APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION BOARD
HEBER M. WELLS BUILDING
ROOM 2B
June 23, 2010
9:00 A.M.
TELEPHONIC MEETING

MINUTES

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Deanna Sabey, Division Director

Dee Johnson, Enforcement Director

Traci Gundersen, Assistant Attorney General
Jennie Jonsson, Hearing Officer

Renda Christensen, Board Secretary

Craig Livingston, Investigator

Jill Childs, Assistant Board Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Ron Smith, Chair — In person

Craig Morley, Vice Chair — By phone
Debra Sjoblom, Board Member — By phone
Paul Throndsen, Board Member — By phone
Jeanette Payne, Board Member — By phone

GUESTS

Austin Christensen Niel Jensen
Kevin Prowell Allen Larsen
Bill Lifferth Joel Frost
Ryan Sedgwick

The June 23, 2010 meeting of the Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board began at 9:00

a.m. with Chair Smith conducting.

PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS
Approval of Minutes

The Minutes for the May 26, 2010 meeting were reviewed and found to have one correction.
On page 4, the word “book” should be changed to “bulk.” A motion was made to approve the
Minutes as corrected. Vote: Chair Smith, yes; Vice Chair Morley, yes; Board Member
Throndsen, yes; Board Member Debra Sjoblom, yes; Board Member Payne, yes. The motion

carries.

DIVISION REPORTS
DIRECTOR’S REPORT - Deanna Sabey




Director Sabey took the opportunity to recognize Chair Smith for his four years of service to
the Board and the Division. She presented him a plaque as a token of appreciation and
thanked him for his contributions and service to the industry.

Director Sabey announced the replacement for Chair Smith was just appointed by the
Governor, and will be Daniel Brammer. The Senate confirmation process is taking place
today. Mr. Brammer will join the Appraiser Board in July.

There are 81 AMCs registered with the Division as of June 22, 2010. This number has been
increasing on a regular basis.

Director Sabey reviewed AMC legislation throughout the country and wanted to share her
results today. In late 2008 there was a joint effort of a number of groups that decided to put
together draft model legislation for Appraisal Management Company regulation. Those
groups were the Appraisal Institute; American Society of Appraisers; American Society of
Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers; and the National Association of Independent Fee
Appraisers. Shortly after the draft model legislation was prepared and released for comment,
Utah was the first state to enact AMC regulations. There were two states immediately
following: New Mexico and Arkansas. Since that time, there are now a total of 18 states that
have AMC laws on their books. There are a number of states ready to enact laws: Missouri;
North Carolina; Ohio; Pennsylvania.

In comparing the legislation in these various states, Director Sabey noticed there are some
provisions that are in common with Utah’s provisions, and some that are different. Some of
the differences involve the requirement of surety bonds, generally in the amounts of $20,000
to $25,000. The Division of Real Estate had surety bonds in the past for mortgage licensees
before the Mortgage Recovery and Education Fund. The purpose of the surety bonds is to
have a fund to compensate a consumer who is damaged by egregious activity; there is a way
to make a claim against the surety bond for recompense. Some states have Appraiser Fee
escrow requirements, where the funds will go into an escrow account until the deal is
complete, and then the funds are released. Other states do not have the Appraiser Boards
govern AMCs, and they use the Consumer Protection Divisions or their licensing divisions.
A few states have fees paid directly from the lender to the appraiser, and then have the AMC
bill the lender directly for the AMC fee. Other differences include the use of fee schedules;
requirements that all of the control persons have passed USPAP courses; exemptions for bank
owned AMCs (this is not in Utah); and a process for review of a decision that an AMC has
made to remove an appraiser.

The Division held its first Salt Lake City Caravan presentation last Thursday. It was well
received, and there were approximately 200+ in attendance.

ENFORCEMENT REPORT - Dee Johnson
Mr. Johnson reported in May the Division received 6 complaints; screened 2 complaints;
opened 6 cases; closed 2 cases; leaving the total number of appraiser cases at 92.

Mr. Johnson said the Division has received its first complaint against AMC conduct.
There is one Stipulation for the Board’s review:
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Kent Wilkey, CR

The respondent was offered the opportunity to attend the meeting today, but has declined to
do so. Mr. Livingston was the investigator on the case and is available for any questions the
Board might have regarding the Stipulation.

