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UTAH RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE REGULATORY 
COMMISSION MEETING 

Heber M. Wells Building 
Room 210 
9:00 AM 

February 3, 2010 
 

                                         MINUTES 
 
STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT 
Deanna Sabey, Division Director 
Dee Johnson, Enforcement Director 
Mark Fagergren, Education and Licensing Director 
Jennie Jonsson, Hearing Officer 
Traci Gundersen, Assistant Attorney General 
Renda Christensen, Board Secretary 
 
COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT 
Lance Miller, Chair 
Maralee Jensen, Vice Chair 
Rodney “Butch” Dailey, Commissioner 
Brigg Lewis, Commissioner 
Holly Christensen, Commissioner 
 
GUESTS 
David Luna      
Irene Kennedy     
John Norman 
Jeremy Plouzek 
 
The meeting on February 3, 2010 of the Utah Residential Mortgage 
Regulatory Commission began at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Miller conducting. 
 
PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS 
Approval of Minutes - The Minutes from the January 6, 2010 meeting were 
approved as written. 
 
DIVISION REPORTS 
Director’s Report – Deanna Sabey 
Director Sabey told the Commission the Division’s bill, HB-275, is now 
available for review.  HB-53 regarding loan modification and foreclosure 
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rescues has passed the House and is out of Senate committee with a 
unanimous vote.  This bill states that these require a person to be licensed 
through the Division.   
 
HUD’s proposed rules under the SAFE act are coming up for public 
comments, and the deadline is February 16, 2010.  The proposed rules are 
clarifications of specific provisions under the SAFE act.  It will set minimum 
standards for each state to meet and keep in compliance; it would require 
independent contractor loan processors and underwriters to be licensed as 
loan originators; clarify that an individual who has been convicted of a felony 
within the past seven years is ineligible for a loan originator’s license even if 
the conviction is expunged; provide a $25,000.00 maximum penalty for each 
act or omission of the SAFE; require individuals who are engaged in loan 
modifications to be licensed; and, in those states where HUD has to have a 
licensing system provide the mechanisms for HUD to have the necessary 
oversight.  The proposed rule can be found on the HUD website and on the 
Federal Register, docket number 5271-P-01.   
 
This is a proposed rule and if it passes the Division will need to change its 
rules about licensing processors. 
  
Enforcement Report – Dee Johnson 
Mr. Johnson reported in the month of January the Division received 17 
complaints; screened 11 complaints; opened 3 cases; closed 9 cases; 
leaving the total number of mortgage cases at 45.  Mr. Johnson said there 
are screenings that haven’t been reviewed yet, and once they have been, 
the number of cases will rise slightly. 
 
There are no stipulations today, but a copy of a Cease and Desist Order was 
given to the Commission for their reference.  This was sent to a company 
that was doing loan modifications without being licensed, and we are in the 
process of negotiations with the company to bring them into compliance.    
 
Education/Licensing Report – Mark Fagergren 
Mr. Fagergren said the new NMLS Utah state exam will go into effect on 
February 22, 2010.  If a licensee takes the test now (before the 22nd), they 
will have to go through a certification process and pay the $5.00.  After 
February 22nd, a licensee can take both tests at one location.  The time 
frames are approximately three hours for the federal exam, and two hours 
for the state exam.  There is also an additional thirty minutes for a survey at 
the beginning of the session. 
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As of January 25, 2010, NMLS now requires fingerprints to be taken.  This 
means that all of our licensees will now have to be re-fingerprinted.  A letter 
will be sent out through the RELMs account to notify licensees what they will 
need to do.  This has to be done before the end of the year, and the Division 
is encouraging licensees to get this done before May 31, 2010. NMLS has 
contracted with a company that has 850 locations across the country to do 
live-scan fingerprinting.  As soon as we can get the locations, we will send 
an e-mail letter to all licensees.  The cost will be $39.00 for live-scan, and if 
someone is too far away from a center, the cost will be $49.00 for paper 
cards.   
 
Another e-mail letter regarding the certification process will be sent out as 
soon as the Division gets all the details.  The certification process can be 
done as late as November 30, 2010.  However, if someone doesn’t meet 
certification, they will be required to take 20 hours of NMLS education or 20 
hours of pre-license equivalent education. Current licensees can’t get the 
certification process completed until May 1, 2010.  The MU4 can be done 
now, but not the certification.  Information will be posted on the website as 
well as in the next newsletter as to all updates the Division has received. 
 
Mr. Fagergren said the Division has four employees (three full-time, and 
one-part time) working feverishly to work with people in transition.  There 
are approximately 6,000 currently licensed individuals.  There have been 
773 applications submitted, and 251 have been completed the process.  
There are 522 that have some type of deficiency.  Mr. Fagergren encourages 
everyone not to wait until the last date to transition.   
 
Mr. Fagergren said every state had to submit a sheet of information 
comparing our statutes to the SAFE act.  Last week the Division received an 
e-mail addressing some things that need to be changed in our statutes.  The 
Division’s bill has already been given to the legislature, so these relatively 
straightforward solutions will not go into effect until next year.   
 
Industry and Commission Issues – Jennie Jonsson 
Ms. Jonsson said she has worked the changes requested on the rules last 
month into the rules, filed them, and has received three approvals back.  
There has to be one last review done by Administration and then they can be 
signed off and submitted for public comment. 
 
There have been several rules that have been made effective for the 
Appraisers.  The Commissioners will get copies of them so they can update 
their rule books. 
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A motion was made and unanimously passed to close the public portion of 
the meeting at 9:36 a.m. for the upcoming hearings. 

 
CLOSED TO PUBLIC 

 
LICENSE/RENEWAL HEARINGS: 
10:00  Acceptance Capital Mortgage Corp. – Application for Renewal 
  This is a telephone hearing. 
  This hearing will be continued next month. 
 
10:36  Don S. Riggs – Appeal Post-Revocation Order 
  Richard R. Golden, Attorney 
  Respondent’s witness (by phone): Dennis Jacobson, Esq. 
 
11:35  E. Sherman Warner – Application for Renewal 
  Ryan Robert Schopke, PLM 
  William Mertlich 
 
  1:35 Bradley Smith – Application for License 
 
An Executive Session was held from 2:07 p.m. to 2:20 p.m. 
 

OPEN TO PUBLIC 
 
 2:20  Commissioner Training – Tony Patterson, Assistant Attorney 

General 
   

CLOSED TO PUBLIC 
Deliberation on Hearings 
 

OPEN TO PUBLIC 
 
A motion was passed unanimously to adjourn at 4:15 p.m. 
 


