REAL ESTATE COMMISSION MEETING
Heber M. Wells Building
Room 210
9:00 a.m.
March 18, 2009

MINUTES

DIVISION STAFF PRESENT:

Mark B. Steinagel, Division Director

Dee Johnson, Enforcement Director

Mark Fagergren, Education and Licensing Director
Traci Gundersen, Assistant Attorney General
Renda Christensen, Board Secretary

Julie Price, Assistant Board Secretary

Carlos Alamilla, Investigator

Chuck Smalley, Investigator

Tiffeni Wall, Real Estate Education Coordinator
Jennica Robison, Division Staff

Jill Childs, Division Staff

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:
Doyle “Sam” Sampson, Chair

Gary R. Hancock, Vice Chair

H. Blaine Walker, Commissioner

Kay R. Ashton, Commissioner

Stefanie Tugaw-Madsen, Commissioner

GUESTS:

Kevin Swenson
Tammy Lund
Curtis Bullock
Linda Leavitt
Irene Kennedy

The March 18, 2009 meeting of the Utah Real Estate Commission began at 9:00
a.m. with Chair Sampson conducting.

PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS
Approval of Minutes
The Minutes from the February 18, 2009 meeting were approved as written.

DIVISION REPORTS

DIRECTOR’S REPORT — Mark B. Steinagel

Director Steinagel said that Ms. Christensen was back from a medical leave and
they were pleased to have her back.




Director Steinagel said the legislative session ended last week. The average state
cut was approximately 9%. The Title and Escrow Minimum Charge Rule has been
eliminated.

Director Steinagel made a recommendation to the prelicensing and continuing
education rules. After meeting with staff, the proposed transition time for both
rules would become effective January 1, 2010. This would allow applicants to
complete the 120 hours of prelicense education that complies with the course
content outline adopted by the Commission and Division. An applicant for licensure
may submit 90 hours of prelicense education if the applicant began the prelicense
education program prior to January 1, 2010, and the applicant submitted the
completed education prior to December 31, 2010.

Beginning January 1, 2010, an applicant for renewal shall complete 18 hours of
continuing education in accordance with R162-9, Continuing Education.

After discussion with the Commission, it was suggested that the hours for a 90-
hour applicant must be completed by March 31, 2010. A motion was made to
change the date from December 31, 2009 to March 31, 2010. The motion was
passed unanimously.

A motion was made and passed unanimously to accept the rule on pre-licensing
education.

Director Steinagel discussed the raising of continuing education hours to 18 hours
and when it would take effect. He suggested the Division have at least three
newsletters announcing the change, and have the effective date be January 1,
2010. A motion was made and passed unanimously to accept the rule on
continuing education.

ENFORCEMENT REPORT — Dee Johnson

Mr. Johnson reported in the month of February the Division received 39 complaints;
screened 36 complaints; opened 7 cases; closed 13 cases; with the balance of 116
total cases.

Chair Sampson said Utah had dropped out of top ten on the MARI report. Director
Steinagel said there have been several media reports on this issue. He believes
that the acts of the Division and Commission before he got here really made a
positive difference. Passing and organizing the Mortgage Fraud Task Force has
been a huge help. Passing the Mortgage Fraud Act, the public service
announcements, the increased enforcement actions were all a big help.

Mr. Johnson said that MARI looks at what the state has done to improve their

situation. They have given the Division positive response that most steps we have
taken from the legislative standpoint, enforcement standpoint, and the criminal
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prosecution standpoint all seem to be paying off. Mr. Johnson said this report was
for the year 2008 and Director Steinagel needs to be thanked for his help.

The Division is receiving numerous complaints, some of which we are seeing for the
first time. Short sale experts, foreclosure rescue schemes, and loan modifications
are some of the new complaints. Anyone participating in these would need to be
licensed with the Division.

Mr. Johnson said the news has done stories on the abandonment of records, and it
has pretty much been on the mortgage side. However, the Division has had a
couple of cases on the real estate side. One of the stipulations you will see today
deals with this topic.

There are five stipulations being presented to the Commission. The respondents
were given the chance to appear to answer any questions the Commission might
have and declined to attend.

Review of Stipulation:
Bryce Jones

Sayra L. Underhill
Amber Eves

Hedy Calabrese
Shawn Kennedy

Mr. Johnson wanted to compliment our Enforcement staff and their hard work. The
Division newsletters which used to be mostly information and a few sanctions now
are half sanctions.