EDUCATION AND LICENSING REPORT - Dee Johnson
Mr. Fagergren is out this week, and Ms. Westbroek is out for today. Mr. Johnson will give
the report for education and licensing for this meeting.

The licensing numbers for May show a decrease in two trainees, but the figure for licensed
appraisers went up by the same amount. Other numbers show the same slight increases
and/or changes, and the total number of licensees and entities has slightly risen to 2,211.

Mr. Johnson presented the following list to the Board:

Certified and Licensed Appraiser Applicants Approved by both Education and Experience
Review Committees:

Richard R. Matheson, CG Candidate

Cameron Chris Wright, CR Candidate

Kelby Wegwitz, LA Candidate

Certified and Licensed Appraiser Applicants Approved by Education Review Committee and
Denied by Experience Review Committee
William K. Cole, Jr., CR Candidate

Discipline List for Board’s Consideration
Aaron J. Brown
William H. Pruett, 111

COMMISSION AND INDUSTRY ISSUES

Discussion: Proposed Rules — Jennie Jonsson

Ms. Jonsson said there is a need at the Division to have a system to track the business address
and the business affiliation of appraisers and trainees. The Division has proposed a definition
of the term “affiliation,” and has drafted rules that require an applicant for licensure provide
to us a business and a home address, and the name and business address of any appraisal
companies with which the applicant is affiliated. Similarly, when an appraiser or trainee
moves from one appraisal company to another, a change card must be filled out and submitted
to the Division.

In addition, the Division would propose a change to the trainee registration rule so as to
require the trainee to submit the name of the state-certified appraiser(s) with whom the trainee
will affiliate, and the name and business address of any appraisal company with which the
trainee is affiliated. A change card must be filled out and submitted when the trainee changes
a supervising appraiser or an appraisal company. These rules would give us the information
we need to find licensees and trainees through their home address or business address or
through a company or another appraiser with whom they were affiliated.



The discussion of “Day” vs. “Business Day” is in this same rule draft, and will be discussed at
this time as well. The State has adopted a four-day work week, and the Administration of the
Department of Commerce has asked us to go through our rules and identify sections where we
refer to deadlines or use the word “day” to make sure our rules still work since the change to
the four-day work week. The proposed definition of “day” says that unless specified as
“business day,” the term “day” means calendar day. An example would be if someone were
given ten days to respond to a notice, it would mean calendar days. A “business day” is a day
other than a Saturday, Sunday, or a federal or state holiday. This definition is consistent with
the statutory definitions in the other professions (real estate and mortgage).

It was also brought to the Division’s attention that in order to have electronic meetings we are
supposed to have a rule in place to govern the purpose of the meeting. Proposed rule R162-
109-7, Electronic Meetings, states the meetings may convene to conduct business that is
unrelated to a hearing. The public may attend the meeting, but a separate electronic
connection may not be provided for or used by members of the public.

Chair Smith suggested that under R162-101.2.1, the definition of the word “affiliation,”
should be changed to read “...between a trainee, a state-licensed appraiser, or a state-certified
appraiser and..” Under (a), it was suggested that an addition of “government agency” be
added, so (a) would now read “an appraisal company, or government agency; or..” Ms.
Jonsson will search the remainder of the rule to make sure this change is consistent in the
language.

It was suggested that Ms. Jonsson draft language to carve out an exemption so that a one-time
affiliation with a company does not have to be reported to the Division.

There is no language that can be voted on today because Ms. Jonsson will draft a carve out.
There will be a new draft presented in the next meeting to be voted on at that time.

Discussion: AMC Rules — Jennie Jonsson

The AMC Rules Committee has helped draft additions and changes to the existing AMC
rules. One of the primary things done was to create a definition for “competency statement.”
This is a statement where the appraisers sign they are 1) competent to do each job according
to Utah standards, 2) recognize and agree to comply with laws and regulations, assignment
conditions, scope of work outlined by the client, and 3) have independent access to the
records necessary to complete a competent appraisal, including MLS listings and county
records.

