
 
 

Issued: 5/30/2014 

State of Utah  
Department of Commerce 

Division of Real Estate 

LICENSING CHECKLIST FOR: 

PRE-LICENSE INSTRUCTOR 
Real Estate

160 East 300 South, PO Box 146711, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711 
Telephone (801) 530-6747 • Facsimile (801) 526-4387 • Internet: www.realestate.utah.gov 

All the following items are required and must be completed in order to obtain a license for a Real Estate Pre-
License Instructor.  If the application is not complete at the time of submission, it will delay approval and 
could result in a denial.  Fees are nonrefundable and are due at the time of application submission.  
Application must be made at least 30 days prior to the first class offering. 
 
For 120-Hour Sales Agent Course: 
 

1.   Affirmation of high school diploma or equivalent. 
 

2.   Evidence of five years experience in the real estate profession as a licensee, relevant  
college-level education related to the course subject, or expertise on the subject proposed to be 
taught.  

 
3.   Evidence of 12 months full-time teaching experience or participation in the two day Division  

      Instructor Development Workshop. 
 

4.   Evidence of successfully passing the Sales Agent exam within the past six months with a 
      score of at least 80%. 
 

5.   Name and license number of certified prelicensing school for which applicant will work with 
      signature of school director. 
 

6.   Signed statement allowing the course to be randomly audited by a Division 
            representative. 
 
7.    Evidence of being a licensed sales agent or broker. 

 
8.   Documentation for any “yes” answers as required. 

 
9.   Completed Certification of Legal Presence form. 

 
10.   Non-refundable $75 application fee. 

 
For 120-Hour Broker Course, provide the above and the additional item listed below: 
 

11.   Evidence of at least two years experience in the subjects you will teach: Brokerage  
Manager, Advanced Real Estate Law, Advanced Appraisal, Advanced Finance, and Advanced 
Property Management as per rule: R162-2f-206d(3)(a)-(e). 

 
12.   Evidence of being a licensed associate broker, branch broker, principal broker, or as outlined in 

      R162-2f-206d(3). 
 

13.   Evidence of passing the broker exam with a score of 80% or more. 
 
I certify that I have submitted the above items in a completed form and I understand that an incomplete 
application could result in delays or a denial. 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date of Application 



 
 

Rev.9/25/2013 160 East 300 South, PO Box 146711, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711 
Telephone (801) 530-6747 • Facsimile (801) 526-4387 • Internet: www.realestate.utah.gov • Email: realestate@utah.gov 

State of Utah  
Department of Commerce 

Division of Real Estate 
REAL ESTATE PRE-LICENSE INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION 

Page 1 of 2 

Complete and submit this form, the items listed below, and $75 non-refundable fee to the Division by fax, mail, email, or in person. 
 

**APPLICATIONS MUST BE SUBMITTED NOT LESS THAN 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE FIRST CLASS** 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Name: ______________________________________________________________________  Ph: __________________________  

Address: _______________________________________________________________Email:  _____________________________ 

Social Security Number: (Social Security Verification Form Required) __________________________________________________ 

Pre-license School(s): __________________________________________________________  Ph: ___________________________ 

School Director Signature: ______________________________________________________  Ph: ___________________________ 

(   ) 120-Hour Sales Agent Course – Provide evidence of high school diploma or equivalent AND five years experience in real estate 
profession or relevant college-level education related to the course subject AND twelve months full-time teaching experience or 
attendance at the Division Instructor Development Workshop AND successfully passing the Sales Agent exam. 
 
(   ) 120-Hour Broker Course – In addition to items above, provide evidence of at least two years experience in the subjects you will 
teach: Brokerage Management, Advanced Real Estate Law, Advanced Appraisal, Advanced Finance, Advanced Property Management. 
 
Yes    No 
       1.  Are you at least 18 years of age? 
 
       2.  Do you attest that you have a high school diploma or GED? 
 
       3.  Have you EVER had a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or 

      similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) denied, revoked, or 
      suspended?  

 
       4.  Have you EVER had a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or 

similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) sanctioned? Sanctions include, but are 
not limited to, having a credential restricted, limited, placed on probation, being required to pay a fine or 
penalty, take education, or comply with any other condition? 
 

