|Frequently Asked Questions
Who must license?
According to Utah law, a license is required for any individual who prepares, for valuable consideration, an appraisal, appraisal report, certified appraisal report, or performs a consultation service relating to real estate. (UCA 61-2b-3)
Who is exempt from licensing?
A license is not required for the following individuals who give an opinion regarding the value of real estate (but an opinion of value may not be referred to as an "appraisal"):
- A licensed real estate Broker or Sales Agent who gives an opinion of value in the ordinary course of business.
- An employee of a company who gives an opinion of value solely for the company’s use.
- Any government official or employee acting within their scope of duties.
- An auditor or accountant who gives an opinion of value while performing an audit.
- An individual who gives an opinion of value for property in which the individual has an ownership interest.
- An individual who gives an opinion of value for which no consideration is paid and upon which no other party is reasonably expected to rely.
- An individual, such as a researcher or secretary, who does not provide significant professional assistance at arriving at analysis, opinion, or conclusion.
- An attorney authorized to practice law in Utah who uses an appraisal report or who states an opinion of value in the ordinary course of business.
Who needs to register an Appraisal Management Company?
An entity needs to register as an Appraisal Management company if it:
- Administers a network of appraisers to perform real estate appraisal activities for one or more companies;
- Receives a request for a real estate appraisal activity from a client; and for a fee paid by the client, enters into an agreement with one or more appraisers to perform real estate appraisal activity; or
- Otherwise serves as a third-party broker of an appraisal management service between a client and an appraiser .
How do I obtain a Temporary Practice Permit for a non-resident?
The State of Utah may issue a six-month Temporary Practice Permit to a non-resident who holds a license/certificate for real estate appraisal from another jurisdiction, if the license/certificate is in good standing and the nature of the business is temporary.
To obtain the Permit, submit to the Division:
NOTE: No more than 2 temporary permits will be issued per calendar year.
How do I obtain a license through reciprocity?
To apply for a license through reciprocity, submit to the Division:
- Completed and signed Appraiser Reciprocity Application.
- Letter of Request from the applicant, which includes a list of all other states in which the applicant is licensed or certified, including those states in which you may have sought only temporary status.
- $470 non-refundable fee ($350 application fee and $80 National Registry fee, $40 Fingerprint fee).
To become a Licensed Appraiser an individual must:
- Take 75 hours of approved education, including the 15 hour National USPAP course and related exam, from a certified Appraisal Pre-license School.
- Register with the Division as an Appraiser Trainee by completing the Appraiser Trainee Registration.
Note: Appraiser Trainees must work under the direct supervision of a Certified Appraiser.
- Take an additional 75 hours of approved education (for a total of 150 non-duplicative hours) from a certified Appraisal Pre-license School. Note: Beginning on January 1, 2015, a candidate for the Licensed Residential credential must successfully complete 30 hours of college-level education from an accredited institution. Applicants holding an Associate degree or higher from an accredited college, junior college, community college, or university will satisfy this 30-hour college-leve education requirement. See the complete information by clicking here.
- Accumulate a total of at least 2000 experience hours within one to five years. Document experience on the following forms:
Use the following forms for any work completed after January 1, 2015:
Use these Experience Appendices Rules to determine the allowed number of hours for each completed appraisal prior to 2015. For experience beginning in 2015, use these Experience Appendices Rules.
Note: Residential Appraiser Trainees must be accompanied by their supervisor on the first 100 interior/exterior inspections. General Appraiser Trainees must be accompanied by their supervisor for the first 20 inspections.
- Apply to sit for the Licensed Appraiser exam by submitting to the Division:
- Upon receipt of the Division’s request for specific appraisal samples, submit the requested samples.
- Upon receipt of written approval from the Appraisal Board, take and pass the Licensed Appraiser exam.
- Upon passing the Licensed Appraiser exam, submit to the Division:
- Completed and signed documentation of successfully passing the exam (issued at the testing center).
- $120 non-refundable fee ($80 National Registry Fee and $40 Fingerprinting Fee)
Note: Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.
Note: Licensed Appraisers may appraise non-complex 1-4 residential units with a value less than $1,000,000 and complex 1-4 residential units with a value less than $250,000.