There is a requirement that the AMC present this competency statement to the appraiser at the
time that the job is offered, and this should take care of many concerns about AMCs allowing
appraisers to complete jobs where they are not geographically competent or don’t have access
to records. The responsibility will be on the appraiser to be competent, but the AMC plays
some part in ensuring competence.

The AMC committee created a definition of “client”, but Ms. Jonsson found the Division
currently has a definition in place in statute. She suggested the committee strike the new
wording and just refer to the statute for a definition.



There is also a definition for the word “select.” The statute says that AMCs select appraisers
to be on the panel and select someone from the panel to complete a job.

A new section (3) was added that requires the AMC to register with the Division in the name
of the legal entity under which it conducts the business of appraisal management in Utah, and
in other states. The AMC shall notify the Division of a DBA, trade name, or assumed
business name under which the legal entity operates in Utah.

Other sections in the rule have been added to cover use of licensed or certified appraisers;
adherence to standards; and recordkeeping. Changes and additions were made to the required
disclosure section.

The section on unprofessional conduct brought changes and additions. The new draft states
that unless first prohibited by the client or applicable law, an AMC may not prohibit or inhibit
an appraiser from contacting the lender; real estate licensee; or any other person with whom
the appraiser reasonably needs to communicate in order to obtain information necessary to
complete a credible appraisal report.

Board Member Payne has submitted language to rewrite the definition of “select,” and it was
discussed and reviewed by the Division, Board, and members of the public. Chair Smith
called for a motion to exchange the wording on (4) “select” to the wording proposed by Board
Member Payne. Vote: Vote: Chair Smith, no; Vice Chair Morley, no; Board Member
Throndsen, no; Board Member Debra Sjoblom, no; Board Member Payne, yes. The motion is
defeated.

Chair Smith opened discussion to review each page of the proposed rule. Under (3)
“Competency statement”, item (iv)(A), “MLS” should be written out specifically to say
“Multiple Listing Service.” Under the same section, item (iv) states the appraiser must have
independent access to the records necessary to complete a competent appraisal. Discussion
was held on the term “independent access” to the Multiple Listing Service, and Ms. Jonsson
said the wording can be changed to read “disinterested third party.” Chair Smith pointed out
that USPAP prefers using “credible” instead of “competent,” and it was approved by the
Board to make this change in wording. Chair Smith recommended changing the term
“Multiple Listing Service” to add the word “data.”

In Section 201 Registration required — qualification for registration, item (3)(b) it was
suggested to add a 10-day deadline, so it would read “An AMC shall notify the division
within ten days...” Ms. Jonsson will also include a definition of “day.”

In Section 302 Adherence to standards, Chair Smith suggested the wording might be changed
to add the word “assignment” after “appraisal.”

In Section 303 Recordkeeping, Chair Smith suggested the change from “firm” to “entity.”
In Section 304 Required disclosure, Chair Smith suggested in item (b)(iii) the language mirror

USPAP, and change the wording from “professional involvement” to “have been involved
with any service...”



In Section 305 Employee requirements, Chair Smith suggested changing item (b) to remove
the wording “six months after initial registration.”

In Section 401 Unprofessional conduct, Chair Smith said the paragraphs need to be
renumbered after the changes. Vice Chair Morley pointed out that (i) should read “client”
instead of “lender.” A motion was made to make the change in (i) and leave the remaining
part of (c) as currently written. Vote: Chair Smith, yes; Vice Chair Morley, yes; Board
Member Throndsen, yes; Board Member Debra Sjoblom, yes; Board Member Payne, yes.
The motion carries.

In section 401 (c)(ii), Ms. Jonsson suggested the term “real estate licensee” be change to read
“person licensed under Section 61-2(f).” Under (g), Chair Smith suggested changing
“facilitating” to *“originating.” After opening this suggestion to the Board and public, there
were no further comments. The language remains the same.

Ms. Jonsson will take all of the above changes and come up with another draft for next
month’s meeting. A copy of the draft will be sent out to the Board and the AMC Rule
Committee before the meeting.

Chair Smith proposed two recommended changes to 401 Unprofessional conduct under
sections (3) and (4). There were several written comments on these two recommendations.
All three of these individuals want their comments as part of the record. Chair Smith asked
for comments from the Division, Board, and public.