       5.  Have you EVER been sanctioned or banned from engaging in any activity by Freddie Mac, Fannie 
      Mae, FHA (HUD), VA, or similar organization for any period of time or for any reason?  
 

       6.  Have you EVER been ordered to cease and desist from any conduct related to a professional or 
occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or similar authorization to work in a professional or 
occupational capacity)? 
 

       7.  Have you EVER allowed a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, 
or similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) to expire or lapse while you were 
under investigation by a regulatory or licensing body, or while a regulatory action was pending against you? 
 

       8.  Do you have knowledge of any complaint, investigation, or disciplinary action CURRENTLY 
      ongoing or pending against you by a regulatory or licensing body? 

(  ) Check    (  ) Visa    (  ) MasterCard    (  ) American Express 

Make checks payable to: Utah Division of Real Estate 

Card # ____________________________________  Expires __________ 

Signature _________________________________ CCV_____________ 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Date Reviewed _______________  By _______ 
 
(   ) Denied     (   ) Approved 
 
Certification _________________  Exp. ______ 
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Yes  No 
       9.  Have you EVER been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, class A  

misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense? A traffic offense can be prosecuted as a 
felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense. Where this is the case 
disclosure is required. 
 

       10.  Have you EVER resolved a felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable 
criminal offense through a plea in abeyance, diversion agreement, withheld judgment, or other method 
whereby a charge was held in suspense during a period of time in which you were on probation or were 
obligated to comply with conditions outlined by a court?  A traffic offense can be prosecuted as a felony, class 
A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense. Where this is the case disclosure is 
required. 

 
       11.  Currently, are you aware of any investigation(s), indictment(s), or criminal charge(s) for any crime 

        in any jurisdiction which are pending against you? 
 

       12.  Have you EVER been courts martial or discharged other than honorably from any branch of the 
            armed services? 
 
       13.  Have you EVER been required to register as a sex offender? 
 
       14.  Have you EVER had a judgment entered against you in a civil court or in a bankruptcy court on the 

basis of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit, or in any matter related to the purchase, sale,  management, 
finance, loan origination, or valuation of real estate? 

 
       15.  Have you EVER been found in contempt of court? 
 
I hereby certify that I have read each disclosure question stated above, that I understand each question, and that I have 
answered the questions truthfully and accurately. I agree to be bound by the answers I have provided, and I understand that 
I may be sanctioned if any of my answers are found to be misleading or incorrect. 
 
YES answers require a detailed letter of explanation and copies of all court documents including charging and judgment 
documents; court dockets; and proof of completion of probation and restitution orders and payment of fines and judgments. 
 
 
Signature ___________________________________________________  Date ______________________________ 
 



Rev 3/3/2014                Fax to:  801-526-4387  or   Email to:  realestate@utah.gov 

CERTIFICATION OF LEGAL PRESENCE 
FOR UTAH REAL ESTATE, MORTGAGE, APPRAISER, AND TIMESHARE 

APPLICANTS 
 
 
APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE: 
 
This document must be completed, signed, and submitted with your application to the Utah 
Department of Commerce in order to obtain your license. For each section, check the statement 
that applies to you and enter the data on the line provided before sending it to the Utah 
Department of Commerce. 
 
Industry/Type:   Appraiser     Appraiser Trainee       Mortgage     Real Estate     
           Timeshare               License or NMLS number: _____________________  
  
Social Security Number:  _______________________________________________________ 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury that: 
 

□ I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number: ___________________ State:  _____________________ 

 

□ I am a citizen of the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License or US State 
ID.  Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify 
you are a legal citizen of the United States. 

 

□ I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I 
have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 

 License/State ID Number:  ___________________ State:  _____________________ 
 

□ I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I 
do not have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  Please attach a legible copy of your 
current and valid government issued document showing evidence of authorization to work 
in the United States. 

 
I hereby certify that I have read and understood this document, and that the information I have 
provided is true and accurate. 
 
Name: __________________________________________ 
 
Signature: _______________________________________ 
 
Date: ___________________________________________ 
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