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What it is. The main purpose of the Fund is 
to compensate members of the public who 
have been damaged by a lending Agent’s 
fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit in a res-
idential mortgage loan transaction, when the 
Agent cannot pay. You may be compensated 
by the Fund if the Agent used fraud, misrep-
resentation, or deceit to take advantage of 
you.   

How much can you get? If you comply 
with the process and a court awards you com-
pensation, you can expect to receive from the 
Fund up to $15,000. Regardless of the   
number of people seeking compensation 
(“claimants”),  the liability of the fund may not 
exceed $15,000 for a single transaction and 
$45,000 for any one Agent.  

How it works. In order to receive a pay-
ment, you must meet the requirements  
outlined in Utah Code Ann. 61-2c-503. 
This pamphlet offers an overview, but for de-
tails, talk to an attorney or read Title 61 Sec-
tion 2c of the Utah Code. 

Finding help. The Division cannot help 
you with legal advice. You may hire an       
attorney or ask for free legal help at 
www.andjusticeforall.org (801) 924-3183. 

DISCLAIMER 

This pamphlet provides information about the law 
designed to help the public recover damages. But 
legal information is not the same as legal advice -- 
the application of law to an individual's specific 
circumstances. Although we go to great lengths to 
make sure our information is accurate and useful, 
we recommend you consult an attorney if you want 
professional assurance that this information, and 
your interpretation of it, is appropriate to your 
particular situation. 

Damaged by a  
Lending Agent? 

(mortgage officer) 

Some compensation may be  
available to you through the 

Recovery Recovery Recovery 
FundFundFund   

The  
Recovery Fund  
can reimburse 
a member of 
the public  up 

to $15,000  

NOTE: for purposes of this pamphlet only,  

“Fund” refers to the Residential Mortgage 
Loan Education, Research, and Recovery 
Fund. 

“Agent” refers to a mortgage licensee, that is a 
mortgage officer, a lending  manager, or an 
entity, licensed by the Division. To find out if 
the person was licensed by the Division, you 
can visit   www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org. 

If the lending agent is not a licensee of the 
Division, i.e. was an employee of a bank, or      
another financial institution, you will have to 
contact the Department of Financial Institu-
tions. 
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1. Sue in Court  
If you were “damaged,” the amount of the 
damage must be determined by a court of 
competent jurisdiction, and not by the Utah 
Division of Real Estate. Therefore, if you 
want to be compensated from the Fund, you 
first have to sue the Agent in court.  

 
2. Make sure your claim is against a  
licensee   
Compensation can be made for damages 
caused by an individual or entity holding a 
license (the Agent). You cannot be the 
spouse or representative of the Agent.   

  
3. Include a claim for fraud, misrepresen-
tation, or deceit as part of the original 
complaint 
The complaint must be based in whole or in 
part on fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit. 
 
4. Notify the Utah Division of Real Estate 
within 10 business days from when you 
file the court action, and keep proof of 
receipt 
Send a signed notification with your claim to 
the Division of Real Estate within 10 busi-
ness days of filing an action against the 
Agent. Include a copy of the complaint. 
Within 30 days of  receipt of the notice, the 
Division may intervene in the action.  

5. Obtain final judgment in your favor 
The judgment must be based on fraud,    
misrepresentation, or deceit. 

6. Find out if the Agent can pay you  
Make reasonable searches and inquiries yourself 
to know for sure if the Agent has money or 
property that can be used to pay you. Then    
exercise reasonable diligence to get paid.  You 
will have to prove you did so in a court hearing 
before the Fund can pay you (unless you con-
vince the court to waive this requirement be-
cause it is not practical for you based on the cir-
cumstances).  

 
7.  Have a writ of execution issued upon the 
judgment  
After you win your case, and if the Agent cannot 
pay you, you must get a “writ of execution” to 
show that the Agent who damaged you does not 
have money or property which could be used to 
pay the judgment.  In order for the Fund to pay, 
the judgment cannot have been discharged in 
bankruptcy.   

 
8. File a verified petition to the court request-
ing that the Recovery Fund pays you 
Upon termination of 
all proceedings, in-
cluding appeals, you 
can file a verified   
petition in the court 
where the judgment 
was entered for an 
order directing pay-
ment from the Resi-
dential Mortgage Loan Education, Research, 
and Recovery Fund for the uncollected actual 
damages included in the judgment and still un-
paid. A recovery from the fund may not include 
punitive damages, attorney fees, interest, or 
court costs. Serve a copy of the petition upon 
the Division of Real Estate and file an affidavit 
of service with the court.  

9. Show at the court hearing that you 
have complied with the requirements to 
be paid from the Fund 
After the case against the Agent is over, the 
court will hold a hearing just to determine 
if you should be paid from the Fund. Pay-
ment will depend on compliance with the 
requirements of the Mortgage Recovery 
Fund Act. This pamphlet offers a simplified 
overview of those requirements for infor-
mation purposes. Do not solely rely upon it. 
For details talk to an attorney or read Title 
61 Section 2c of the Utah Code.  

 
10. Get paid 
If the court determines that you should be 
paid from the Fund, it will enter an order 
directed to the Division requiring payment. 
The Fund will pay within a reasonable 
time, usually 30 days. 

To do list 

 The Agent’s license will be  
revoked. The Division of Real  

Estate may impose other discipline. 

If the Division makes payment from the 
Fund, it will have the right to collect the 
money from the Agent. The license of the 
Agent shall be automatically revoked. The 
repayment in full, of all obligations to the 
Fund by any Agent does not nullify or    
modify the effect of any other disciplinary 
proceeding. 