Director Sabey said the most significant concern the Division has, and it could stop the
discussion at this point, is that both of these recommended rules go beyond the scope of the
Board’s rulemaking authority, because these are things that need to be addressed in statute
and not in rule. These recommendations can be reviewed at the time we are reviewing the
statute for any revisions, but they are outside the scope of authority for these particular
provisions to be inserted into the rule.

Having said that, Chair Smith’s proposed provision #(3) which deals with indemnification,
would need to be revised so that it is crafted to allow an AMC to require indemnification as to
the appraiser’s misconduct, but to prohibit a AMC from requiring an appraiser to indemnity
against damages resulting from the AMC’s misconduct.

With regard to Chair Smith’s proposed provision #(4), it is of great concern. The Division
believes it might be illegal and would need to seek opinion from the Attorney General’s office
with regards to that provision. A similar provision was proposed in New Mexico, SB 138,
that caps fees in a similar matter at 10% of the appraisal costs. However, there was a change
from the original draft to the final draft, presumably because they determined as well that this
was illegal.

Chair Smith said if these two recommendations go beyond the scope of the language in the
statute, they probably won’t hold water and we should not pass them. Chair Smith told the
Board how he arrived at these two recommendations, and what laws he was relying on. If the
Board agrees there is backing, then we can continue the discussion. If the Board agrees there
is no backing in law for this sort of rule, then we will cut it off at this point.
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First, Chair Smith’s proposal #(3) says an appraisal management company commits
unprofessional conduct if they require the appraiser to sign any indemnification agreement. A
typical indemnification agreement that the appraiser sign says: “If a mortgage lender is
required to repurchase a mortgage loan for any reason, in any way related to, or resulting from
an appraisal report submitted by an appraiser, the appraiser shall pay the company an amount
equal to the repurchase price paid by such mortgage lender to repurchase such a mortgage
loan.” This says, “in any way related to”, or if there is any problem with the appraisal then
the appraiser is on the hook to repurchase the loan and make a check for that loan amount to
the appraisal management company.

At AARO, they said that individual appraisers are signing these because they lack the power
to say No. It (AARO) says it attributes this to a fear instilled in many appraisers that is
currently causing appraisals to come in low. AARO is concerned that all of a sudden the
issues about bad appraisals are not coming in too high; they are coming in too low.

Chair Smith said someone reading that might feel intimidated, coerced, or induced if they
lacked the power to say No. He made reference to the law in state statute 61-2-307, which
says “the appraisal management company may not influence or attempt to influence the
development reporting of an appraisal through: (a) coercion, (f) inducement, (g) intimidation,
(i) any other matter that causes undue influence.” The next section of the law, this is state
law, “a violation of this subsection includes doing one or more of the following: any other act
or practice that impairs or attempts to impair an appraiser’s independent objectivity or
impartiality.” Chair Smith is concerned that AMCs are, through the use of indemnification
agreements, indicating that if one mistake is on your appraisal, you might end up paying the
whole loan. This is a form of intimidation, inducement, and coercion. Therefore, the rule that
Chair Smith recommends is based on the prohibition that we have to make sure that our
appraisers are not intimidated, coerced, or induced.

Comments from the Board: Board Member Sjoblom, does not have the expertise to make that
decision; Board Member Throndsen, he understands where Chair Smith is coming from, and
he thinks that his argument makes a lot of sense, but he doesn’t believe he has the knowledge
or ability to implement it. Director Sabey said, just for the record, the Division isn’t opposed
to this rule in concept, it just believes it is inappropriate in rule and needs to be in statute.
Comments were made from Mr. Sedgwick, Mr. Christensen, Mr. Jensen, and Mr. Lifferth.
Chair Smith asked the Board if they were willing to consider the recommended wording in his
proposal #(3) knowing that the Division has questions as to whether or not it oversteps the
law: Chair Smith, yes; Board Member Throndsen, yes; Vice Chair Morley, no; Board
Member Sjoblom, no; Board Member Payne, no. Chair Smith asked the Board for all of those
who want to add (3) to the Unprofessional conduct statute: Chair Smith, yes; Board Member
Throndsen, yes, Board Member Payne, yes. Vice Chair Morley and Board Member Sjoblom
did not vote. Board Member Sjoblom left the meeting for a previous appointment.

