended on 
August 16, 2010 and it can now be made effective on August 23, 2010, 
pending an anticipatory vote from the Commission. 
 
Last month the Commission voted to go forward with an amendment to 
allow an MLO who obtains an ALM or PLM license during the 2010 calendar 
year to renew that license without any additional CE.  It has been approved 
by Administration and is being published for public comment today.  The 
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comment period will end on October 1, 2010. 
 
Ms. Jonsson presented proposed rule R162-2c-202(3) regarding financial 
responsibility for the Commission to review.  The Division will need to have 
something in place to show NMLS as our system to evaluate financial 
responsibility and dealing with credit reports.  Director Sabey said that a 
credit report is a method of a state being able to determine financial 
responsibility.  A state can decide whatever criteria they want to use to 
determine financial responsibility.  First, NMLS already has the functionality 
to make the credit reports available to the states.  It seems to be a 
reasonable tool for states to use as opposed to trying to gather additional 
information from other sources.  The second thing is that NMLS has the 
ability to flag certain information that the state has determined is the criteria 
they want to look at in considering financial responsibility.  The proposed 
rule has some additional criteria for consideration.  The reports will be pulled 
from TransUnion, and the cost to the licensee will be $15.00.   
 
A motion was made to approve R162-2c-202(3).  Vote:  Chair Miller, No; 
Vice Chair Jensen, No; Commissioner Dailey, Yes; Commissioner 
Christensen, Yes.  The motion fails.   
 
Chair Miller closed the meeting for a brief recess before the hearing from 
10:05 to 10:10 a.m. 

 
OPEN TO PUBLIC 

LICENSE/RENEWAL HEARINGS: 
 
10:10  Tracy Mark Hopkins – Disciplinary Hearing 
  Witness for Division:  Marv Everett 

 
There was a motion to close the meeting to discuss the character, 
professional competence, or physical and mental health of an individual. 
Vote: Chair Miller, Yes; Vice Chair Jensen, Yes; Commissioner Dailey, Yes; 
Commissioner Christensen, Yes.  The motion passes.  Executive Session was 
held from 12:25 p.m. to 1:23 p.m. 
 
 

CLOSED TO PUBLIC 
Review of Stipulation 
Deliberation on Hearing 
 

OPEN TO PUBLIC 
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A motion was made to open the meeting:  Vote: Chair Miller, Yes; Vice Chair 
Jensen, Yes; Commissioner Dailey, Yes; Commissioner Christensen, Yes.  
Director Sabey, concurs.  The motion passes. 
 
In the matter of the stipulation for Terry Wayne Brown, the Commission has 
approved the stipulation. 
 
In the matter of the proposed rule, R162-2c-202(3), because of the impact 
and lack of notice to industry, additional discussion was held.   It was 
suggested to remove the monetary limits on (3)(i) and (3)(v), and changing 
the wording to read “..access information available through the NMLS of an 
applicant for initial licensure..”.  A motion was made to accept the proposed 
rule with these changes.  :  Vote: Chair Miller, Yes; Vice Chair Jensen, Yes; 
Commissioner Dailey, Yes; Commissioner Christensen, Yes.  Director Sabey, 
concurs.  The motion passes. 
 
A motion was made to adjourn the meeting:  Vote: Chair Miller, Yes; Vice 
Chair Jensen, Yes; Commissioner Dailey, Yes; Commissioner Christensen, 
Yes.  Director Sabey, concurs.  The motion carries.  The meeting was 
adjourned at 1:38 p.m. 
 
 


