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UTAH RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE  
REGULATORY COMMISSION MEETING 

Telephonic Meeting 
Heber M. Wells Building 

Room 210 
9:00 A.M. 

March 4, 2015 
Telephone Meeting 

          
   MINUTES 

 
DIVISION MEMBERS PRESENT 
Jonathan Stewart, Division Director 
Mark Fagergren, Licensing/Education Director 
Jeffery Nielsen, Chief Investigator 
Elizabeth Harris, Assistant Attorney General 
Justin Barney, Hearing Officer 
Renda Christensen, Board Secretary 
Jan Buchi, Mortgage Education Coordinator 
Jennica Gruver, Licensing Specialist 
 
COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT 
Steve Hiatt, Chair 
Lance Miller, Vice Chair 
Cathy Gardner, Commissioner 
George Richards, Commissioner 
 
The meeting on March 4, 2015 of the Utah Residential Mortgage Regulatory 
Commission began at 9:04 a.m. with Chair Hiatt conducting.  
 
Commissioner Gonzalez was excused from the meeting this month. 
 
PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS 
Approval of Minutes  
There was not a quorum present to approve the minutes for the February meeting. 
These will be reviewed at the April meeting along with the minutes from the March 
meeting. 
 
DIVISION REPORTS 
Director’s Report – Jonathan Stewart   
Director Stewart emailed the Commission a final copy of the Division’s bill this 
morning.  It has passed both the House and Senate and is waiting for the 
Governor’s signature.  There were no issues or concerns with the bill, and it will be 
made effective 90 days from the end of session. 
 
Enforcement Report – Jeffery Nielsen 
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Mr. Nielsen said there are no statistics for review this month because the 
enforcement secretary, Allyn Stutsman, is still out with her injury.  She will be 
returning next week, so there should be statistics for the months that she has been 
out by the April meeting. 
 
There are no stipulations to review this month.  
 
Education/Licensing Report – Mark Fagergren 
Mr. Fagergren reported Option 3 for the Lending Manager experience is explained 
and is on the Division’s website.   
 
Ms. Buchi has returned from the NMLS User’s Conference and she has given her 
notes to Mr. Fagergren for discussion because she has lost her voice.  There are 34 
state agencies that have additional services besides the mortgage licensing with the 
NMLS.  Our sister agency in Utah, DFI, has payday lenders on the NMLS.  Mr. 
Fagergren said when the Department of Commerce first joined with the NMLS, 
Department Director Francine Giani, paid $250,000 to have the NMLS created for 
mortgage licensees.  It is Mr. Fagergren’s intention that any other states that join 
the NMLS should reimburse state agencies that have paid a determined amount of 
money.  It appears that mortgage licensees across the country have subsidized this 
data base for lots of other groups and organizations.   
 
Twenty-five states use the NMLS for fee invoicing, such as the payment of fines and 
other fees.  This may be something the Division may want to think about doing.  
There could be some benefit to this procedure. 
 
In terms of disciplinary actions posted in the NMLS: 25 states have posted fewer 
than Utah; 19 states have posted more than Utah; 60 actions have been 
written/expressed in the NMLS. 
 
Ms. Buchi indicates an RFP is going out to modernize the NMLS and make it more 
user-friendly.   
 
This morning the Division submitted a “two factor authentication” which requests 
the ability for us as a state agency to view what the non-depository registrants are 
doing on the NMLS.  As of April 18, 2015 the Division will be able to view, for 
example, people that have registered with DFI.  It is secure software with two 
different sets of log-ins.  This will benefit our staff in terms of individuals who may 
be coming from the banking side to the real estate side, and see their disclosures 
and histories.  The reverse is not true in that depositories will not be able to look at 
the testing or education for our licensees. 
 
The 20-hour NMLS education currently has no “shelf life” on the time limit.  
Discussions are underway that in 2017 there will be a three-year expiration date.  If 
someone expires in Utah beyond the expiration date, we make them re-take the 
15-hour Utah portion.   
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There are some changes being made to the mortgage call reports by making them 
more streamline and user-friendly. 
 
There are 47 agencies have adopted the UST (“Uniform State Test”).  Ten agencies 
have not adopted the UST.  Ms. Buchi had quite a few people asking her when Utah 
is going to adopt the test, and her reply was always that the Division believes that 
applicants need to be up to speed on our statutes and rules before they are 
licensed.  The common response from those asking was that most states 
accommodate that by having a CE class that is required every year of their 
licensees.  Utah does both. 
 
The NMLS is trying to make the test more secure by wanting every question 
randomized on their tests.  Every test taker will have a different version of the test. 
They seem hyper-secure on some things, but not on others.  The UST seems to not 
test state laws, but yet they are very concerned about on-line education.  They are 
concerned about other people signing up for a course and having another complete 
the course.  NMLS is considering web cams on everyone’s computers that will 
confirm who is actually taking the test.  Other examples are biometric keyboards 
that measures fingerprints, or pop-up knowledge based questions to make sure 
that the person taking the test is the person that is licensed.  
 
Mr. Fagergren said registration forms for the Division’s 2015 Caravan are now on 
the Division’s website.  This year there are nine different locations, with one site 
already full for registrations.  As a reminder, the three-hour Caravan will fulfill the 
two-hour Utah Law CE requirement for mortgage licensees. 
 
There are no stipulations to review this month. 
 
Commission and Industry Issues – Justin Barney 
Mr. Barney said the third option for the lending manager experience has been 
effective since February 10, 2015.   
 
There are no stipulations for review this month. 
 
A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Chair Hiatt, yes; Vice Chair 
Miller, yes; Commissioner Richards, yes; Commissioner Gardner, yes.  The meeting 
adjourned at 9:23 a.m. 
 