Director Sabey stated for the record, the Division is unable to enforce rules that are outside
the statutes. If this did become rule, before we could enforce it, we would need an opinion
from the Attorney General’s office.



Chair Smith introduced recommended language for #(4). Director Sabey stated for the record,
this not only is this not in statute, but it is illegal to set fees. The Division will need to get an
opinion from the Attorney General’s office. Chair Smith based his recommendations on
statute 61-2(e)-304(ii), “the Board may define by rule (a) what constitutes the total
compensation that an Appraisal Management Company pays to an appraiser who performs a
real estate activity except that the rule shall provide for disclosing this amount (1) as a dollar
amount, or (2) as a percentage of the total amount charged to the client by an Appraisal
Management Company.” Comments were made from Mr. Sedgwick, Mr. Larsen, Mr. Jensen,
Mr. Prowell, Mr. Christensen, and Mr. Lifferth. Chair Smith asked the Board if they were
willing to consider the recommended wording in (4) knowing that the Division has questions
as to whether or not it oversteps the law and is illegal: Chair Smith, yes; Board Member
Throndsen, no; Vice Chair Morley, no; Board Member Sjoblom, absent; Board Member
Payne, no.

Discussion: Use of MLS Photos Used in Appraisals — Craig Morley

Vice Chair Morley said the Appraisal Institute asked why the Appraisal Board was
prohibiting the use of MLS photos, and that it is not a USPAP requirement. For the public’s
information, the Appraisal Board was running into problems when we were doing experience
reviews. We had discovered that a number of appraisals were being rejected by the experience
reviewers. They were finding that every photo being used in the appraisal was out of the
MLS. As the Board brought people in and asked them about their work, we would ask them
if they physically inspected the comparable sales in accordance with the scope of work
defined by the appraisal. In almost every case, the appraisers would indicate they had not.
The Board determined, for purposes of experience reviews, to instruct the experience
reviewers that if there was a large number of MLS photos being used in the appraisal, to reject
the appraisal and have the person come before the Board and testify that they had in fact
inspected those comparable sales. The Board recognized that USPAP did not require, or have
any kind of requirement, that you not use MLS photos or photos provided by a third party.
The only concern and problem that the Board had was that people were violating USPAP by
not completing the scope of work, and certifying that they had done things that were not done.

Vice Chair Morley wanted to make it clear that no appraiser was every disciplined for just
using an MLS photo if they had inspected the property.

Discussion: Scope of Authority for Licensed Appraisers on Vacant Land — Paul Throndsen
Board Member Throndsen would like to table this discussion until the next meeting. He is
waiting for input from residential appraisers.

CLOSED TO PUBLIC

A motion was made to go into Executive Session. Vote: Chair Smith, yes; Vice Chair
Morley, yes; Board Member Throndsen, yes; Board Member Payne, yes. The above Board
Members have voted to close this meeting for the sole purpose of discussing the character,
professional competency, physical and mental health of the individual. The Executive
Session was held from 12:23 p.m. to 1:07 p.m.

Executive Session: The Strategy Session to Discuss Pending Litigation — Blaine Ferguson
and Traci Gundersen, Assistant Attorneys General.
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OPEN TO PUBLIC
Certified and Licensed Appraiser Applicants Approved by both Education and Experience
Review Committees:
The Board has upheld the decisions made by the Committees:
Richard R. Matheson, CG Candidate
Cameron Chris Wright, CR Candidate
Kelby Wegwitz, LA Candidate

Certified and Licensed Appraiser Applicants Approved by Education Review Committee and
Denied by Experience Review Committee

The Board has upheld the decisions made by the Committees:

*William K. Cole, Jr., CR Candidate

*Chair Smith has recused himself

Discipline List for Board’s Consideration
Aaron J. Brown - Approved
William H. Pruett, 111 - Approved

Results of Stipulation
Kent Wilkey — Approved

The Board recognized Chair Smith for his service to the Board over the years.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Chair Smith, yes; Vice Chair Morley, yes;
Board Member Throndsen, yes; Board Member Payne, yes. The meeting was adjourned at
1:09 p.m.



