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TO:  Ashlie Jawn Roe
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Your application for a license to act as a mortgage loan originator having been duly made
to the Division of Real Estate of the State of Utah (Division) and the Utah Residential Mortgage
Regulatory Commission (Commission), yox; are ordered to appear for a hearing, which has been
designated as an informal proceeding pursuant to Utah Administrative Code § R162-2¢-401, to
be conducted on the 5th day of October, 2011 at 10:00 A.M. Mountain Time, br as soon
thereafter as the Commission and the Director are available, in Room 210, Heber M. Wells
Building, 160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, as to the action to be taken on your
application in light of the following: | |
1) Case number 081900093 (Third District Court, Salt Lake County, Utah). On

January 4, 2008, you were charged with theft by deception, a second degree

felony. On September 8, 2008, you pleaded guilty to the charge as amended to




a class A misdemeanor, and your plea was held in abeyance. You were ordered
to pay $5,900 in restitution.

2) Despite your guilty plea in case number 081900093 as outlined above, you
answered "no" to the following disclosure question on your MU4 form: "Have
you ever pled guilty ... to committing ... a misdemeanor involving... theft or
wrongful taking of property...."

3) Case number 085001506 (Box Elder County, Utah Justice Court). On or about
March 24, 2008, you were charged with possession of less than one ounce
marijuana and possession of drug paraphernalia, both class B misdemeanors.
Minute entries from April 16, 2008 indicate that you lied to the court and that
you are an habitual marijuana usef. On May 22, 2008, you pleaded guilty to the
marijuana charge, and thé paraphernalia charge was dismissed. You were
sentenced to serve five days in jail with an additional suspended sentence of
175 days. In addition, you were fined, placed on probation for 12 months and
ordered to undergo drug evaluation. The case was closed on December 12,
2008.

Should you fail to appear for the hearing, and if you have not received a
continuance from the Division prior to the hearing, you may be held in default, and your
request for a license may be denied. One hour has been allotted for the hearing. If the
above matters cannot be addressed within the scheduled time, the hearing will be continued
to a later date. If you anticipate that you will require additional time to address the matters

under consideration, please notify Renda Christensen at 801-530-6750 as soon as possible.



At the hearing, you will have the opportunity to present evidence and arguments,
respond, ask questions, and submit rebuttal evidence. The hearing will be conducted by the
Commission. The burden of proof will be on you to demonstrate that you meet the required
statutory licensing criteria set forth in Utah Code § 61-2¢-203 (2010) that an applicant shall have
"good moral character and the competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans,
including general fitness such as to command the confidence of the community and to warrant a
determination that the individual will operate honestly, fairly, and efficiently." You will need to
bring 12 copies of any document(s) you wish the Commission to consider.

You may represent yourself, or you are entitled to be represented by legal counsel. If you
choose to have an attorney represent you, your attorney should file an entry of appearance with
the Division prior to the hearing.

The Division of Real Estate will be represented in this matter by Assistant Attorney
General Xanna Hardman. You may contact her at the Utah Attorney General’s Office,
Commercial Enforcement Division, P.O. Box 140872, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-0872. Her
telephone number is (801) 366-0310.

All witnesses will be sworn prior to giving testimony, and you may request that
witnesses be subpoenaed by the Division on your behalf. You will be sworn before any
testimony that you give. Any applicant who does not testify truthfully may be denied a license
for failure to meet the criteria of honesty, integrity, and truthfulness. Any indication of a
violation of licensing law that arises out of testimony or other evidence offered at the hearing
may be considered as part of the Commission's and the Division's decision on your application

and may be sanctioned pursuant to Utah Code § 61-2¢-402(2), including the imposition of a civil

penalty.



