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R162-2f-202b.  Principal Broker Licensing Fees and Procedures. 
(1)  To obtain a Utah license to practice as a principal broker, an individual shall: 

 (a)  evidence honesty, integrity, truthfulness, and reputation pursuant to Subsection R162-2f-

 201(1); 

 (b)  evidence competency to transact the business of real estate pursuant to Subsection 

 R162-2f-201(2); 

 (c) (i)  successfully complete 120 hours of approved prelicensing education, including: 

   (A)  45 hours of broker principles; 

   (B)  45 hours of broker practices; and 

   (C)  30 hours of Utah law and testing; or 

  (ii)  apply to the division for waiver of all or part of the education requirement by  

  virtue of: 

   (A)  completing equivalent education as part of a college undergraduate or  

   postgraduate degree program, regardless of the date of the degree; or 

   (B)  completing other equivalent real estate education within the 12-month  

   period prior to the date of application; 

 (d) (i)  apply with a testing service designated by the division to sit for the licensing  

  examination; and 

  (ii)  pay a nonrefundable examination fee to the testing center; 

 (e)  pursuant to this Subsection (3)(a), take and pass both the state and national components 

 of the licensing examination; 

 (f) (i)  unless Subsection (2)(a) applies, evidence the individual's having, within the  

  five-year period preceding the date of application, a minimum of three years   

  experience related to real estate, including the following: 

   (A)  at least two years full-time licensed, active experience selling, listing, or 

   managing the property types identified in Appendix 1; and 

   (B)  up to one year full-time professional experience related to real estate, as  

   outlined in Appendix 3; and 

  (ii)  evidence having accumulated, within the five-year period preceding the date of  

  application, a total of at least 60 experience points as follows: 

   (A)  45 to 60 points pursuant to the experience points tables found in   

   Appendices 1 and 2; and 

   (B)  0 to 15 points pursuant to the experience point table found in Appendix  

   3; 

 (g)  pursuant to this Subsection (3)(b), submit to the division an application for licensure 

 including: 

  (i)  documentation indicating successful completion of the approved broker   

  prelicensing education; 

  (ii)  a report of the examination showing a passing score for each component of the  

  examination; and 

  (iii)  the applicant's business, home, and e-mail addresses; 

 (h)  provide from any state where licensed as a real estate agent or broker: 

  (i)  a written record of the applicant's license history; and 

  (ii)  complete documentation of any disciplinary action taken against the applicant's  

  license; 

 (i)  if applying for an active license, affiliate with a registered company; 
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 (j)  pay the nonrefundable fees required for licensure, including the nonrefundable fee 

 required under Section 61-2f-505 for the Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery 

 Fund; and 

 (k)  establish real estate and property management trust accounts, as applicable pursuant to 

 Section R162-2f-403, that: 

  (i)  contain the term "real estate trust account" or "property management trust  

  account", as applicable, in the account name; and 

  (ii)  are separate from any operating account(s) of the registered entity for which the  

  individual will serve as a broker; and 

 (l)  identify the location(s) where brokerage records will be kept. 

(2) (a)  If an individual applies under this Subsection R162-2f-202b within two years of 

 allowing a principal broker license to expire, the experience required under Subsection (1)(f) 

 shall be accumulated within the seven-year period preceding the date of application. 

 (b)  Pursuant to Section R162-2f-407, an individual whose application is denied by the 

 division for failure to meet experience requirements under this Subsection (1)(f) may bring 

 the application before the commission. 

(3)  Deadlines. 

 (a)  If an individual passes one test component but fails the other, the individual shall retake 

 and pass the failed component: 

  (i)  within six months of the date on which the individual achieves a passing score on 

  the passed component; and 

  (ii)  within 12 months of the date on which the individual completes the prelicensing 

  education. 

 (b)  An application for licensure shall be submitted: 

  (i)  within 90 days of the date on which the individual achieves passing scores on  

  both examination components; and 

  (ii)  within 12 months of the date on which the individual completes the prelicensing 

  education. 

 (c)  If any deadline in this Section R162-2f-202b falls on a day when the division is closed 

 for business, the deadline shall be extended to the next business day. 

(4)  Restriction. A principal broker license may not be granted to an applicant whose sales agent 

license is on suspension or probation at the time of application. 

(5)  Dual broker licenses. 

 (a) (i)  A person who holds or obtains a dual broker license under this Subsection may  

  function as the principal broker of a property management company that is a   

  separate entity from the person's real estate brokerage. 

  (ii)  A dual broker may not conduct real estate sales activities from the separate  

  property management company. 

  (iii)  A principal broker may conduct property management activities from the  

  person's real estate brokerage: 

   (A)  without holding a dual broker license; and 

   (B)  in accordance with Subsections R162-2f-401j and R162-2f-403a-403c; 

 (b)  A dual broker who wishes to consolidate real estate and property management 

 operations into a single brokerage may: 

  (i)  at the broker's request, convert the dual broker license to a principal broker  

  license; and 
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  (ii) (A)  convert the property management company to a branch office of the real 

   estate brokerage, including the assignment of a branch broker and using the  

   same name as the real estate brokerage; or 

   (B)  close the separate property management company. 

 (c)  As of May 8, 2013: 

  (i)  the Division shall: 

   (A)  cease issuing property management principal broker (PMPB) licenses; 

   (B)  cease issuing property management company (MN) registrations except  

   as to a second company registered under a dual broker license; 

   (C)  convert any property management principal broker (PMPB) license to a  

   real estate principal broker (PB) license; and 

   (D)  as to any property management company (MN) registration that is not a  

   second company under a dual broker license, convert the registration to a  

   real estate brokerage (CN) registration; and 

  (ii)  it shall be permissible to conduct real estate sales activities under any company  

  registration that is converted pursuant to this Subsection (5)(c)(i)(C). 

 