EDUCATION AND LICENSING REPORT — Mark Fagergren

Mr. Fagergren wanted to give his thanks and appreciation to the Enforcement side
for their good work for the reduction on the MARI list. It took a lot of work on their
part and we congratulate them for their hard work.

The statistics show there are a little less than 1,500 in licensee reduction over the
last eleven months if you factor in inactivations.

Mr. Fagergren wanted to thank the Commission for their consideration in Director
Steinagel’s two proposals. They were reasoned in this respect: the rule dealing
with prelicense education really is attempting to give educators time to get ready
for a new curriculum; and the other change is CE and the educators are anxious to
increase hours to 18 hours. However, allowing time for licensees to receive the
additional six hours of CE is a sound idea.

Mr. Fagergren said there are a number of issues with education that needs to be
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addressed. First, should the core course remain the same topics at six hours?
Should it increase it to 9 hours (half of the requirement)? Should we do away with
the core course? The new agent course is twelve hours and that satisfied the entire
requirement. Are you satisfied with that twelve hours and have the licensee taking
an additional six hours, or should this be increased to the entire 18 hours?

Continuing Education providers have a two-year course approval, and they can
teach it as often as they want for two years. Some providers have courses that just
teach the course at an event even though the course is valid for two years. There
is a problem with this provider teaching the same course the following year in that
if the same people attend the second year they can’t get credit for taking the same
course twice. These licensees are being told in cases such as this that they need to
take more CE. To prevent this from happening, providers have requested that
perhaps they can obtain a course for one year to prevent the type of situation.

Mr. Fagergren said with the increase in hours the Division is receiving applications
for courses that stretch the limit on topics. He asked the Commission for some
feedback on what type of courses they would like to see. Director Steinagel said
they would get back with Mr. Fagergren on ideas and see what other states are
doing. Vice Chair Hancock suggested that the Division continue to present topics
to help cut down on the review time the Commission must spend on the issue.

Commissioner Walker said he recently had a problem with a staff member of his
trying to find a course on trust accounts. The Division is charged with overseeing
trust accounts and making sure they are done properly. After several calls to
schools, they found a trust account course that was included in their broker class.
Commissioner Walker is suggesting the Division offer the course and suggested that
perhaps the Division make an outline of what needs to be taught.

COMMISSION AND INDUSTRY ISSUES — Sam Sampson
Commissioner Ashton said he will not be available at the next Commission meeting
in April. He wanted to make sure there would be a full quorum.

Commissioner Tugaw-Madsen asked if the Apartment Association has rescheduled
time before the Commission. Director Steinagel said they have not at this time.
Mr. Johnson said that when the Division receives complaints about unlicensed
activity it is always investigated.

A Motion was made and accepted at 10:16 a.m. to close the meeting for licensing
hearing.

LICENSE HEARINGS: CLOSED TO PUBLIC
10:30 Tigh Gunderson — Application for Renewal

Mr. Gunderson sent the Division an e-mail stating he would not be
at the hearing today and did not want to reschedule.
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A motion was made and accepted to go into Executive Session from 10:43 a.m. to
10:50 a.m.

10:50 John Andrew Armstrong — Appeal of Order

A motion was made and accepted to go into Executive Session from 11:36 a.m. to
12:00 p.m.

1:27 Douglas Bates — Continuation of Disciplinary Hearing
Those in attendance:
Director Mark Steinagel Mark Fagergren
Dee Johnson Traci Gundersen
Chuck Smalley Van Kagie
Commissioner Ashton Commissioner Tugaw-Madsen
Chair Sampson Vice Chair Hancock
Commissioner Walker Julie Price
Steve Eklund, ALJ Kelly Fine-Jensen, Court Reporter
Justin D. Heideman, Attorney Justin R. Elswick, Attorney

A motion was made and accepted to go into Executive Session from 2:35
p.m. to 2:49 p.m.

RESULTS OF EXECUTIVE SESSION
Results of Stipulations:

Bryce Jones - Approved

Sayra L. Underhill - Approved
Amber Eves - Approved

Hedy Calabrese - Approved
Shawn Kennedy - Approved

A Motion was made and accepted to adjourn the meeting at 2:55 p.m. The Motion
was passed unanimously.



